Wednesday Walk: Pet Cemetery Revisited

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago

This is in response to a Challenge by @tattoodjay to take photographs of things on a walk. Things you don’t normally see. I really like the challenge and the challenger so here I am again.

On this first day of Spring 2019 I'm here to tell you that the spring flowers have mostly left my desert. I'm afraid we've started our long slow fade to beige, the summer color of the desert.

One thing that has changed is the Pet Cemetery. Those of you who have been with these walks of ours will recognize the term. There are at least 6 new additions for 2019. Due to snake considerations, Sam and I made our last trip to the area last week. Here's what we found.

PCNewDoggy.JPG

This is one of the new additions. A pretty elaborate display that includes a water bottle, a beer can and a picture in a frame.

PCNewDoggy2.JPG

Another view of the same grave. There is also a kitty grave that features a photo in a frame just like this one, no way of knowing if it's from the same owners or a copy cat owner.

SamWnewKitty.JPG

Sam was more interested in the very new graves than he has been in the past. I'm quite sure that at least a couple are recent enough that smells of the occupants lingered on for Sam. This kitty and the new dog above were of special interest for Sam.

NewKitty.JPG

Another new Kitty. The creativity and effort put forth here just astounds me. Sam and I would continue to walk out here but I have real convincing word that Mojave Rattlesnakes have been seen right here. I haven't seen them, but they are nasty enough that I have no desire to meet them. So we will stay away from Pet Cemetery until the temperatures go down below snake temps again.

PC1.JPG

I've no idea if this represents a doggy or a kitty, but quite a lot of effort went into this burial.

PC3.JPG

I don't think this one is a new grave, just some new trim and remembrance on the top.

PCDixie.JPG

This owner went all out for Dixie. Full adobe brick paving.

Kiki.JPG

Another owner went all out for their beloved pet.

I'd be interested to see what and who shows up here but will not expose Sam or myself to the Mojave rattlers. So I guess we will all have to wait until November to see what is new at Pet Cemetary.

So that's it. My #Wednesdaywalk. I hope you enjoyed seeing a little different corner of the desert as much as I enjoyed bringing it to you.

All Words and Photographs in this post are mine, for better or worse.

You want some really cool stuff? Check these authors, they will not disappoint.

@broncofan99 Sports Teaching Fishing BBQ. Not necessarily in that order.

@morkrock Music Games Stinging Politics. Don't go here with thin skin.

@princessmewmew Food Antiques Food Life Food Cats. Anything of beauty could show up here.

@soyrosa Great Photographs and Insights for us All

@sultnpapper All the truth you can take and then some. The monthly BBQ is worth the price...

The STEEM Engine

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!

Sort:  

I think its very sensible to stay away till it is past the season of the snakes, I know I would do the same, only when playing far cry games do I not worry about snakes LOL

Those graves and memorials are so ornate in some cases the owners clearly put effort and thought into them

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

We'll take our chances with the sidewinders. They are really quite shy and not digressive so we'll take our chances. The Mojave are much more aggressive and have the nastiest venom of all the rattlers. They can have their range with no argument from me.

I really do not know much about snakes so I would err on the Sid eof caution myself

We havne't any poisonous sankes here in MA @bigtom13 @tattoodjay but the big long black (about three feet) snakes we do get here in the country (I forget what they are called) are very shy, but I caught one once in my chicken run and my rooster was not having it. Luckily I chased them all back in the chicken house and scared it away. Sneeky/cheeky bugger.

Thats good news for me since thats where we are planning on moving to :) thats good you were able to scare it away

I remember finding a Cobra in the trash bin area when I lived in Singapore, Luckily I saw it from quite a distance but I was always so cautious when taken out the trash out from there on in

Wait, you are moving to MA? @tattoodjay ? Did I know that? Where?

Its not 100% sure but most likely when I retire probably around this time next year, My wifes son and his wife and children live there so we want to be close to them, they are in New Bedford so it most likely will be somewhere near there.

Wow, that is kind of sad. It is nice that they have found a place to lay their pets to rest though. You definitely want to avoid those rattlers. I am lucky to live in an area where I don't have to worry about that for the most part. I have heard we do have one type of rattler in Michigan though.

The framed picture I can understand. The bottles and the empty beer can ... HUH???

I know, huh? I don't get it either.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

It so weird that you made this post because my goat died today and I had to dig its grave.

I'm sorry for your loss. I've dug my fair share of graves, and it's never an easy thing.

Thank you

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi, @bigtom13. I really enjoy your post. So I know the cemetery is to lay the pet in a honor place. I wish the owner get many gift in their life.
Warm regard from Indonesia

These are plots that take some planning and execution by the owners. I'm amazed by what they do. Like you, I hope they are rewarded also.

Aww..that's so sad! It makes my soul cry as I am a huge animal lover.. :(
But I'm happy though there exists such a cemetery..over here there is not...

Aww maaan it's so beautiful and sad all at the same time :(

🎁 Hi @bigtom13! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 434 (03/20/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54