Wednesday Walk

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)

Here it is Wednesday and I find myself in Bar Harbor, Maine. If you missed out yesterday when I got there, you can see it here I hope you don't mind if we take a short walk around here! Come on! It will be fun!

Today is #WednesdayWalk with @Tattoodjay! Join in on the fun every Wednesday and take us on a walk with you, wherever you go, whatever you do.

Walk 5.JPG

So, I am looking across the water here in Bar Harbor. I never tire of the view, the dense, tall pines hugging the jagged coastline. It has been an interesting stay here, in a small, very local bed and breakfast, tucked away among the other Victorian houses.

wlk 3.JPG

Houses were identified by name. Some people name their cars, others their boats, still, some people name their houses. Not too many years ago, they did a survey found that 1 in 14 British buyers would be willing to up the money for a house that had a name and that almost half showed more interest in looking at said properties. As for Bar Harbor, this small village was very popular once upon a time and still to this day. It is not uncommon to see a Vanderbilt strolling about. See here

walk 4.JPG

So.... enough gossip. Let's make this walk count! Oh, yes. There is no mercy on the hills here. Nestled in between all the kitschy are some pretty cool places. Rock shops, hock shops, ice cream parlors galore and a wood store that has the most gorgeous pieces that the owner carves himself!

Walk.JPG

The thing that I notice is that it is still pretty, just like it has always and forever been. The flower boxes everywhere, the abundance of color greeting my eyes. I sometimes forget how much I loved it here.

walk 9.JPG

I think it is pride. I am sure being a tourist town has something to do with it, but, it has been this way, always.

walk 10.JPG

My biggest question is: Where are they all going?

Maine.JPG

I decided to just keep on following the trail of people.

walk 11.JPG

Of course!! I should have known!!

Walk 7.JPG

IMG_1171.JPG

It's all about the seafood here!

Walk 6.JPG

We'll go back later for a little lobster. Okay! A big lobster if you insist! If I turn up the next street, I am back into the Victorian era.

Walk 8.JPG

Then stop at the graveyard and peruse some of the old graves.

IMG_0837.JPG

Cemeteries tell a lot about a town. There were sea captains and Civil War heroes, all tucked in together

IMG_0828.JPG

Time to end this walk, so you can move on to the next one. Besides, I think there is a lobster with my name on it just waiting for me.

walk 12.JPG

Here! Take a flower!

IMG_150923.jpg

Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul

h.jpg

#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

#TheAlliance is an awesome way to grow and discover some quality content. Check us out! Find us on Discord!




Facebook

Twitter

Instgram


Don't ever forget what wonderful world we live in, people. Let's hold hands around the globe and make this earth really spin. Some days, it is not as easy to see, so we must try harder to give everyone the proper focus.

Sort:  

What a perfect place for photography. The lovely little shops are fun to explore. I love old docks, pots, ropes and pilings...everything nautical makes for great pictures!

Oh even Henry made an appearance! Too cool!

If it's nautical, I'm pretty sure I love it. There's something to be said about being raised on the seashore. The New England Seashore isn't anything like the southern seashore, however, most new englanders we'll defend their brand of seashore to death. We are just like that. Even though most of us enjoy a good vacation with the white sand and balmy Waters, it is the rugged seashore that draws us back to where we belong.

YOur post does two things it makes me want to visit such a cool beautiful and in some ways quaint place, but then it also makes me feel like I was right with you on the walk and have hence already been there

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

Thank you so much for hosting this wonderfully fun challenge! You are spurring me to go somewhere for Wednesday, just so I can have a fun walk to show! (of course, I am kidding!)

I hoped you would feel like you were there. I know I need to get a little better about putting these piece together. I am so unorganized. LOL Thank you, JJ and Thank you for the tip. :)

I think you are much more organized than I am lol you posts look so professional 👍

This is a great post! What fun you have. I am jealous.

Thank you so much! I am having fun, but it was work that spurred the trip. :) Don't be jealous! Come to Maine! There is room at the Inn!

I wish.. maybe one day I will.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dswigle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I loved this walk, a bit of everything and very colorful

Thank you so much!

Yes, yes, yes, but what about that lobster?

Hehe! It is totally gone. But, perhaps I can scare up another one for tomorrow! :)

Hi @dswigle! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @traciyork!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Hi @dswigle! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Thanks for the tip @tattoodjay!

it feels so much good taking a good walk with like minded people like you @dswigle @old-guy-photos and @tattoodjay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63313.88
ETH 2629.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76