Weekend Freewrite January/13/2018 - Daisies

in #weekendfreewrite7 years ago (edited)

weekendfreewrite.jpg

Daisies

The only way John could pass the exam was by cheating. He knew it as surely as he knew that his father would beat him if he’d gotten anything less than a B on it, as surely as he’d always known that and more. But he did not want to cheat off of her. This girl sitting next to him. This pretty, well-off girl, the kind of girl he knew for a fact was alright in all the ways that he was not. The girl who went home to homemade lunch and a tail—wagging dog and a hug from her mother and a soft, kind smile from her father. The girl who’d never flinch at the swishing sound of a belt being pulled out of the pants’ loops.

Eliza Woodson was everything he was not. And he hated that the teacher had sat him next to her today. He caught her staring at the black and blue on his neck, the damn thing still showing even though it’s been days, and he couldn’t do it. Couldn’t ask her to help him. Because he knew in that moment that she would. That she pitied him enough to help him.

He stood, his page entirely empty and walked slowly, carefully to Mr Corville’s desk. He silently set it down, ignoring the harshly whispered command to go back to his desk and finish his work, and left the room.

------------------

"There you go, making up lies again." That is what they told me. But I wasn’t lying. I told them about the bruise on his neck, the one he had tried to cover up by pulling his shirt collar all the way up, though it was stiflingly hot in the room. I told them, too, that he knew this bit of math well enough to at least pass the test, so it didn’t make any sense for him to just walk out like that. I had seen him study for it in the library before and I watched his pencil move over the page, doing the graphs like he’d done it before, his lines fast and fluid. So I knew he could do well enough….

My mom waved her hand dismissively again. “They don’t beat him, Liz, no way they would,” she’d said. “They’re not those kinds of people, is all.”
But she didn’t know the kinds of people they were anymore than I did. They were John's father and uncle, the mechanic one. We’d never seen them come to school or anything. Or to any of John’s games, not even when everybody was cheering for him last season.

“That boy probably just got into a fight, Liz,” she’d said. The words made me flinch. John did not fight. Not even when I wished he would. And it wasn’t because he couldn’t. I could see it in his eyes - the choosing not to. Like he chose not to do the exam today.

But there was anger there as well, and embarrassment when he caught me looking at his bruise. He knew that I knew where it came from, felt it somehow and it made him run then. Maybe he never stopped running anyway, not since his mother did the thing she did to the brakes on the Honda, the thing that made it run headlong into a tree going too fast around the bend of the Main Street bridge. That’s what the news said about i; that she’d cut the brakes on purpose, that she’d meant to run into that tree.

I couldn’t wrap my brain around why anyone would do that. And Johnnie - he was only ten or eleven then, and she’d left him just like that, with that man who put bruises on his neck and likely elsewhere where nobody could see. But I remember Corey telling me last year how he saw them, all over his back in the lockeroom, and John did that thing where he wouldn’t look at him or anybody then, just threw his clothes back on and ran out, fast as he’d ever been on the field.

I pick up my phone and do a search for his number, one Annie gave me years ago, hoping it hasn’t changed. I can’t bring myself to call, so I type quickly, so I don’t lose the nerve: “You alright? Do you want to talk?” and click ‘send’.

I toss and turn all night, and finally get up when the light is still gray and soupy, unwarmed by the sun. I walk over to my window to open it, and there is John, looking up at me, waving at me to come down. It’s a Saturday, so he’s wearing dark jeans and a simple t-shirt, an old leather jacket hanging off one shoulder. There is a bouquet of pink daisies in his hand and for a small, embarrassing moment I think they’re for me.

He takes a step toward me when I finally make it downstairs, my morning routine shortened to throwing on sweats and brushing my teeth.

“Will you…. Will you come to the cemetery with me?” he asks, looks down. “It’s her…. It would have been her birthday today.” I want to pull him to me and hug him, but I stand there, blinking like an idiot. He looks up at me, smiles, sheepish, embarrassed.

