Walk With Me: Wild Camping On The Moors, Standing Stones & Stone Rows War Horse & Haunted Woods

in #walkingwithme6 years ago (edited)

Back On The Moors

DSCF7433.JPG

So today I'm back on the moors for a couple of nights, heading to some different locations and snapping pictures as I go. But first let's take a look at the river I photographed last time and observe what a difference a drop of rain can make. So the first picture was taken on a previous trip.

DSCF7357.JPG

And below is taken after a summer rainstorm. When you come down here after a winters storm it's nothing short of frightening, the river sounding like an express train roaring through the valley.

DSCF7412.JPG

Anyway, it's time to head off across the moors and on towards pastures new.

DSCF7444.JPG

DSCF7447.JPG

So we arrive at my first destination, hidden in a remote and isolated corner of the moor is the house (and backdrop) that was used in the film war horse.

DSCF7465.JPG

DSCF7466.JPG

I love all the crumbling doorways and passageways that are hidden around this old farm.

DSCF7471.JPG

DSCF7472.JPG

DSCF7473.JPG

The Door To Nowhere .. although the actual house was built at a later date, some of the walls and doorways (including this one) date back to the 1400's.

DSCF7477.JPG

DSCF7480.JPG

DSCF7481.JPG

So its time to leave the house and take a walk further into the moor, searching for ancient standing stones and stone rows.

DSCF7483.JPG

These stone rows are pretty spectacular and unlike Stone Henge you usually have them all to yourself, allowing you to soak up the atmosphere and ingenuity of their construct. Indeed when you climb up on the top of the hill and look back, you can see how the rows could (potentially) have been used as some form of calender .. measuring the movement of the sun and seasons. The picture below is the only one that isn't mine, but it was taken on a better day and thus captures one of the rows in a better light.

Source

DSCF7488.JPG

DSCF7491.JPG

DSCF7493.JPG

This one is my favourite and it stands shy of 5 meters tall, the whole area simply oozes atmosphere and history and it never fails to inspire the imagination.

DSCF7492.JPG

DSCF7498.JPG

DSCF7510.JPG

So one last look back at the stones and it's time to continue our walk.

DSCF7500.JPG

DSCF7501.JPG

But first lets take a stop at the river so Echo can take a drink.

DSCF7502.JPG

And on we press towards the tor at the top of the hill and onwards towards a room with a view, well a wall anyway.

DSCF7513.JPG

DSCF7534.JPG

So after a long day on the moor my next days objective was hike that linked several tors and led me into the writhing, contorted sea of trees that is the legendary Wistmans wood.

DSCF7539.JPG

DSCF7541.JPG

These windswept, gnarled woods are linked to numerous legends and ghost stories. Indeed, it's said to be the most haunted place on Dartmoor, which for these moors and their wealth of stories (both old and new) is quite some feat.

DSCF7545.JPG

Maybe its just my imagination but as I wind my way through this knotted mass of trees it begins to feel as though I'm being watched.

DSCF7549.JPG

DSCF7550.JPG

The way all the ferns and mosses have woven themselves into the trees is beautifully captivating.

DSCF7553.JPG

DSCF7554.JPG

These ancient woods are unique in that they are one the only surviving woodlands to be found on the high moor. Legend tells that that Wistman was a sacred druid grove and within these trees they held pagan rituals.

DSCF7555.JPG

DSCF7570.JPG

It's said that at night the denizens of the "wood of the wisemen" (wistmans wood) search for human souls. The wood is also said to be the kennels of the devils own ‘Wisht Hounds‘, huge black dogs with blood red eyes and drooling yellow fangs. On dark and misty nights travellers have reported hearing the hounds howling and baying for human flesh, it's no mistake that Sir Arthur Conan Doyle set his Hound of the Baskervilles story on these moors.

DSCF7571.JPG

DSCF7580.JPG

Sometimes the ghost of "Jumbo" can be seen scurrying between the trees and boulders (Jumbo was a small terrier that died in the woods). At night and as he continues his perpetual search for his master, the poor dogs cries are said to echo through the valley. Can you see a face in the trees below?

DSCF7581.JPG

DSCF7583.JPG

At the northern edge of the wood you will find the ancient Lych Way or ‘Way of the Dead’. It was along this track that corpses were carried for burial at Lydford village. Over the years there have been many reports relating to a silent procession of ghostly men dressed in white monk habits. The old mans beard certainly gives the woods a beautifully haunted look.

DSCF7584.JPG

DSCF7585.JPG

DSCF7586.JPG

So now it's time to leave and wind my way back home, but before I go let's take a final look back into the wood of the wisemen.

DSCF7589.JPG

DSCF7588.JPG

Thank you for taking the time to read and join this #walkwithme

Minnow5.gif

Written by perceptualflaws
Gifs courtesy of giphy.com
Banner Gifs courtesy of @justcallmemyth

Minnow3.gif

Sort:  

Lots of great info and pictures!

Thank you for stopping by @markvance I'm glad you enjoyed the post.

What a great adventure - thanks for sharing your rather mystical journey!

Thank you @danielhime .. I really appreciate the kind words and support.

Lovely post and nice pics. Resteemed.

Thank you for the support @cryptoandzen .. I really appreciate it.

My only thought all the while going through the post was that if I could have been here, I could do all my writing just sitting anywhere there.

