WednesdayWalk challenge - Macro trip

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago

Today being Wednesday is time for a short walk and some nice photos. So, I'm going to accept @tattoodjay's challenge and write a post for his #WednesdayWalk initiative. The rules are simple and straightforward, check this post.

Last week me and my gang (husband and kids) visited the Botanical Garden in Iasi. Due to th HF20, I couldn't post these photos last week so I'm not going to miss this week opportunity.
This botanical garden "Anastasie Fatu" is one of the main attractions in Iasi. Opened in 1963 (although its story started 100 years ago), the garden became a very important place for plants lovers.
The photos I will share today are macroshots of some beautiful plants I've discovered in this place.

Right from the entrance, one of the most beautiful evergreen trees (European yew or Taxus baccata) is welcoming the garden visitors. Beautiful but highly poisonous...look but don't touch. 🙂

PSX_20181003_145603.jpg
Panasonic DMC-FZ7, f/2.8, 1/50 s, 6 mm, ISO400

On a different alley we had a wonderful surprise: the butterfly-bush (Buddleja davidii) was blooming. Its beautiful purple flowers attract dozens of pollinators so I took this photo and decided to admire it from a safe distance.

PSX_20181003_145651.jpg
Panasonic DMC-FZ7, f/5.6, 1/160 s, 6 mm, ISO400

Common Winterberry (Ilex verticillata) fruits are rippen. This tree looks absolutely gorgeous with its warm shades of green and the little red dots. Birds are more than happy to taste this delicacy.

PSX_20181003_145725.jpg
Panasonic DMC-FZ7, f/8, 1/1000 s, 6 mm, ISO400

On our way out from this green heaven, I noticed the beautiful hydrangeas. Did you know that in Japan they are associated to love due to the flowers shape similar to a beating heart?

PSX_20181003_151524.jpg
Canon PowerShot A1400, f/2.8, 1/60 s, 5 mm, ISO250

I hope you like this macro walk. Next week I will go back and photograph the surroundings.

steemit-border

Picture1.png

QvAAKWXl.gif
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif

WorldWildFlora Discord server: https://discord.gg/sRY4du9

QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

Sort:  

I havent visited a botanical garden for a couple of years now so thanks for taking us along with you on your walk i love the shots so beautiful

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

I'm glad to participate. Thank you for the tip. 🙂

MY pleasure as a way of saying Thanks :)

Hi @roxy-cat! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Terrific photos. I especially like the butterfly bush.

I used to love visiting botanical gardens. It always left me ill – I’m allergic to most of the outdoors (asthma) – but had to visit one at least a few times a year. There’s this rose garden at a local college in my hometown that I visited every year to take pictures – back when I also did my own film processing. (That admission makes me feel on the front side of ancient.)

Thank you, Denise. I'm happy you liked these photos. I will post more in the next weeks so you could virtually visit this garden without suffering. 🙂
At the end of the month, they will be hosting a chrysanthemums exhibit. The colors, shapes...it's a heaven. Not promising but I will do my best to get there and post the photos I will be taking.
And they have roses but in May. Another amazing event expected by everybody. Another opportunity to feel blessed and lucky to be surrounded by this beauty.

I look forward to it! I love mums – they’re so versatile.

Nearly 27 years ago, my Christmas time wedding bouquet was snowflake mums and red pixie mums with evergreen sprays, wrapped with ivory satin, and tied with red velvet and gold lamé bows. (My attendant wore a red crepe formal dress with a wide gold lamé sash at her waist.) I carried the bouquet as an arm sheath so I could drop it into my fine crystal vase as the center-piece for my reception head table.

So you had a winter wedding. How nice.
I got married six years ago and I had a spring wedding (28th of April...and on 27th of April is my birthday). The weather was splendid that year so I had a wide variety of flowers. I chose to have a simple bouquet: just lily of the valley. And the flowers were wrapped in their green leaves plus a turquoise satin ribbon. It was an amazing bouquet but inside the church its scent made me dizzy. 😂 I did not faint but I almost run outside after the priest finished the service. Luckily, the reception was at a small cottage and, more important, outside.

We had a Christmas wedding. The tiny church was already decorated so beautifully for Christmas that we had very little additional decorating to worry about – big cost saver. We laid a “carpet” of ivory velvet down the isle. I fixed a narrow band of gold lamé garment ribbon to red velvet Christmas tree garland ribbon, and made bows to decorate the pews along the isle.

My custom dress was a simple ivory satin gown, with a gold bow on the back. The dress had very modest mutton sleeves, princess lines, a sweetheart neckline, and a drop-v waist with a full ballet length skirt. At the crown of my head, I wore a simple gold lamé band wound with a strand of faux pearls, with a small bow on the back; my red-gold hair cascaded in soft curls past my shoulders. The satin around my arm-sheathe was made from a remnant of my dress.

