You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Goldmoney - What in the World’s Goldmoney 500 STEEM Giveaway

Hi @drdave,
Its me again :P

erratum:

heavier than most all metals, and nearly indestructible

That statement is not true as far as I know!

First, here is a reference: It is the most malleable and ductile metal; 1 ounce (28 g) of gold can be beaten out to 300 square feet. It is a soft metal and is usually alloyed to give it more strength. ... Gold is usually alloyed in jewellery to give it more strength, and the term carat describes the amount of gold present (24 carats is pure gold) Source

Second, I come from a country where people value gold and they buy it as a future asset because its worth will never die. I have seen 24 carats gold jeweleries. They are too light and very malleable, even a weak person can mold it (at least distort its shape) easily.

Reading your post was surprising and funny at the same time. The reason is that I was thinking today how all women in my country are prompted to buy gold (if they can afford it) or ask for it as a marriage gifts (from a rich husband if can be found). It was always considered like a future insurance policy in case the man treats her bad (which is almost always the case).

I was wondering why the tradition died after my mother's generation.

Now we tend to favor fake and sparky jeweleries (Swarovisky!) and fake money (Cryptocurrency as well as fiat).

I admit, I never had liking to pure gold, so I gave all gifts that I received from my late father to my mother and siblings. Poor taste and poorer intelligence from my side!

Sort:  

Poor taste and poorer intelligence from my side!

Not a chance I could believe that for even a second TLK - I would say your intelligence far exceeds mine and the next 10 people after me...!!!

That said - in this case you're incorrect - Google search "Is gold indestructible"... This is one of the best answers I could find... Is Gold Indestructible and keep in mind I said "nearly indestructible"... lol...

gold-kengordon.png
Source

I basically used the lead up of this for another post - its much better IMHO... Check it out if you already haven't...

oh okay. Now I understand!
Indestructible in this case is because it doesn't change its chemical form. Gold will always stay gold and will never oxidize.

But it is not strong indestructible (like diamond for example or even steel). It is very malleable :D

That is why, you don't find a super human described his muscles are as strong as gold, but his muscles are as strong as steel ;)

its amazing how words can change the meaning depending on the context

That solves it all now :D

And thank you very much for your kind words and sweet compliment.

I wonder why TLC and not TLK though!?

See - you proved my point on the whole intelligence thing... My dumb ass decided to spell "K oala" with a C ... LoL... Wow I hope I didn't do that every time - gona have to go back and correct it if I did... Don't want to look like a total imbecile (my big word of the day) LoL... ... Thank you for all the support, your "kind words" have meant a lot to me - Im old and stubborn so I need a motivational "kick in the ass" now and then...

BTW - did you check out the other post I did using this lead in? Our fascination with gold Its much better IMO...

Hahaha!

I think you are too hard on yourself, that is all.
Googling TLC will give me few options, and one of them "Tender Loving care" which is not bad at all for mistaken the K to a C 😉

So actually, you were complimenting me all this time "unknowingly" and (being a woman) I will certainly take the compliment! 😇

So no worries at all about changing anything, especially your intelligence!

and instead of giving you a "kick in the arse" now and then, how about a big hug with lots of love 😊

If you want to know the meaning behind TLK you can check this post

And yes, I did check the other post. It is more colorful with the images, but the content is still as good in both :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93