@yoenelmundo is spamming comments and using YOUR account to flag people that confront him! Help stop this spammer

in #waronspam7 years ago

A few days ago I made the steemit account @landonator and I made this introduction post with it to describe what I will be using the account for. I know spam is getting bad here, but it never occured to me how insanely bad it is until I posted that introduction post.

It's been 4 days and there are 10 spam comments on the post and only two real comments. That ratio of 5 to 1 is why I say it's insane. Imagine every new user that signs up and gets bombarded with this spam. Much of it is looking for follows but there was one that really caught my attention.

The user @yoenelmundo made (or pasted) this comment;

Bienvenido a Steemit! Este Post puede tener muchos upvotes con la ayuda del King: @dineroconopcion, El cual es un Grupo de Soporte mantenido por @wilbertphysique, @yoenelmundo y 5 personas mas que quieren ayudarte a llegar hacer un Top Autor En Steemit sin tener que invertir en Steem Power.Te Gustaria Ser Parte De Este Projecto? Click aquí para ir al grupo de Discord donde hablamos de steemit y criptomonedas

Welcome to Steemit! This Post can have many upvote's with the help of the King's Account: @dineroconopcion, It's a Support Group run by @wilbertphysique, @yoenelmundo, and 5 other people that want to help you be a Top Steemit Author without having to invest into Steem Power. Would You Like To Be Part of this Project? Click here, go to group discord where we talk about steemit and cryptocurrency

So basically this "King's Account" on Discord is trying to be like MSP but he's spamming new users to get them to sign up. As with any other spam I find on people's posts now, I flagged it and told him to stop spamming.

He then began to defend himself, saying what he was doing was not spam. I showed him pictures of his comments which are all the same and gave him the definition of spam but he didn't really listen. I only ever flagged his first post initially but later went back and hit some more because he spammed a couple more of my comments with the same initial messages. I still haven't hit all of them because I don't particularly want to flag people if I don't have to.

That was 4 days ago and yesterday I saw his same spam message pop up on another post so I flagged him again.

He then returned to the inital conversation we were having on @landonator's posts and said;

XD XD -190 votes ;)

I thought that was a little weird but then noticed my latest post had -165 votes on it.

This doesn't bother me because even with the 190 down votes at 20% it didn't even seem to make a dent in my potential payout of a whopping $2.

What I'm wondering is, do all of you users in this "support group" know that your accounts are being used to promote spam and to flag users who are trying to prevent spam?

I'm all for support groups like the Minnow Support Project, which I vote with through streemian. What I don't like is for these things to be promoted using spam messages and then have people's accounts abused for one person's childish behavior. I've tagged everyone who downvoted me on the post so you are aware of what your account is being used for. I'm hoping that at least some of you have been on steemit long enough to find this post from the mention and become aware of what your account is used towards.

I've checked a number of these accounts randomly and they seem like people with good intentions who are trying to get more upvotes on their content. I just don't think they all know how their account is being used.

I've gone through his history on steemd.com. Luckily, his account is only 21 days old so it was pretty quick to search for things he downvoted. There are quite a few people that have downvoted his spam but I was looking to see if he has done this before with these accounts. It turns out he (or another admin) has done this to one other person so far on three posts.

https://steemd.com/spanish/@yenipaola/concurso-cervantes-5a-entrega-antoni-gaudi-y-el-modernismo

https://steemd.com/spanish/@yenipaola/2osckt-reflexion-del-dia

https://steemd.com/allstem/@yenipaola/diferencia-entre-honestidad-integridad

If your name is on the list of people that have downvoted, I suggest if you don't want to stop using this bot to upvote your posts then at least go to streemian and disable the "Allow Downvote" option. This will at least prevent this group's admins from using your account for their own childish behavior. If it's happened twice already in the last 16 days, it will most likely happen again as soon as someone else tries to confront him.