We had our reception at our apartment which was also decorated for Christmas. We had a 1200SF apartment with an open floor plan. There was a tall Christmas tree, decorated in ivory and gold, and evergreen garlands around the room, across bookshelves and across the valance box of the sliding glass door, and framing the front door. Additionally, I’d covered the door with gold foil, snowflake embossed Christmas wrapping paper. And, the wreathe on the outside of the door was an evergreen wreath with gold and ivory decorations. I added only a very few touches for the reception, like running a a band of the same ribbon I used for the pew-bows as a border around the circumference of the dinning room and main room. And, since the curtains over the wide balcony sliding glass door were already an ivory antique-satin looking material, I draped more pew-bows ribbon across the top, so that it hung like scalloped streamers in five half-loops, and hung loose down the length of the sides of the door. I spread another length of ivory velvet across the table for a tablecloth, with a runner of gold lamé fabric down the middle, on which I’d overlaid the same pew-bows ribbon as a band down the middle of the runner.

The crystal vase for my arm-sheathe was already in the center of the table, filled with water and set in a circle of evergreen garland, with a few snowflake pumps and red pixie mums in it, artfully held together with more pew-bows ribbon. My attendant and a couple of friends were with me at the apartment getting ready before the wedding – my husband was with his friends at the best man’s house.

The cake was gifted to us by one of my husband’s close friend’s who happened to be a chef de cuisine at the local country club – a massive savings. I had prepared all the finger foods the night before, and had the champagne in a borrowed ice-chest. Other drinks and soft-drinks were in the fridge. The food and alcohol were the most expensive part of our wedding. My friends hurried back to the apartment and set out all the food, drink, and utensils, while my husband and I, and a procession of our guests followed slowly from the church. When the procession arrived at the apartment, I just pulled the satin and ribbons off the arm-sheathe, and dropped it in the vase.

Our pictures were taken by a photo-journalist student I knew from University of Missouri-Columbia – another huge savings.

So nice. And such a beautiful description. I can almost view the entire event. 🙂
You made a good choice when you decided to ha e your wedding on Christmas. Apart from money saving, a winter wedding has something magical.
I'm a Spring person so having my wedding in April was something what I really wanted. But, like every girl, I was dreaming about different wedding themes: winter, autumn, summer, spring. Why are we supposed to have only one wedding? 🙂
My bridal gown was a white Greek style dress. Very simple and sleeveless. I had a veil...family's wish. But I wanted something like elves style: a tiny tiara, no beading but just some silver leaves. What can I say? Instead of quarreling with my mom and the mother-in-law, I accepted to wear a short veil at the church.
For the reception we chose a Romanian traditional menu and traditional beverages. We did not have a band or a dj but we played music on my laptop and every guest could pick a favorite song. The photos were taken by a friend (who did a great job) so we saved a lot of money.
Most of the planning was done by me and my husband so we were very tired on the wedding day. He even felt asleep at some point. 😂

Yeah, I didn’t want a veil either. Of course, I was 28 when I married and my family was not involved in the arrangements. They didn’t attend because it was at Christmas in MO and they weren’t willing to leave all the rest of our kin in NC, where they lived, at Christmastime. So, they had little input. But, if they had been part of the planning, I’m certain there would have been a clashes over the arrangements, especially the following aspects of my wedding:

No veil
No bouquet toss
I walked up the isle on my own
NO ONE GAVE ME AWAY

I am no person’s to give.

They’d have balked at the Persian music played for the wedding – and that “The Wedding March” was NOT played. I’m sure they would also have not been pleased by the Persian traditions included at our reception. I KNOW they’d have balked at the Persian food served.

People tend to be unreasonably entrenched in their traditions. For example, twenty-five years later – just before the day – my mother refused to come to my home for Thanksgiving when it was my turn to host because I revealed that Persian food was part of the menu instead of strictly and only what she expected as a “traditional Thanksgiving feast.” All of my siblings also opted out of that Tday when mother declared she was hosting a “proper traditional Thanksgiving.” I’d already bought and prepared half the food; my main course was already thawed and ready for the oven the next day; ultimately, her decision excluded my little family because we had all that food we’d prepared it was not welcome at her table.

I am an admirer of this garden. Good idea to present these macro photos. Very beautiful, my favorite is the hydrangea. Thank you for what you told us about it.

I'm happy you liked this post. Indeed, this garden is very beautiful and is one of the best places to visit and relax.
Hydrangeas are wonderful shrubs, loved by everyone. However, their floral meaning is quite dark. Giving them as a gift might send an entire mixture of feelings. Only the Japanese see them on a positive light. Oh well, this does not stop us from loving these flowers, right? 🙂

The answer is ... yes! I have a few in my little yard. Agree, the botanical garden is wonderful ... well over that in Bucharest. I like the more wild side to the lake.

I must confess this is the side I like too. The wild part of this garden reminds me of the landscapes in Bucovina.

Yes, of course.

So lovely, Roxy! You did a great job capturing a whole lot of beauty on your walk!

Thank you, Melinda.
It was a beautiful relaxing walk. And the beautiful flowers I've seen, got me inspired. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84