Weekend Freewrite 2/24/2018 The Mailman

in #weekendfreewrite6 years ago

This is my story for the Weekend Freewrite 2/24/2018- Part 1 - The First Sentence, hosted by @mariannewest. The goal of the weekend freewrite is to write a story from the prompts given in three separate posts. I do not look at the prompts before writing, so I am just as surprised as the reader when they arrive in the story.

Imgur
Stock



I had this system for getting exactly what I wanted out of people. It was food. All kinds of delicious food. When I would meet someone for the first time, I wouldn’t ask them what they did for a living, or what their sign was; I asked what kind of food they liked. Then when I needed a favor I would show up at their door with their favorite dish.

This worked well I must say. Every time I need someone to help clean up the yard, I would make a batch of cookies and then open the window. The young boys from down the street would smell the cookies while they were playing kick ball. They would come to my fence and ask if they could have some. That was the perfect time to barter food for chores.

When the neighbors realized I made candy, they would ask me to make them candy for their gifts during the holidays. I could ask for favors, or even items if I wanted because I made the candy they loved. I once even got a new living room set from a lady who wanted the candy for her daughter’s wedding. I made church bells with their initials on it. I wouldn’t accept money, because I never do, and the next thing you know, the furniture truck was outside my house.

It really was the perfect system.



The man who delivered the mail was not the nicest of people. To be truthful, he was skating on thin ice - that's all I can say. He made certain to ignore my delicious meals I offered him during the week. I would see him walking up the street and I would wave; being as friendly as I could be, but he gave me a grumpy look and then looked away.

I asked him a few times to please leave my packages on my porch because I can’t always get to the mailbox on the street right away, and when it rains the packages get wet. Most of these deliveries are ingredients for recipes that I can not find in the local stores. The last time it rained, the package of fresh sugar wafers was ruined out at the curb.

Since my porch is covered, it would make more sense to leave the packages there. And in my opinion, any other mail carrier would take the time and use the extra effort to be sure the packages came to no harm or destruction. Oh, but not this mailman. He was grumpy. He was rude. And he was making me mad.



I was still trying to figure out my problem with the mailman the day Sheila brought Hilary to my office. Sheila was my friend from high school, and she and I had been inseparable since then. I had never met Hilary, so I was a bit confused when Sheila said she was the answer to my prayers. But after speaking with her I knew she was going to get a special cake or something from me for the information she volunteered.

I waited at the mailbox with a cardboard box wrapped with a bow in my hands. When the mailman walked up to me, he barely looked my way.

“Charlie?” I asked, knowing that was his name.

He looked up at me confused. “How do you know my name?”

“I met your wife Hilary. She told me you have food allergies. I didn’t know this. I always wondered why you wouldn’t accept the food I made for you, but now I know you are allergic to almost everything, so therefore food brings you little joy. But I have found a recipe that you can eat. A special recipe I found with apples and honey. Two things I know you like, and are not allergic to.”

His eyes lit up and he took the box, “Thank you!” he said, and then looked inside. For the first time I saw him smile. “I’m sorry I have been leaving your packages in the rain. I’ll be sure to carry them to your porch from now on. Thank you for the treat.”

I smiled as he walked away, but not because I had gotten what I wanted, but because I knew he had something good to eat.

The End



Recent posts @simgirl
SPU Poetry Contest #1: The More Than This
Day 124: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: snake
Day 125: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: cinnamon

follower postsimgirl reputation sp

Made by @albertvhons

Simgirlbanner Made by @son-of-satire

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Sort:  

awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

LOVE LOVE this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Interesting concept and it works on developing creativity and writing skills as well definitely a great style of development writing thanks for sharing i think i will share this with my daughter to help he grow as a writer

Great story. In addition to the revelation about why the mailman wasn't accepting the food, I also like how the main character was developed. In the beginning it came across that food was a tool they used to get what they want, but in the end you see that it was just as much about making other people happy. Well done!

I love your story, there are definitely many people like the postman, we must try to gain respect and affection, and for that we must give love, respect and love. you won a follower

And if you need to clean your garden, I'll make it happy, if you share a rich, cookies, jajjajjja, greetings. And success.

@simgirl wow this is lovely and passes on a great message..most times we just jump into conclusion without actually clarity.
We need to try to know and understand why people act they way they do. In the end most people that act rude and harsh just need love.
Finally i'd love to have a taste of your pizza lol

What a fun exercise @simgirl!

Wow wish I could come up that much stuff in 5 minutes. Sometimes takes me 50 minutes to write lol Cool concept though. Upvoted :)

Great writing! Thanks for sharing on Whaleshares!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60384.14
ETH 2591.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55