Thank you for taking the time to read/comment @mydivathings

I could do all my writing just sitting anywhere there.

Yes I agree .. in fact, one of the reasons I head out into these places is to seek inspiration and to write :) Thank again my friend

Wow, thank you for sharing your walk in 'a timeless time', at least that was the impression I got from the pictures. Especially the stone rows really made me think (Who? Why? HOW?!)..but the wood just got me haunted. Incredible!

Thank you @sternensaat I'm really glad you enjoyed my post .. the stone rows are amazing and because it's such a remote area with nobody else around the atmosphere is palpable .. with regards to the woods they also made a horror film about them .. trailer above :)

Haha, the trailer is great and fit to what you've described so perfectly well about this place.

This is maybe too personal, but did you get a feeling about what the stone rows 'do' or what people did there in former times? Especially as this place is a remote area, as you say, you may get better 'pictures' about the purpose or any other intuitions than at 'energetic places' that are overrun.

oh wow another amazing walk with you, those standing stones I can only imagine the energy and power held within that sits and the woods, wow so beautiful, the way the light filters thru and the moss, wow. Really love this one
DSCF7545.JPG
thank you for this xxx

Hey @trucklife-family .. hope you're well my friend. It was a beautiful couple of days, the energy and connection to the history that emanates from the stones and woods is as palpable as the beauty that pervaded my every view. I'm glad you noticed the light .. its fantastic eh? the way it dances across the rocks and moss .. I love it! Thank you for stopping by :)

So beautiful and atmospheric! And yes I did see a face, and it wasn't a terrier's! I don't think I'd want to be in that wood at night...
Lovely photos and astonishing standing stones. I'm surprised at how autumnal it looks. It's not quite September yet, but summer seems to have whizzed by and it feels like we're already into Autumn.

Hey @natubat thank you for stopping by and I'm glad you enjoyed the post/pictures .. also glad you could see the face and it wasn't just me! :) The standing stones are amazing and the location so atmospheric. The first river picture is taken from Autumn last year (I was highlighting the difference in the river) but the rest are recent .. it really depends on the lighting and how the shadows fall across the moor, one day it could look autumnal and the next like summer :) Although I know what you mean on the time front .. next stop Christmas! Thanks again my friend.

Ah - it was taken last Autumn! That explains it. It certainly does seem autumnal here in Scotland, even though it was quite warm today. The trees are shedding their leaves all over the place!

What an adventure! I have quite a few STEEMit allstars on my daily feed but you never fail to impress. Awesome post.

I did notice the "Walk with Me" and the camping theme and couldn't help but wonder if it was a tribute to old Zeke a little from my (shamelessly shilled) post https://steemit.com/camping/@zekepickleman/come-with-zeke-and-walk-along-this-mile-the-grotto

IMG_3819.jpg

If it is, THANK YOU! If not, well thank you anyway good friend!

Hey @zekepickleman thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment .. the #walkwithme thing is a tag started by my friend @lyndsaybowes (who has also commented) but your walk looks amazing, what a beautiful area and a lovely spot to swim! With regards to the woods, they also made a horror film about them .. trailer above :) Thanks again my friend!

You bet.

Here I am thinking I have come up with an original idea and it has already been done.

I thought I had followed @lyndsaybowes but I certainly have now.

Thanks again!

I love this shot because it truly puts into perspective how tall that stone is.

I can only imagine the powerful feeling emanating from the stones and The Wood of the Wisemen. That was an outstanding walk, thank you for bringing us with you!

And of course...the reason I came here...

Screen Shot 2018-08-30 at 7.47.43 PM.png

YAY!!!!!!!!!!!

Hey @lyndsaybowes .. always brightens my day to see you in my comment section .. I'm hoping to be able to get my email account reactivated today (£40.00 for an email I don't want just to get into discord) so I should be able to get back into the truth channel over the weekend.

Yes I love that picture as well .. it really puts it into context and makes you realise how important this stone arrangement must have been to the community that lived there. The sense of history in these places is incredible, you can close your eyes and almost be transported back in time .. Echo loves these long walks :D Thanks again my friend!

Oh I forgot to add that they made a horror film about the woods .. trailer above

Echo, yay!! I finally know her name :)

40$ That's crazy!

Hey my friend .. I just noticed your gift and I'm both moved and humbled that you would think so much of my work and understand what I'm trying to achieve .. it really means a lot .. thank you!!

You are so welcome. I understand how long it takes, and how much work you put into your research and articles. I just wish I would have thought of a monthly contribution sooner. For someone like you who doesn't post every day, and who can only earn for 7 days on your works.

Unbelievable this whole trip and all those stories you just told us, @. I was impressed with each of the images. On the one hand the stones and the utility they could have had in the past as a clock and finally that forest, the trees, magical and mysterious! The idea of being there and feeling a presence, a look, must be strange and unique. Apparently Wistman is one of those places you should visit in life but accompanied. Thank you for sharing such a great and spiritual experience.

Thank you for the kind words and support @nancybriti .. Yes when you climb up on the hill the use of the stone rows (there are several) as a calender, tracking the sun and seasons becomes a very real possibility. The forest is a very magical place, and it really does feel as though you're being watched by the spirit of the woods. Thanks again my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.45
ETH 2345.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47