Walk With Me Hiking Edition - Calhan Paint Mines

in #walkwithme6 years ago

After being super cold late last week, it warmed enough by Monday to go exploring. Since it has been so cold lately, has snowed a few times, and is winter, my hiking partner and I decided to go out East to the plains. We ended up at one of my favorite places, the Calhan Paint Mines.

20170821_104049.jpg
Picture from last August, spent the day of the solar eclipse here

Also, fair warning, you will see my fingers in some of these pics. I'm still getting used to my new camera and chest mount for it. I apologize.

Monday we decided to go down a different trail instead of heading straight for the mines. There are three trails, one directly to the mines, a large circle, and then one in the middle. We went down the one in the middle.

Calhan Paint Mines Feb 2018 (21).JPG
I love signs! I always stop to read them, and yes, sometimes photograph them. <3

Calhan Paint Mines Feb 2018 (22).JPG
This may not have technically been a trail, but a dried creek bed. Oh well, it put us on a trail eventually. This is why I don't lead when I go hiking, and never go hiking by myself

Calhan Paint Mines Feb 2018 (36).JPG

This is the best picture I got of the wind farm that has recently been built over the course of the last three years or so. There used to be none, and now there seem to be even more every time I go. Love it!

Calhan Paint Mines Feb 2018 (58).JPG

Calhan Paint Mines Feb 2018 (64).JPG

Calhan Paint Mines Feb 2018 (67).JPG
My hiking partner and I agreed that these had the look and feel of an old Gothic church

Calhan Paint Mines Feb 2018 (74).JPG

Calhan Paint Mines Feb 2018 (80).JPG

We didn't do a whole lot inside the mines themselves, there were a lot of icy spots that we didn't want to deal with. I do have some photos from summer to show you, after a brief explanation.

Yes, they are called mines. No, they are not a conventional mine. Indigenous people's dating back thousands of years have been harvesting the rocks from this area to paint and dye with. You'll see better in the upcoming photos how the rocks look. Pinks, magentas, yellows, whites, blacks. It's really awesome. Any time I am anywhere out east, I find it very easy to imagine myself to be back in pioneer times or before that.

I don't appear to have gotten a picture, but I did meditate on this hike as well. If you read my Garden of the Gods post (https://steemit.com/walkwithme/@bearsquared51/walk-with-me-colorado-springs-part-four), you know I did a wind meditation that proved rather successful. And just like at GotG, I felt a pull to do the meditation. So this time, I did a rock meditation.

Shocking, I know. :p

My hiking partner joined me, and I swear, we both had different interactions with Gaia. He was telling me that as he managed to calm his thoughts, he saw a woman's face surrounded by vines and flowers appear. What I found interesting was that, while it was not directed at him, he felt a sense of anger coming from the face (and can we really blame her?).

I had taken off my shoes so as to sit more comfortably (I have really stiff hips seemingly no matter what I do to try to limber them up). I did not see anything, but I heard a voice, comprised of many, reassuring me that the foundations I've been building for myself are strong and will hold me up, and that the time I'm taking to do that is alright, I can get to everything else later.

Enjoy some more pictures of the mines, taken in the summer. And thanks for coming on this walk with me.

20170821_104027.jpg

20170821_104042.jpg

20170821_104044.jpg

20170821_105730.jpg

20170821_105847.jpg

20170821_110202.jpg
You aren't supposed to climb on the rocks in order to help preserve them, but this little cave called to me

20170821_110206.jpg

20170821_110411.jpg

20170821_113559.jpg

Oh, and the rocks are rather soft. It's easy to see how, with minimal effort, they would have been harvested for use.

Sort:  

Hey! Keep working on your shots and continue to produce quality posts like this one and I am sure you'll have some success on Steemit!

I love hiking posts and always try to curate and upvote good posts under #hiking tag!

Thank you poss! I definitely will, and I'll be sure to include the tag as well. :-)

I was so busy looking at everything that I didn't notice your fingers until going back and looking at them a second time. This place is amazing! The rock formations are really interesting to see. Very different. Very pleasant to look at. You are very fortunate to be able to hike these areas. I would be there everyday!

Haha, that actually makes me really happy you didn't notice my finger at first!

If I thought my car could make it out there, I would definitely be out there more often. It's nice and open, definitely a place I feel like I could wander around by myself, unlike all the mountain trails.

If I could even visit this place I would camp out. But I'm too far away. At least I have you to show me all these awesome places. So thank you for that :D

I didn't notice them, either! And I hadnto search for windmills. LOL

Beautiful land formations, and exquisite colours, I could only imagine how beautiful those colours are in real life!! <3 The energy must be so amazing there....

The energy is fantastic. It's also really fun to visit often because the colors change ever so subtly. I didn't get a good shot this time, but there are other rocks on the trails that aren't as colorful, so I doubt they were harvested for use as paint, but you can get right up to them and see the different layers signifying the passage of time.


Congratulations! You were nominated for a TROPHY TOKEN award HERE by @phoenixwren Please comment your Bitshares address to receive your reward! You can also contact us on Discord @Trophy-Token. Thank you for being a great Steemian!
trophy4.png

I'll message it to you on Discord. :-)

Ah, so cool! I've never been to the paint mines before. 😍 Thank you for taking us!
Have you ever tried myofacial release for the hip (a foam roller)?

Yeah, I roll out all my muscles/joints/tendons.what have you quite frequently. They get slightly better when I do it regularly with yoga, but nothing seems to really fix it. Even my chiropractor hasn't had much luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56576.23
ETH 3024.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29