His spam section... I mean comments section

@elfictron, @miprimerbitcoin, @bitcoinroute, @yusaymon, @juanpchica, @bape682, @luciano157, @sam99, @dineroconopcion, @alvaroquenta, @wilbertphysique, @charles268, @foxlobo31, @gabyen3d, @nairo.martinez, @freecreative, @ernick, @jordibv, @jorgebit, @naysayer, @zenkly, @osmi, @caballerojohanes, @aces4all, @vidalatina, @joseforo, @juanjorosale, @cryptorambo, @jennifernash580, @avythomas12, @davidyoan12, @stevephill12, @avilmay, @tommyleo123, @dadapukar, @pinbrown123, @timangle123, @cobudiqibe, @sowanyd, @wikybusegu, @zydip123, @barutygel, @qezopiheme, @cyqys123, @gaqecyt, @fidelwx, @jhiostongely, @luzvelaesco, @yoenelmundo, @glosarlo, @johnathanmoca, @doblezero, @newdaily, @sam1, @enriquerodriguez, @dgaiver, @onnygabriel, @elprutest, @laqsking, @criptotendencias, @jakvier, @skatitauriazul, @alexicp, @dualreso, @jexpro, @adal111, @yogano4, @yogano3, @yogano2, @yogano1, @stx-coin, @marishenk4, @jessymg, @nicoloko, @luis10salas, @cijarovi, @mamasusa, @peovvelo, @jeanjiru, @zuyaruhe, @tylerdourden, @kal-el, @diegorodriguez, @carlosalrian, @yoile, @earningsonlineve, @jeremycrow, @azuka2014, @wealthguru, @ralber, @joserc.vzla, @ganandoenbtc, @hainover, @djkrad, @fkap21, @edgargimagi, @danielalhita, @angeluz, @joelf, @zonabitcoin, @llopezr1, @cristian-mesa, @criptoseries, @barpicaf, @huevos1, @olmorera, @vanessagaviria, @alcas92, @breatheonline, @playnet, @davyjohn, @austinbell768, @leahbrown715, @mattsmith542, @austinmarshall, @stephaniemacleod, @kevinkerr457, @colinbailey573, @suespringer605, @pcjhonatan2009, @angelusnoctum, @kandy82, @dimcoin, @forobeta, @jcsl21, @juliocsl21, @jmambru, @infocoin, @darkfacexdd, @misteryo69, @fannyvs, @endeavorfitness, @yungchen1991, @alejandropm, @auditore, @mabo23, @eloficial, @ziosj, @chuck-walker, @felipezarza268, @speedcuber, @johannstacey, @josgom, @juanca96, @onofre, @gsmo, @creeresganar, @robert-eins, @daneftaly, @silvabrothers, @ronyaquino, @incolonial, @urielrosdlr, @waltererick, @sevillaespino, @joverxabri, @vidafitnessfeliz, @rebaz19, @plokmi, @josemartinpiano, @laukemann, @gamersnews, @artax89, @loboferoz, @whatawombat, @sergiochd, @wasgyo, @chamo1116, @samaritano, @joelmontero, @cesarrodriare, @maryelcidacama, @sandramilemaca, @eliasfarfanlo, @julio1012, @mrgabrielc, @itzunknown, @marianneaviva

b14rlldlg

stephen-king989

SteemGig Commissions

Buy My Prints
Amazon Merch T-Shirts
RedBubble Merch

Sort:  

Great post! Also, something I can mark off my 'todo' list. I noticed these comments when I was hunting bot comment spammers.

Friend if our intention is to reach the new users via a welcome message, what is the problem? .. What I see is that you are annoyed by SPAM as marks my messages of welcome, if you bother this type of message simply ignorant They are not for you, many people are happy with our group we think it grows, if it bothers you I suggest you ignore them and go. You earn something by saying "stop spammer", if you win something very well, if it does not go your way.

Maybe you think it's your duty to be the judge and say it's wrong or steemit, but that part does not correspond to you. You say that the message does not generate any value, my message generates more value than "stop spammer", finally the group is made of people who want to vote in their post

Look, spamming people's posts is not cool. It doesn't matter if you are trying to welcome them. Spamming is not the way to do it. I've been here for over a year and spam has only been a problem for the last 2 months. I'm not the only one who thinks so either. There are many people who have been here for over a year that tried to ignore the spam but it is getting worse and worse. Now it's time to do something about it. It is everyone's concern when spam starts to become a problem in a community like this. It is making it very unpleasant for everyone here and it will spread like a cancer if it's left untreated.

If you want to welcome people and tell them about the discord group, make a post about it every day and the users will find it. You initially posted your spam on my account is how I found you. I won't ignore things that are posted on MY post.

You want some examples of older users who think spam is not good;
https://steemit.com/spam/@spaminator/i-am-the-spaminator
https://steemit.com/waronspam/@stellabelle/00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000001-sbd
https://steemit.com/followfriday/@steevc/follow-friday-the-spambassabors
https://steemit.com/spam/@personz/i-run-sadkitten-so-you-don-t-have-to-dealing-with-massive-amounts-of-spam

Maybe @stellabelle, @stevec, @personz, @spaminator, @sadkittencan, or @sherlockholmes can help me better 'explain' to you why this spamming is not a good idea. Maybe they will use words, or maybe they will go through all your spam comments and flag them. They have a whole lot more SP than me.

