Day 124: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: snake

in #freewrite6 years ago

This is my freewrite for the Day 124: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: snake, hosted by @mariannewest.

Imgur

Stock



They slither around from place to place;
Hiding in the weeds; in the tall grass,
And behind the rocks.
They watch you as you plan, and plot;
Watch you as you work and grind;
Leaving you a sense of safety;
Looking back with blank eyes.
They hiss and slink closer to you while your mind is on other things.
They wait until you aren’t paying attention,
And then they steal your harvest; claiming it as their own.
You are left with the poison of their bite.
And you can only wonder how they got so close;
Without your knowledge;
Without you noticing.
But that’s the thing about snakes.
They are sneaky.
They can be laying right beside you,
And you wouldn’t know.
Because they don’t want you to know.
If you knew they were gazing from over yonder,
You would protect yourself.
You would protect your eggs.
And the snake would be powerless.
But most people don’t see them until it is too late.
Only the snake doesn’t know it is a snake.
It only knows how to be a snake.
So, you really can’t blame them.



Recent Post by @simgirl
Day 122: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: Spa
Day 123: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: fumigate
SPU Poetry Contest #1: The More Than This

follower postsimgirl reputation sp

Made by @albertvhons

Simgirlbanner Made by @son-of-satire

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Sort:  

I`m so afraid of snakes. I used to find snakes in my playing area when I was still a kid, I'm just so lucky they didn't bite me.

Hi! Thanks for your support, @growingpower just upvoted your comment ;) Hope you have a great day

I am so clumsy I might step on one, but I haven't had that happen yet. I got a cat because I was told they keep the snakes away. I haven't seen one in a long time.
:D

Agree, they said cats are good snakes fighter. It's a good idea to have cats to look after those creepy snakes.

Sneaky snakey snakes!

Wow! So many banners! 9 + other posts promo. First time I've seen some many.

Interesting write-up! It's quite an interesting thing to explore the nature of things, their current perspective and what their perspective would be if there were changes to their circumstance. I was just talking about this with another guy, what a civilization of whales would be. Let me see if I can find the post. Here it is. It's wonderful how these 5-minute freewrites can be so productive for the mind.

Thanks for reading! I will check it out now :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60696.91
ETH 2593.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56