Wednesday Walk at Little Gunpowder Falls ~ Central Area

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

Can you guess where we are going today? I sure hope so since it is in the title of my post...lol!

429hr94yop.jpg

I did another walk at Little Gunpowder Falls in the Central Area that is located in Kingsville, Maryland. One side of the water is in Baltimore County and the opposite side is in Harford County. My short walk is on the Baltimore County side. To get to the Harford County side from this spot we would have to walk onto Belair Road to cross the bridge. There are no cars in my photo but trust me they whiz by pretty fast and there is no sidewalk so we chose to stay on the Baltimore County side.

opr2lmf61f.jpg

i25uwn1v43.jpg

I mentioned that it was a short walk but don't let that fool you as I got plenty of photos so you may want to grab a cup of coffee and "sit a spell". I'll also be showing you a little bit of artwork along the way as well!

skdfu62sjf.jpg

This is where I found some colorful artwork. I think most of it had a cute aspect to it.

hxivt21hlq.jpg

qc1c1q924p.jpg

zrznrz9xbj.jpg

3zj6s1eiv6.jpg

Hmmm...notice there is no artwork on the opposite side. I'm sure that the fact that there is no walkway on that side makes all the difference.😉

ll7s30xxfh.jpg

This next piece of artwork was my absolute favorite! I'm sure you can guess why too!! It really speaks to me...hee hee!

jiintjjoyk.jpg

Okay! On with our walk!

w4o4g1oi44.jpg

We started out early to try to beat the heat but the sun was out bright and early too which was part of the reason we decided to keep our walk short. Hope you don't mind that I added a little "flare" to my post?!

t83nav0p9w.jpg

The Daylilies were in bloom and we came across several groups of plantings along the way.

ubewm0gz5b.jpg

zhswuruano.jpg

I saw some interesting trees and it's always a joy to see the water of the Gunpowder Falls.

zkz9m22vbk.jpg

3tztjqrrre.jpg

ll7j6chx02.jpg

Luckily, there was a lot of shady spots along this trail. It was still quite hot though.

ux36ig6xn0.jpg

I saw some amazing areas of ferns. They look just as nice in both sun and shade!

cvsdxwh12a.jpg

afehhroh9z.jpg

6pud4csope.jpg

There were also several flowers in bloom in addition to the Daylilies. I saw Coneheads, Crown Vetch, Clover and some gorgeous Queen Anne's Lace aka Wild Carrot.

90qmcdmzf5.jpg

kcj8v5jhkp.jpg

58vhqup9jz.jpg

I even found a few mushrooms along the way!

ez3n6hbhay.jpg

There are some lovely views of the water all along this trail and you can't really go wrong if you go on a walk here as it is a pretty nice trail with lots to see. If you go in far enough it does tend to get more difficult but the beauty of that is you can just turn around if it gets too difficult or...uhm...too hot!

shplo3tjma.jpg

The water was so clear in some spots that you could see the gravely and sandy bottom.

h82jtg0tdn.jpg

On our way back it was interesting to see the views from the opposite direction.

3qvxp6xhqp.jpg

8t3dpnl1ll.jpg

I also spotted something up ahead closer to the bridge. I caught a flutter on the leaves and hoped to get a closer look.

zrlduc9l9d.jpg

I did get a few closer shots of the Eastern Tiger Swallowtail butterflies before another walker came out from under the bridge and they flew off.

62nir3qjux.jpg

Last water view from under the bridge.

nf432vrhk5.jpg

My very last photo is to show the red raspberries that were ripe near the parking area. Yep, I picked a couple and ate them. A moment of "living on the edge" here!😀

4avch49tl8.png

Thank you @tattoodjay for #wednesdaywalk!!

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

What beautiful photos! I love them, it is really nice to see the daily life of people in Steemit, greetings♡

Thank you so much @iamsaray!! 🙂

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you so much @pixresteemer!! 😊

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you @esteemapp!! 🙂

Beautiful woodland pictures...

Thanks so much @manorvillemike!! 😀

Yes I read the title so I knew where you were going today and I love your visits to this area, I am surprised some enterprising graffiti artists haven't touched the other side of the road, and I know why you like that piece of graffiti :)

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thank you Jay!! I thought the same thing about the other side of that wall being so bare. I love what the artists did with the reflective paint too. Lol..I was tickled to see the "Oh deer"..hee hee! 😊

the reflective paint is a coo touch for sure :)

You can use those turkeytail shrooms for tea. It has anticancer medicinal properties.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @sketch.and.jam! I will have to check that out! :)

Great post! Everything looks so green and inviting, realy relaxing. Love the shoots on this one. Way to go! :D

Thank you so much @bricbric! 🙂

Hi deerjay,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much @curie!! Very much appreciated!! 💖

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=deerjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wednesday-walk-at-little-gunpowder-falls-central-area


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

ehy dear @deerjay, your post is very nice. your walk on Wednesday seems extremely relaxing and peaceful. I love this landscape in the woods and the cool water of the stream, it looks like the typical enchanted landscape of fairies and elves !! I love walking along these paths kept in the shade by the trees and seeing these beautiful colorful flowers that nature gives us.
Did you live nearby or did you have to travel to visit it?
congratulation for your curie rating :-))

Thank you @road2horizon! I, luckily, live pretty close and Gunpowder Falls State Park in a fairly large area so I've been to this spot before along with other areas. The shady spots sure help on the hot days. I sometimes imagine the same thing with the fairies and elves! 🌸

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92