Not only are you spamming now, but you are using all these people's account to flag. Did they all realize you would be able to do that when they signed up?

While you may have good intentions you need to be open to the feedback from the community. And that means accepting the flags without retaliating.

This is a great example of how not to run a group or project.

Dineroconopcion is a healthy community !!! And helping to grow in Steemit is a great project created to support all minnows and the community. IS NOT SPAM the messages are for the people who want to join this great community do it .. is very good your work searching SPAM but I assure you with this and @yoenelmundo is wrong !! And very good your work greetings @stephen.king989

The idea of the group is good. It is very similar to Minnow Support Project. The way that @yoenelmundo is spamming people to invite them is not fine and I'm not the only one who thinks so. If the group wants to get new users, then make a post about the group with all the information like everyone else here trying to start communities for various things. Do that every day and I'm sure it will grow the community. And now, he's using the accounts in the group to flag people. Did all the people in the group agree to those terms?

If I already noticed : S sorry, you´re right. It's not the right way <3 FOLLOWED @stephen.king989 P.S. I always loved Stephen King

Of course there is a lot of genete according to what you think, so many people agree with what I think, if there are many forms and this is one of them for you is wrong, for me is a good way, everything depends on the point of view.

The @yoenelmundo community is a great and good community, I would not have known without the welcome message, if for you it's spam just ignore it.
At the moment I thank you for being able to enter that community :) greetings

He posted the spam on my post. Why would I ignore it if he's going to post it on MY post? If it was his own post then yes, I would have ignored it. Then it wouldn't have been spam, it would have been a normal post.

All members of the group are advised of how the system works. There have been some problems with the bot as it is still being polished, but I think it should not be labeled as spam. The community that is forming is only trying to grow and learning from their mistakes. Peace & Love

That's great if you are trying to grow and learn from your mistakes. The mistake is he is spamming people's posts to gather new users. I'm not talking about the community. I think forming a community to vote on each other's posts is a great idea for new users. The issue here is the spamming. It's labeled as spam because it is spam.

Spam

noun
Digital Technology. disruptive online messages, especially commercial messages posted on a computer network or sent as email (often used attributively).

Verb
spams, spamming, spammed
to send unsolicited electronic mail or messages to a number of people.

Explain to me how he is NOT sending unsolicited messages to a number of people by pasting his message in random posts without even reading the post.

Well show me your post about steemitboard, bot-helper and welcomebot spam, because the messages from them never requested and I do not think they have read my post. In addition I see them in innumerable post. Or, will you change the definition of Spam conveniently? Why your obsession with this particular group?

First,

@steemitboard is a spam bot but, says this at the bottom;

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can opt out of receiving the messages at any time.

It also provides you with a link to look up your stats and lets you know when something new has been achieved so it's not really telling you the same message over and over. That would be like saying your browser is spamming you every time you get a notification that someone commented on your post. It's the same message, but not the same meaning. I told @yoenelmundo to stop and he posted the same message to me again in the same string of comments.

Second,

@welcomebot is a spam bot. But, they will only comment on your post one time when you make an introduction post. Are you trying to say that @yoenelmundo is only posting to people that make introduction posts? I can give you an example of his latest comment on a user who has been here since September of last year. @welcomebot also provides links to a lot of information about steemit that will be helpful to new users. This group convinces new users who don't know better to hand over their private posting keys to an actual person where places like MSP do not do that.

Third,

@bot-helper is a spam bot who spams new users when they use #introduceyourself. That bot provides no service except that they claim to donate all their upvotes to charity. I have not heard of this bot until I just looked it up, so I don't know if it is donating or not.

This does not prove that @yoenelmundo is not spamming. You are just trying to provide evidence of more spam to somehow justifying spam being okay. I was not "obsessed" with this group, which I clearly stated in my initial comment to you. I have a problem with the administrators of the group abusing the group members and using their steem power to try and downvote me and other users. But, since yesterday I've learned that this group is convincing people to hand over some of their keys to the admins of this group which is not a very good thing to do. So now, I sort of do have a problem with the group because now all these new users have to figure out how to change their posting keys if they don't want to be in a group anymore.

Finally,

I'm not the only one who thinks this is spam. Why don't you tell me what @yoenelmudno's reputation is now? I know I flagged him yesterday and dropped him to 41. It looks like some people are not happy with this guy now that I put it out in the open and his reputation is down to 14. I haven't flagged him since before he downvoted this account. So now he has a choice to either stop spamming, or others will continue to flag him into the negatives.

