Wednesday Walk: Cloud Edition

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago

This is in response to a Challenge by @tattoodjay to take photographs of things on a walk. Things you don’t normally see. I really like the challenge and the challenger so here I am again.

mountainclouds1.JPG

We got a pretty good rain on Tuesday (half an inch. Pretty good for Yuma.) So Wednesday morning we got to see something we very rarely see here. Clouds in the valleys of the nearby mountains. It generally just warms up way too fast for the clouds to form.

mountainclouds2.JPG

So by the time Sam and I got out and about we were able to see a pretty good show. The clouds are drooping over the tops of the mountains and pushing up the valleys because the sun has been up for a while on the other side. It warms the air and the clouds ooze up and over where they promptly hit cooler temps and slide down the west face that we can see.

mountainclouds4.JPG

The beauty was outstanding, and the walking immediately after a rain is incredibly pleasant. Footing is firm and good no matter where you walk. Sam is happy because everything is completely washed off, and all smells fresh and new.

Prickly Pear dump.JPG

All was not paradise on our walk yesterday. This is the part of the desert we walk in 4 or 5 times per week, so are both quite familiar with the area. That's how we know that this dump is new.

I simply can not believe the number of people that dump their shit in the desert. I don't know how that can be OK with anybody. From ordinary household trash (usually in bags) to exotic items. We have a good garbage program around here, with EVERYONE being allowed free access to dump anything but hazardous waste at a nice facility.

PricklyPeardump close.JPG

Somebody obviously cleaned a significant quantity of prickly pear cactus out of their yard and decided it needed to go to the desert. So they brought it out and dumped it in a heap ON THE MAIN TRAIL.

I don't often show the trash I see on our walks (we often carry a bag to pick it up) but this one really bugged me. Can't even put it off to the side, just dump. Urrrggghhh

junksculpture.JPG

Some creative persons (there are at least two tracks) have picked up and localized some trash dumped in the desert with a little flair. This is also right along a main trail near the crest of the tallest hill in the area. There is a weekend clean up effort in this part of the desert every year, so this bit of cleverness will go, but it's pretty cool right now.

junksculptureback.JPG

This is what it looks like from the back, away from the trail. You can see that the builders took some pains to make sure it stays. There is a bicycle frame that is moving that way every other day or so, my guess is that it will be part of the sculpture soon. Or not.

So that's my #wednesdaywalk actually taken on Wednesday! How about that for following the (almost non existant) rules?

All Words and Photographs in this post are mine, for better or worse.

You want some really cool stuff? Check these authors, they will not disappoint.

@broncofan99 Sports Teaching Fishing BBQ. Not necessarily in that order.

@morkrock Music Games Stinging Politics. Don't go here with thin skin.

@princessmewmew Food Antiques Food Life Food Cats. Anything of beauty could show up here.

@soyrosa Great Photographs and Insights for us All

@sultnpapper All the truth you can take and then some. The monthly BBQ is worth the price...

The STEEM Engine

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!

Sort:  

The idea of not often seeing clouds is somehting i havent come across to often, most places I have been there is fairly regular visits by Clouds

another way Mother Nature is pretty amazing nightlights dby your post,

But as for people dumping trash like that on the main trail or anywhere for that matter is so infuriating, mind you the tire and rock wall was pretty cool even if it wont be there for long

Ohh and I almost forgot

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

We get high altitude clouds some. Particularly in the Summer we get thunderstorms involving the flow from the Gulf of California, but these were clingy. These photos were taken on my phone, I really wish I'd have had my nikon to detail it better. So rare and wonderous around here...

I actually had another walk teed up, so I should be good to go next week too :)

Well at least these days we all have phones with us for those I need a shot moments when we don't have the camera with us :)

I am wondering what I will have for my walk next week, with the cold and rain plus the office move,I havent done any photo walks this week and the forecast for the next few days are even worse, colder and snow, so I may have to get creative lOL

Love the photographs and miss the desert.. yeah really!

It's pretty darn nice this time of year. I've been here since 2001 and never seen it greened up like this in the winter. I think we'll have a monster flower display in a couple of months...

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

That is pretty pathetic that they do that. I can't imagine just dumping stuff like that ever. Okay, I should take that back. Organic stuff like that I can kind of see. They should have at least put it off the road though. I know back in the day I had a friend that had a cabin and there was an area down the road in the woods where everyone would dump their leaves. At least those break down eventually...

Absolutely agree. Normally I wouldn't even give stuff like this a thought but it's right in the road. Prickly Pear is thorny enough to possibly cause some tire problems not to mention a horrible jolt.

It's the trash dumpers that really piss me off. I have twice a week service and don't put my can out more than once a week, the asshats could just drop their household trash off at my place. I'd be just fine with that.

People have their nerve just dumping stuff. At least this pile will degrade over time but the funny part is that those prickly pear cactus are good eating when cooked right so had the people looked into it they might not have pitched it and could have eaten it.

🎁 Hi @bigtom13! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: B&W Photo Contest Color Splash Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Beautiful shots of the clouds! And I don't understand how people can just dump their trash, or even throw their beverage container out the window. I have no idea why.

It looks an amazing walk @bigtom13 But, everytime I see the dry hot look of your photos, I swallow and look for a glass of water ;)

My skin is already suffering being back in the US. It is always so lovely and moist in the air in England that my skin feels so good, and within one day home, even living on the sea, the dry cold winter air had me scratching dry skin and longing for some moisture.

I actually miss the overcast grey sky, as we have had some wonderful sun here, though it is cold (But not as cold as last year thank God!)

Keep sharing these amazing walks. The tire stone wall is an interesting take on that much loved landscape feature :)

Dear @bigtom13

I've noticed that you were delegating some SP to dstors as a way of supporting their project. Im not sure if you've aware but they shut it town.

Those guys from dstors didn't even bother to contact people who supported them. Such a shame. This project looked very promissing.

ps.
I was wondering if you would consider supporting my efforts in building a crypto community here on Steemit..

Since HF20 took place, myself, along with a few other active "Steemians" decided to put in extra effort into making our little community stronger. And community build mostly on mutual engagement and support instead of financial rewards.

I recently delegated over 3500 SP to a group of 80 active steemians who struggled with low RC levels (resource credit). And the results has been great so far. One of my latest posts reached over 800 comments, which I found insane

Those results are only proving that our efforts are worth something. The only thing is that I can only do "that much" with my current resources.

Perhaps you could consider supporting our efforts with some delegation? I would seriously appreciate your help.

Please let me know what do you think. I will appreciate every feedback, regardless of your decision.

Yours
Piotr

Howdy sir bigtom13! Very interesting walk photos sir bigtom, it looks hot out there too but it can't be that bad this time of year right? Anyway, people are just simply pigs. lol. How far do you walk?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63562.42
ETH 2649.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77