“Yes, of course I’ll come,” I say, and I try and fail to remember her name. But all I can recall is that black and white photo of her in the newspaper, her face young and pretty and with too much makeup on…. Maybe she, too, was hiding something. Maybe we all are.

***********************

This is my entry to this weekend 3-prompt freewrite. If you want to learn more or participate, follow @mariannewest for the latest prompts. The rules are simple. You get a prompt, write for five minutes and publish. The weekend one consists of 3 prompts, so this piece here was done in 15 minutes. This is unedited, except for 4 typos that I had removed.
HERE is the link to the actual post with the prompts

***********************

Want to join a fantastic community of creatives of all kinds? Drop by the Isle. Click the treasure map below to join us on discord.
IOWMap-1080pColour.png


img credit Pixabay.
Isle of Write logo and footer designed by @pegasusphysics

Sort:  

You certainly know how to get us involved in the story and the characters. so much going on!! I want to see lots of $ under your posts. so good. Tanking up and coming back tomorrow for a vote:)

So many emotions! Your descriptions help us visualize Johnny and Liz. His having to try to hide the bruises from her... and her caring enough to speak up for him pulls on my heart. And your ending where he's willing to let her in (emotionally)? 😍
Today I am traveling from the town of Freewrite, delivering the latest of the Goddess Marianne's prompts accompanied with the musical honk of my bicycle's horn!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-87-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-turbine

Ahhhh!! You and @jrhughes! "Five Minute Prompt," and these incredible characters and situations emerge, and you spin these amazing tales that grab us and leave us begging for more.
Line after line - sublime! - John did not fight. Not even when I wished he would. And it wasn’t because he couldn’t. I could see it in his eyes - the choosing not to.
I'm totally in awe of Jess and Inna.

Great job! As usual your post is filled with all them feels. Sigh. Sometimes I think our work should come with Zoloft or something. For the readers, you know? ;)

Bahaha.... True, Jess. At least mine should. You at least manage to do snarky and funny. All my shit is just - bleak and sad :-(

Nonsense! There was that absolutely hilarious piece about the...um...slides out of view

Goosebumps - I kid you not - RARELY does a story give me goosebumps. This one did.
Those daisies.
WOW - this belongs in an anthology of Best of Steemit stories emerging from the Five Minute Free Writing prompt.

This is really amazing. I'm in awe of how coherent it is, and how well it flows. I'm very new to the freewrite thing. Do you have a vague idea or outline of the story arc before starting, or does it just all build up as you're writing?

Hi @amos-robinson and thanks for the kind words. With freewrites - I generally don't have much of an idea where it's going to go, especially with these three part weekend ones, as I have no clue what will happen with the second and third prompt, so I start writing and hope for the best. Sometimes, ok things happen as a result :-)

That is AMAZING
And it flies in the face of the rule "You must outline first"
Pansters vs Plotters

Yeah well - I suck at outlining any way, so this is about the only way anything will ever get written by yours truly. Not the freewrites, per se, but my stories kind of have to write themselves. Always have. :-)

What a great piece! That was so challenging and you spun it so well! My heart goes out to little Johnny. Good emotional impact!

Thanks @wandrnrose7. This was kind of tough indeed. :-)

I know! You did real well!

Ohhh, Inna! Every story opens with Fist-of-Death prose when you grab the reader with the first sentence, then reach for the heart and *squeeze
"The girl who went home to homemade lunch and a tail—wagging dog and a hug from her mother and a soft, kind smile from her father. The girl who’d never flinch at the swishing sound of a belt being pulled out of the pants’ loops."
Wow!!!

Well - the first line of this one was a Prompt, @carolkean, so I didn't write that. :-)

I'm in awe of you. And of @jrhughes, of course. :-)

Another good piece! Glad I left it open for a month.

I expected a third segment, in part because I know the weekend prompts are three-parters, and in part because I can feel the third part being there, just around the corner, if only I squint a bit...

The messages and reads we all have of other people, and the communication that doesn't happen. And the communication that happens amidst assumptions and communication blackout...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57645.95
ETH 2389.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43