SLAVERY Funds WAR (Prison Labor Still Exists)

in #war8 years ago (edited)

Wait, prison labor is still a thing?


I don’t know if I should be ashamed to admit it, but I thought prison labor was illegal. I thought those black and white movies featuring chain gangs and inmates stamping out license plates were a quaint throwback to a more barbaric time.

You can imagine how surprised I was to learn that prison labor isn’t just still “a thing” but it has moved well beyond merely stamping out license plates (though apparently this still is done). In fact, what percentage of all military helmets, id tags, bullet proof vests, canteens, night-vision goggles, ammunition belts, tents, shirts, bags and pants would you say are produced by the inmates of Federal Prisons? 10%? 30%? 50%? How about 100%. And what company is there to oversee production of all these items? UNICOR. Previously known as Federal Prison Industries. A name that was a bit too on-the-nose I suppose.

Let’s just be clear about what we’re doing

Step 1: Psychologically accepting that it is OK for millions of people to be imprisoned because we believe it serves some function like rehabilitation (a myth that was debunked in the 70s)

Step 2: Drastically increasing the number of people in prison by tolerating a “War on Drugs” and using force to punish nonviolent offenders so that as of now over 1 million people are in prison for nonviolent offenses. Yes, many people are coming around on marijuana legalization, but only about 40,000 Americans are imprisoned for marijuana related offenses which means that legalizing this substance will have a negligible impact, and in fact, many people will continue to be imprisoned for violating the new laws and regulations governing the sale and consumption of marijuana. It may very well wind up being a "wash."

Step 3: Giving prisoners the “choice” to work for $0.23 an hour, or make $0 while they waste away in a cell

Step 4: Use this slave labor to make it economically impossible for free Americans (still dealing with the aftermath of a massive and arguably ongoing recession) to compete for jobs while bringing down the costs of maintaining a massive military which is used to wage war on others and whose weapons eventually make their way into the hands of local police officers who can then use that weaponry against the people they claim to protect

Step 5: Offload the cost of care for these slave laborers onto the American public.

One can only imagine how the war-calculus would change if there wasn’t a massive pool of slave-laborers manufacturing the tools of war. Maybe that’s why, despite everyone's willingness to virtue-signal a desire to lower the prison population, far fewer are actually willing to discuss what exactly we are willing to stop imprisoning people for. And I haven't even addressed the fact that countless corporations from Bank of America, to Walmart, to Victoria's Secret also take advantage of the low-cost goods produced by the Prison Industrial Complex.

Ending the War on Drugs is not enough


Ending the War on Drugs alone would only lower the prison population to a still-stratospheric 1.6 million. Still more than twice the prison population of China. I guess preventing people from competing in the open labor market by locking them in a cell is certainly a good way to keep wages down, profits up, and political "contributions" flowing.

For more on this:
The Atlantic: Prison Labor in America
Return To Now: Prison Labor is the New American Slavery
From Steemit user @dwinblood: Stop Sending Our Jobs Overseas, OK We'll Stop, How About The Prison Industrial Complex

Sort:  

and...
93% of paints and paintbrushes,
36% of home appliances,
21% of office furniture,
30% of headphones, mics, and speakers,
plus loads of product assembly...
crazy...
(According to the Centre for Research on Globalization.)

Wow. Great points. Lot of this is new to me so nothing to add.... but you got me digging for more. Great work.

Great article. That being said, some of the links appear to be broken, particularly those ellabakercenter.org

Hey @andrarchy I wrote an article about this and also have some personal experience (from a vendor side) with this problem.

I dedicated THIS post to the subject.

I also mentioned it in my Initial Word Hijacking blog when explaining motives.

I like to refer to this as INSOURCING rather than OUTSOURCING.

Thanks for making more people aware. I don't remember if you saw those two blog entries of mine or not so I am sharing them just in case.

Awesome, will check them out. Didn't get to see them. I hate to admit it, but I just don't have time to read all the great content people like you create on here :/

Yes I know. I understand completely. Mainly since we were talking about the same thing I thought I should let you know. The post I dedicated to the topic I also linked to a lot of different catalogs from different locations around the county to show what the Prison Industrial Complex is offering. It's pretty crazy. I first became aware of this in around 1994.

V.S. uses zippers and clasps produced by prison labor, possibly much more. This is a great topic for an article though I think you should write another more in-depth article to compliment this one as most of the American public have no idea this is a thing. Also to be fair many countries across the globe still do this as well(Not justifying it just pointing out America's not the only one).

it's far from just zippers many companies from Starbucks to Microsoft use prison labour. i don't think it's as prevailent here in the uk but because it so widespread in the states it's hard boycot companies using the prison system as free labour (I say free but i expect many companies get subsidised in a similar way to workfare programs)

I was only pointing out the fact that Victoria's Secret has admitted to using zippers and clasps made in prisons, and I dont know about the U.K. specifically but I know Portugal, France and Italy were involved in the prison labour much the same as the U.S. along with Russia and China. Also when V.S. Was ousted a few years back for it the also pointed out that they don't determine the rates at which the prisoners get paid.(again not justifying anything just stating facts)

oh i wasn't criticising your comment in any way I agree that another article on this topic would be a good thing .I know we have some prison work programs but there is a much higher educational requirement with them here in the uk, I know one prison has a 5 star restaurant (at least it used to with current cuts i wouldn't be surprised to find it had ended) but prisoners will get professional qualifications out of it , those who do well get placements in high quality restaurants after release.

Good to know, I apologize, I mistook your comment. But I must say a 5 star restaurant run by inmates is quite intriguing, lol.
"Today's specials include a steak that's been stabbed 12 times and left for dead, and chicken sauteed in a plethora of drugs, and for dessert we have Creme de la Pedo."
Mmm Mm! That does sound good!

What is the difference between prison and plantation?

Great article @andrarchy. It is sad to what we see and people go through...overall are we just talking of the people behind bars? You can see all around the entire world is surrounded with people working less than minimum wages or tobe said slaves. All this is happening because of those that are hold the power and claiming to be God. Well when we are blind folded we lose our path and to see this prisoner that is where they go.

Brubaker and The Shawshank Redemption taught me all about prison labor :)

Things are unlikely to change very quickly given how most people are trapped in jobs that require the pursuit of profit above human welfare. This includes war. War is almost always waged for profit. Until peoples mind-set changes, war will continue on the battlefields of the world and in the giant sweat shops of industry. Yes it’s unhealthy and wrong, but whether you like it or not that fact is it will not change any time soon. Almost everything we buy we are able to do so because of wars the West has waged for centuries. Most of the clothes we wear are made from the toil of slave labour in far off lands. The only way to not participate is to live off the grid, grow your own food or buy local, and to not buy clothes from retailers who basically use slave labour.

Human rights should be more important than profit, but if it isn't more important than profit, then we should examine why.

Exactly the same situation all over the world.

I thought prison labor being a thing still was common knowledge, but I guess I only know about it because I watch so much Orange Is The New Black ahaha.

By the way, I'm curious about how to join the andrarchists group. I couldn't remember where the info on it was, but I think I remember you mentioning a rocket.chat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69236.16
ETH 3848.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66