You seem to be fixated on the fact that myself, and now many others, think he's spamming posts. What do you have to say about him using that group to flag me and other users? That is the real reason I made this post. Did they all agree to allow him to do that? Can you show me some evidence of this? If there is some evidence of this then okay. The 160 people in this group can continue to flag people as a group but if they are all doing it on purpose, people with some real steem power will see this and start flagging them back until everyone's reputation is in the negative. We'll see who gets to zero first, 160 minnows or a few whales and number of dolphins who aren't going to sit back and let this spam and abuse happen any more.

I just asked why post a particular group and not others, maybe I did not in the right way but it is because English is not my native language. I removed the flag from the time I realized that you had it and we warned this person not to do that. Then I do not understand why you answer me in a threatening tone.

Yesterday afternoon I saw that he had flagged you another post and I removed my flag too so I see that you're right. But I think those threats should not tell me, in any case you should tell him or those who kept the flag in your post.

Today I check my post or see that you cast a 0% vote. Is that another threat? I do not know why you have that deal with me I was just trying to have a civilized dialogue.

I will vote your post as I see that you are right. I never tried to make war with you. Peace & Love

I singled out this group only after it started flagging me in an abusive manner and it had done it to others. I flag a lot of the spam I come across now because it's a problem and it's getting worse. We all need to do something about it to eliminate it.

It's not a threat, it's a warning. If you are all aware that your accounts are being used to flag people (you said you weree all informed), then there are people who will not tolerate that behavior. I never flagged anyone else except the one person. I don't want to flag anyone or start anything with anybody. But, I will not stand by and let steemit be abused by others if I can do something about it. I don't think all the users are aware of this behavior and I've mentioned everyone in this post who flagged me so they can be aware. Thank you for realizing what happened and removing your flag.

As for the 0% vote. That is probably minnowsupport voting at a low percentage. I vote at 10% of their full vote. If they vote less then 10%,i don't think my vote will have any power. It's not on purpose or anything.

Well it is rare that a vote of minnowsupport comes to a post with 4 days old but it does not matter.

By the way I never said that we were informed that our account was being used to flag people, in fact I said that when I saw your post was when I realized and we claimed the person for that, hoping that this would change.

However I understand your position and I apologize if my comments caused you any discomfort. Have a nice day.

If your name is on the list of people that have downvoted, I suggest if you don't want to stop using this bot to upvote your posts then at least go to streemian and disable the "Allow Downvote" option.

They are not using Streemian. I suggest part of that group change their posting keys.

So, i couldnt get in to steem to post or anything almost for one moth, and i get here and found my name here? can you blame the people for trying things like bots? if you search a little my friend, can you tell me how much times did i used this bot? i can understand the things you are telling here, you must understand that a lot of people that are actually there is just cuz they are new ppl on steemit, on my case i was just trying something new, so once i looked what it was, i didnt use it any more, in fact, i disable it weeks ago from stremian, so, you put me on first place on this list of ppl and i dont think that i deserve this...for the record, im looking the post that this people downvote without my knowledge and will take out every one...

I don't blame anybody for joining this community to try and get some more exposure on Steemit. I clearly stated that in my post. I'm not blaming anyone who was using this bot for downvoting me. I've already identified who has been abusing these accounts. Your name is on the list because your account was being used to downvote people without your knowledge. If you removed your account from the service weeks ago, why did your account downvote this post that is only 11 days old? If you removed your account from this group before 11 days then I'd suggest changing your private posting key because somebody still has it.

Again, this post is to warn people who are having their accounts used. Maybe you realized and removed yourself from the group and that's great. That is exactly what I'm trying to show people who still might not realize. It's nothing against you personally, but your account did downvote mine and others so that is why you are on the list.

I just realice that the bot wasnt working from stremian, its from discord, my apologies, i get your point, and if you look at it now, i removed the flags, i went out of internet almost a moth ago, and i didnt knew anything of this situation, i found the post downvoted via steemd, but was just 3-4 post, i dont really see any more post, if you can provide the links that was affected by this i will apreciate that, im changing my passwords right now, to get out from that bot, i cant desactivate my key from it manually and i dont want to cross any word with the admins, again, sorry for the troubles, but for the record, i didnt know anything of this, if you see my post, the last one was the last post was from the last day with internet, i could get some rewards from the eSteem app but i was totally far from knowing this

No need to apologize. The whole idea of this post was to make everyone aware of what their account was being used for. There are only 3-5 posts that were downvoted. It would happen again if it wasn't addressed, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60030.46
ETH 2413.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43