My Wednesday Walk Downtown

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)

Now that the weather has improved it's more enjoyable to take a long walk. This is for #WednesdayWalk by @tattoodjay. Read about what he was up to in this post, you will always find great photography.



lagi8qwuv9.jpg

One of the things I like about Victoria is how small it is. I can easily get from my little suburban neighbourhood into the city on foot. It only takes a few minutes to get anywhere.



ercj2uau46.jpg

Past the green grocer



j64gmifgvo.jpg

Through the Fernwood Square


deqi665ywk.jpg

Down a couple of blocks like this...



2i9kck9cob.jpg

...and we get to the "construction zone." New buildings are going up everywhere. This is the new style and size of buildings. No skyscrapers, but the density is increasing.



9i8akogodb.jpg

A couple more blocks of this mixed residential & commercial stuff...



qydqlmemr3.jpg

...and we get to the older commercial areas. The pink blossoms are really going strong on some streets.



dg7nva28ep.jpg

This is some government building, I don't actually know what.



uur9967jlh.jpg

This is City Hall. A nice old building with a clock tower.



a49uh0kjpm.jpg

Now this thing would make a perfect library. It's actually carved in stone above the door: "Public Library" ...but no. Too small. The library moved into a larger building many years ago. I don't know what's in there now.


7nt6sabgjv.jpg

You know what? Things are ok. See those two guys with their laptop bags over their shoulders? Probably heading to some sales meeting... Things are good because I don't have to do that!



gj00wkhslo.jpg

I just walk around looking for new coffee shops, taking pictures. Could be worse...



lowfyo61kz.jpg

I still have to walk back home but I'm going to leave you with some artwork I saw on the side of a truck.



h99s6w2cid.jpg

Looks pretty normal to me. I hope you're having a great week! :-)

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you very much, @pixresteemer!

Now nice you can walk downtown. Thanks for sharing. Love seeing the totem pole. Last photo is hilarious. 👽 U&R

Thank you! I think last Wednesday I had a shot of the Legislature building and I followed that with a picture of an alien and said that's who works there... Seeing this on a truck totally proved my point - that's the legislature behind the cycling alien dude. :-)

Maybe a few aliens would straight out a few issues there. 😂

I'm sure it couldn't hurt!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you very much, @esteemapp!

You should be using actifit for those walks! :)) Love small cities and the fact that everything is nearby!

Would actifit also show up how many times I stop for coffee and donuts? :-)

No! You can feast on coffee and donuts at will, it will only count how many movements you made! So you can tokenize and be paid by your walking, while enjoying those treats! 😉😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha! howdy sir Keith! yes, totally normal signs to see on trucks. That place is pretty nice, I'd like to walk around and look for coffee shops! apartment buildings going up like crazy, the place is growing like a weed!

Thank you - it might be growing too fast but the vacancy rate for rental apartments was 0 %, so it will be better when a bunch of these new buildings are finished. I don't want to live in one though.

Howdy sir Keith! What's causing the growth explosion, everyone just wants to be closer to you?
lol.yeah those places are not for me either.

They keep making new people but nobody is making new land!

Howdy sir Keith! how's it going today? did you do a post today or are you slacking off again?
I don't like the tremendous growth that Texas has. I think I should have been the last one allowed to move here, we got enough people now.

It sure looks like a charming little city and so cool you can easily walk anywhere
That’s cool art on the truck

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

Thanks very much, it's a cool challenge!

🎁 Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

A very nice leisurely walk! Those pink blossoms say that spring has begun!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, Spring has finally begun! :-)

Your posts do make me laugh! I'm glad you don't have to attend a sales meeting, and can wander around taking pictures for me to enjoy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59