One sunny day in Heusden

in #walkwithme5 years ago

You might be tired of my posts from Holland already but it would be a pity if I wouldn't share our day in Heusden with you 😊

Heusden is a charming small city that is surrounded by a wall. It was not my first visit here but I haven't walked on top of the fortifications before. I was excited as I heard that there are lovely views of the Meuse (Maas) river and the city. Today, I will not show you the city but its surroundings...

1.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/7.1 29 mm

The first defensive wall was built in the 14th century and the building of the fortifications began in 1579. It was completed in 1597. However the walls were damaged over the centuries and in the 19th century there was nothing left of them.

Luckily, the fortifications were restored and today it reflects the original state from the 17th century. How is that possible? It was rebuilt based on a map from 1649. The renovation was successful and Heusden won the highest European award for restoration projects in 1980 called Urbes Nostrae.

In the past there were four gates that would allow people to enter the city. Today, we can see two reconstructed gates - de Veerport and de Wijkse poort and remains of the third gate - de Herptse poort. Of course they are not used to enter the city anymore 😊

We started our walk at de Veerport..

2.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/8 24 mm

Before we climbed up the small stairs to get to top of the fortifications we crossed the gate to get close to the river..

I was surprised to see so many luxurious yachts. Later I learned that some of them are still for sale - just in case some of you would be interested 😊

3.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/8 32 mm

We also saw a couple of knotted willow trees. To me this is one of the many symbols of Holland.

4.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/7.1 29 mm

Heusden is popular among tourists but you can also see many people from the region enjoying the city and its surroundings. It's a biking and water sports paradise.

5.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/8 50 mm

There are three windmills in Heusden but don't be fooled by their appearance as they are not that old. They were built after the World War II.

6.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/8 48 mm

We walked around until we came to the city garden which you can see below..

7.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/8 24 mm

The garden was quiet as all tourists were around the mills and in the city center. There are various plants, herbs and flowers and a couple of benches were you can sit down and enjoy the nature around you...

8.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/9 48 mm

After a while we got back to the walls and continued our walk. The path will lead you close to the houses so you can see people chilling our in their gardens, barbecuing or maybe reading a book...

9.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/9 29 mm

When you turn around you will see the windmills and yachts again. At this point we were even thinking that we could maybe consider moving to The Netherlands one day...

10.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/7.1 32 mm

The last part of our walk was through this large green area. I must admit that I haven't walked on the grass for too long and I definitely have to do it more often 😊

11.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/8 31 mm

Last glimpse on the city before we head back to the car...

12.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/8 42 mm

On the way to the car we saw a house decorated with this funny wreath. It was probably one of the most creative ideas that I've seen in a long while..

13.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/5.6 32 mm

Heusden is a perfect place for a day trip if you spend your vacation in The Netherlands. It is an authentic place and it feels truly dutch. And if you ever go to Heusden, don't forget to buy a coffee-mokka liqueur that is produced there. It tastes like a candy 😊

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Martina

Sort:  

Beautiful shots of another quaint and cleanly town... I love these snippets of life as you see it Martina!!! Those windmills are cool looking too, just shows that our "new" technology isn't so new after all :)

Thank you Dave! Now it's not really about the traveling but about sharing normal things that I usually do. I'd like to start doing something special again but it's not going to happen soon so I'm glad that you still enjoy whatever I share :)

I hope you had a great weekend!

Definitely Martina... I hope everything is going well on your restaurant too, you can certainly replace with that content too as it is equally exciting :D

I will make a post about the restaurant next week :) there are some changes which I didn't consider positive at that moment but right now I feel like it's the right thing to do :)

awesome Martina... I would love to hear the update, even if you don't think its positive... Remember that even things that aren't positive will be learning experiences, and that knowledge (coupled with perseverance) is what makes people successful in life! ;)

Oh my goodness, I think I missed the other posts about beautiful Holland! So obviously I'm not tired of them.😜 I'll have to go back to look at the others! You know I will never tire of catching glimpses of the places you visit. This quaint little town is definitely a fun one. Looks like a perfect day to stroll around with your feet in the grass! I would love to visit those gardens, as well. Nothing like a bit of time in nature!

I like nature in Holland. There is so much greenery and you feel like you're always crossing some park unless you are in a big city of course :) But there they have a bit of nature too...

Thank you for stopping by and for your kind words Katie :)

Greetings @delishtreats,

What a lovely post with beautiful photographs......thank you for these posts regarding your visit to Holland....they are much appreciated.

All the best.

Cheers!

Good morning @bleujay (or at least here it is a morning :))

Thank you for your kind words and support.

I wish you a lovely day!

