The Fairy Walk

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago

fairywalkdrybridge-1bb.jpg


THERE are fairies at the bottom of our garden!
It's not so very, very far away;
You pass the gardener's shed and you just keep straight ahead -
I do so hope they've really come to stay.
There's a little wood, with moss in it and beetles,
And a little stream that quietly runs through;
You wouldn't think they'd dare to come merrymaking there-
Well, they do. by Rose Fyleman


fairywalkdrybridge-2.JPG
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Captured with the iPhone 8 Plus


There were definitely fairies on a trail at the bottom of a few gardens where I walked this summer! Don't believe me? Check it out for yourself sometime!

The Fairy Walk is the unofficial name for a walk from the tiny village of Drybridge near Buckie in Scotland to the 18th century Craigmin Bridge which is steeped in legend. On the first level of the bridge there is a door leading to a tiny room where it is said that Bonnie Prince Charlie slept when he was on the run after the Battle of Culloden in 1746.

A couple of local men and their wives created the magic in this place. But the fairies are real! Ask any small child!


The Fairy walk Starts here
fairywalkdrybridge-1bb.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Captured with the iPhone 8 Plus


My sister's dog Benji, was the first to find a fairy door
fairywalkdrybridge-3b.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Captured with the iPhone 8 Plus


A yellow door.....
fairywalkdrybridge-1b.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Captured with the iPhone 8 Plus
.....and what lies beyond it
fairywalkdrybridge-5.JPG
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Captured with the iPhone 8 Plus


A delightful one floor bungalow
fairywalkdrybridge-6.JPG
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Captured with the iPhone 8 Plus


I wonder who lives here
fairywalkdrybridge-7.JPG
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Captured with the iPhone 8 Plus


The trees have eyes
fairywalkdrybridge-8.JPG
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Captured with the iPhone 8 Plus


Watch out for the dragon
fairywalkdrybridge-9b.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Captured with the iPhone 8 Plus


Look up to see the ENTS
fairywalkdrybridge-11.JPG
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Captured with the iPhone 8 Plusfairywalkdrybridge-10.JPG
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Captured with the iPhone 8 Plus


The Fairy Walk ends here
fairywalkdrybridge-12.JPG
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Captured with the iPhone 8 Plus


Beyond the Fairy Walk is the historic 18th century two-tier Craigmin Bridge
fairywalkdrybridge-13.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Captured with the iPhone 8 Plus


my banner.png

Sort:  

I love this post! The photos are so cool. What a fun place to walk through!

I love this post! The
Photos are so cool. What a
Fun place to walk through!

                 - violetmed


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

wow !!!! it was a terrific walk !!!! amazing place!!! trees with funny eyes :)))) the houses are very nice. why do they have coins next to them? the bridge is wonderful !!! I've never seen such a bridge

Thanks! Children leave the coins for the fairies. :-)

Ooooh! children are very generous :)

OMG Benji is so super cute, @saffisara would love him! What a fantastic fairly tale, it's amazing this area steeped in history has had these wonderful fun additions installed to make it so exciting.

I have never heard of this area of Scotland, but it sounds like a wonderful visit I must try to some time.

You sneaked back when I wasn't looking, I'm totally swamped at work and Steemit at the moment but will do my best to keep up - just so many posts to read!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

I know the swamped feeling . LOL!

I thought about you every time I had a coffee while in Scotland! I trust that you are managing to keep up with business as well as with your witness duties.

Benji is a Lhasa Apso and the cuddliest dog imaginable! He loved romping along on the walk! I must reach out to @saffisara now that I am back!

The Fairy walk has encouraged parents to take their children walking, and they love looking for all the doors and houses etc. Some even leave coins there for the fairies. I asked the wife of one of the guys who makes the houses what they do with the coins. She said they just leave them there, but I suppose if the the amount grows, they will donate them to charity.

Thanks for taking the time away from your business to comment and huge thank you for the Resteem!

By the way, this area of Scotland is right on the doorstep of the Whisky Trail! :-)

Wow!
That has to be the coolest I've seen in a long time 😉👍 so cool with the fairy doors and I love the bungalow 😂 lol
So cute with your dog looking at that door, would love to know what was in that mind there.. Lol
Absolutely magical walk and amazing pictures my friend 😊 Thank you for sharing.
Much Love 💕🤗💕

Thanks for stopping by to comment. It's great to be back, although I will be spending less time on here than I did in the past. Isn't Benji a darling? I think he was looking for treats to be honest. LOL! xx

Mabye fairy treats then 😂😂lol
🐶🍤 So cute!
It's good to have you back and you do what feels best for YOU 🤗 we're always here for you. I hope you are having a wonderful week and stay just as you are. 💕

Aw thanks! I missed all your sweet comments, but I had lots of quality time with family while I was gone!

Well I've missed you too my sweet friend 🤗
And it's great that you have had time to spend quality time with your family and that is like it should be.... Family comes first ❤️

That is fantastic, I love it... I made a fairy garden a while ago, put it away for the Winter. I am going to do it again next year with fairy's attached to the trunk. :)

fairyland 2.jpg

I feel I should make a fairy garden in my back yard now. It was so delightful to see all the doors and different wooden houses.

It was fun making it. I'm going to try and go bigger next year. Lol

I love the Fairy walk, great poem!
blue-thumbs-up-smiley.png

I learned that poem while a small child in school! :-)

The photos are so cute! I'm pretty sure that you can even hear things. It felt that way, looking at the images.

I have never been to Scotland. But things like that make me want to go...

Thanks for your kind comments! I'm glad that your imagination was stimulated by the images.

This is a place I would definitely visit. I really liked the ents.
Those who made this beautiful garden are probably the most talented and creative people ever. Thank you for sharing this beauty with us.
It seems that me and Benji are fascinated by this place. 🙂

Very cool Wednesday Walk! I am of Scottish ancestry, but have never been there. The closest I came was Wales. I have an invitation to fish on the Royal Dees for Salmon and a friend who will lend me his Jaguar. I am currently in the Philippines and serve here as a full time missionary, but from the USA.
This is an amazing post,
Thanks

Thanks for stopping by to comment! I'm actually exactly half Welsh. I grew up in Scotland, but my Dad met my Welsh Mom while in Wales during WWII! It's a beautiful country too. Royal Deeside is a beautiful area of Scotland and is very famous for its fishing, as is Speyside.

Another very memorable visit for me was Wales. I have been to the dan yer ogef caverns, three cliffs, mumbles bay, Crosshands. Stayed in so many super places with so much history. My family is from Canada and I grew up in the USA. The US is just a baby country compared to the history of the UK. The castles were a delight for me. I am primarily Scottish and English. One day I would love to visit Scotland.

Everyone seems to enjoy visiting Scotland! So, I'm sure you will too. There are loads of castles - both stately and ruined. We attended a wedding in a stately castle in August. There were many Americans there, and it fascinated them!

Well, not only am I half Welsh and Scottish, but i hold citizenship to 3 countries - UK, Canada and USA! I lived in both Ottawa and London Ontario.

It is cool to get around. I have visited 36 counties so far. I love cultures and different foods and the people make or break the place. In the Welsh countryside I met some great people.

Beautiful photography

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! And thanks for stopping by to comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.27
ETH 2912.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40