Cheers,
Martina

That sounds like a very cool and picturesque little town. No crowds, no tourists making noise, no traffic. What a dream! 😎

Thanks for these gorgeous photos, @delishtreats! 😃

There were many people in the town but we avoided that area :) And the traffic in the city is not that good either. It is very small and so many people have cars nowadays so that all streets are full with cars. But if you walk on the dike you don't really notice that :)

Thank you for stopping by and for your kind words!

Howdy Martina! Stunning views and gorgeous scenery, I love that place! they did a magnificent job of restoration there too. I didn't know that knotted willow trees were a sign of Holland.
I can see why you would consider Holland as a place to live, I bet vegan restaurants are popular there too. This is a beautiful post!

Hello cowboy! Well, I didn't say that they were a sign of Holland.. I said that they were a sign of Holland to me ;) I talked about it with my husband and he said that to him it's not like this but since this is my post I decided to include it :D You can see them everywhere while I have never seen such a tree in Slovakia or Switzerland.

There are just a few moments when I think I could live there. It's too flat for me :) Actually, no, there are not that many vegan restaurants. I was also surprised to see that veganism is not that developed over there. They eat a lot of dairy products - it's a large industry there. There are a few restaurants in Amsterdam but for the rest it is challenging..

How is the work around the property going?

Howdy Martina! oh I get it ...about the tree. Well it's a great photo because I've never seen a tree like that anywhere so I can see why it is to you especially if they are everywhere. It's a very unique feature of the country.

I'm surprised also about the lack of vegan restaurants there but perhaps in time. Or maybe in a few years you'll be ready to spread your restaurants over there and take over the country in that niche!

Work around here is going slow because even though I'm spending much less time on steemit it's still an addiction and it takes too much of my time. But Mrs. J is happy that I'm working on other things at least and she is okay with the pace.. for now. lol.

Any decisions made about the restaurant business or taking the job?

Are you addicted to Steemit? Sometimes I have to force myself to log in :D I'm kind of over it now.. I don't know why but there is much less interaction on the blockchain and this might be the reason...

I've talked to them today and we agreed that I'm overqualified for this job but there is actually another job which is one level higher and they want to consider me. But the problem is that there would be a permanent job so I would have to stay at least 3 years to be honest towards the company. Let's see how much they offer :) I should hear it within a month as that person just delivered his notice so they still have time to put it all together. So for now I'm going to continue on my business plan BUT I'm busy with spring cleaning of my apartment these days. It's also needed from time to time :)

Howdy again Martina! yes I'm addicted to steemit. Not as bad as before and I'm trying to step back more but it's hard.

Oh that job position sounds very interesting! And if it pays a big amount of money you will probably take it if it is the kind of work that you like, right? Three years is a long time to put your business plan on hold though. That could be a tough decision.
Thanks so much for explaining the situation to me! God bless you both!

I would definitely take it as it would literally double my starting capital over 3 years as I would put all the money aside. Then it would be much easier to start with the business and have some security :) But let's see. I also need to see the job description as I don't want to be stuck in a company doing something what I wouldn't enjoy...

Howdy today Martina! oh I see the possibilities! But then, like you said, it has to be something you would enjoy or it would not be worth it at all. It will be interesting to see how God is working all this out, I'm excited for you.
I know you would do great in the restaurant and I know you would do great at the job.

I'm living in The Netherlands for more than 20 years already but did not know about the beauty of Heusden yet.
Thanks for sharing! Need to go there once.
Nice shots you took there.

I think you're not the only one :) when you live somewhere you don't look for anything 'special', or you maybe don't have time to do it.. it's different when you come there for a few days and you want to see as much as possible :)

I hope you'll make it there. It's a very nice place to visit :)

Thank you for stopping by!

Yes, 100% agree :)

Interesting. Your reviews are amazing. Looks like a place to tour. I just feel like walking through that large green part.

But if I may ask, what kind of wall is Huesden surrounded with?

It's the stone wall to protect the city. In other countries with mountains they would build castles as high as possible so that it's difficult for their enemies to reach them. However Holland is as flat as a pancake :) so they had to find another solution :)

Thank you for stopping by!

Loved your beautiful and informative blog on Heusden @delishtreats The scenery is so picturesque and you even threw in a very interesting wreath, and a knotted willow. (U & R )

Thank you for stopping by and for your kind words! I appreciate your support!

Always a pleasure! 🌼

I will never get bored of great pieces written about Holland @delishtreats. Nice piece with you focusing on the surroundings. Great piece.

Thank you for your kind words! I'm glad to hear that you like it! :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=delishtreats
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=one-sunny-day-in-heusden


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57653.41
ETH 3122.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41