c0ff33 Vlog 21st September 2018 - That ain't workin' that's the way you do it 👨🏽‍💻

in #vlog6 years ago

This weeks slightly offset c0ff33 vlog, in fact I have missed nearly a month of them one way or another - it is getting harder and harder to keep up with other people's posts - creating my own seems to have become almost a second thought. I do enjoy reading posts though, and that takes up a great deal of time, reading, appreciating and commenting on posts. And that is of course the big question, are you here to create content, enjoy content or maybe just be content?

I have been working late the last few Fridays as well, stripping down old dead espresso coffee machines to extract the copper boilers and brass groups while listening to @enginewitty do his Friday afternoon (my evening) show Words with Witty in the @steemitramble Discord. I now have a tidier warehouse plus I'm a few hundred pounds better off for the effort.

Last Friday I finished at a more usual 5.30pm, to be back home ready to enjoy Words with Witty at 7pm, then a few hours break until heading into the @minnowbootcamp discord for the show with @eaglespirit Unfiltered Witnesses where myself and @derangedvisions discussed live on voice about being a Witness and how we contribute to the Steem and the blockchain. I was supposed to be recording it but it went a bit wonky and all I got was video and no audio which really wasn't much help for a voice chat show!

After that just an hours break and then at Midnight in the UK @carrieallen starts the Playhouse show on the SteemStar discord - where your favourite Steemians read various unique scripts out in voice and everyone has a good laugh - especially if it's me reading! Then as that finishes at 1am it's time for @reverendrum to entice me into the @teamgood Discord for some good old fashioned team building exercises. Under the expert leadership of @battleaxe the @teamgood account supports many charitable accounts and also those that need support desperately - it's about giving back to real people. On the lighter side I enjoyed a fun evening (well technically morning) with the company of friendly people including the Witness team @sapphic and @underground (well Undy was working but there in spirit), and new friends @holoz0r who could have a very interesting chat with @techmojo, also @jonyoudyer and @fracasgrimm . And to complete the event @miryam , it's one of those little wonders of the Blockchain that different people from all around the world can come together and just have a relaxing sociable time together. I have alot of respect for everyone in @teamgood , and I am also thankful they are kind to an eccentric old Brit like me ☺️

Saturday wasn't the most productive after managing to be up for getting on 23 hours from 6am Friday to 5am Saturday. I did however upgrade my Witness server to the latest stable version of Steemd v0.20.2 in preparation for tomorrow's Hard Fork. It all went smoothly and we have been processing blocks since then without a hitch, with 19 of the top 20 now running v0.20.2 it's certain we will see the fork and new features activated - while the Steem blockchain has experienced Hard Forks before this is my first.

But where are the posts I hear you cry? My vlog has become a sort of curation jumble of all the amazing posts I have read, but last week I struggled with the whole premature Hard Fork, dealing with my day job (surprising as it may seem I do have a full time job to do - I don't just post on here) and looking after my family - time ran away with me and I couldn't keep up at all. Even worse, I missed quite a few of my #SublimeSunday posters because I left it until Saturday to catch up with them - and the tag reset making it impossible to find them. Always lessons to learn, so for future I will upvote and resteem so I have them locked in my blog and then comment when I have time - that is the what soaks up all my time reading a post carefully and leaving a comment that does it justice.

Communities as I see it are growing on here, while the first I found and joined was @thealliance , and I tried to keep up with the excellent content every member posts, now I keep an eye on the @welcomewagon doing amazing work in finding new talent and growing it (fortunately many of them are in @thealliance), then @helpie which has it's own hand picked set of incredible Steemians. And then @adsactly is a massive community - I'm just one person and I can't get everywhere - I know I miss more incredible posts then I see. With nearly 300 people on my SteemAuto auto vote along with the @thealliance trail if I am not manually curating I am always supporting many different accounts with autovote. It's not the same though, as reading a post and leaving a quality comment. So often I hear from people that all they really want is not so much that monetary reward from an upvote - just a comment some appreciation of their work - someone saying I read what you did and enjoyed it.

And maybe that is what we need, the curation leagues run by @abh12345 and @paulag as part of @steemcommunity directly encourage Steemians to compete at comments - and it is fierce competition as you can tell by the hard work of @janton and @ecoinstant along with so many others. Find the people, the blogs, the content you like and support it with your comments - and they will come back and support you.

I have also this week been touched by how much support has been pushed to the amazing @surpassinggoogle , who has done so much for people on here and founded the entire #ulog concept which is so popular. A large portion of his projects relied on Delgated Steem Power which has been removed, but you can help support him and his work though the posts of @derangedvisions ULOG Call to Action , @underground Helping the Helpers and @mermaidvampire A call to action

I would also like to ask for a little support for someone I happened upon while I was still a small and upcoming account on here more then a year ago (I'm still small and upcoming now to be honest) - my friend @cryptopie is one the most incredible individuals you will meet, despite all his medical difficulties he has been blogging on here for the longest time and never asks or expects anything. I always remember he was getting incredible support from Whales on here, it is one of the things that really made me consider the Steem Blockchain a serious investment. Sometimes as I have said before it is not the value of upvote that helps people, it's the kind human comment that counts - knowing someone cares or will just share time with you. A few more kind comments on his posts would really lift his spirits, and help ease the pain he goes through every single day.



The full vlog video is above to watch, to be honest last week was a tough week - but thanks to the wide range of friends I have made through Steem my mood was lifted - and that ain't working that's the way you do it.

Some of my previous posts you might have missed


Witness Update by @c0ff33a The Day The Blockchain Stood Still

The C0ff33 Vlog 25th August 2018
Sublime Sunday by @c0ff33a ☕️


Last Confirmed Block Number 26,230,741 Last Aslot 26,324,762
Steemd v0.20.2


Kind thanks to @enginewitty for employing his Ninja graphic design skills and producing this 🔥 banner

If you enjoyed my post don’t forget to leave an Upvote, feel free to comment on what you liked or where I can do better even. Follow @c0ff33a for regular and varied posts, photography, my weekly VLOG, posts on coffee roasting and brewing - just follow and see.

To grow your presence and following on Steemit, be active in the community Discords that offer the chance to learn, network, share and be found. The #SteemitRamble discord https://discord.gg/HZYzEry hosts a range of shows where you can join in and get your name shown, every Thursday there are two Pimp My Post Thursdays which are hugely popular and give you an opportunity to get your posts seen.

For fun and entertainment then #SteemStar is the discord to be in, https://discord.gg/ZDANjzy with regular shows during the week it’s the best place to relax, and also network the friends you make could be your future biggest upvoters.

All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone. All my Steemit posted pictures can be freely used by other Steemit users in their own blog posts - all I ask is that you follow me and credit @c0ff33a linking to my post you took it from. You can also follow me on Twitter

You can view my current Witness Statistics using this tool produced by Witness @justyy

The picture to the right kindly sketched by the wonderful @bridget.art , be sure to check her incredible art out https://steemit.com/@bridget.art

The greatest challenge we face on Steemit is getting our posts seen, I have always believed the simplest and best value way of doing this is by commenting on the blog posts of others, the more you engage people and interact with them the greater the chance they will visit your own blog and return the favour. Other then spending all my free time commenting on Steemit posts, I also distribute coffee roasting machines and also espresso coffee machines and roast my own Speciality Coffee Range. being one of the premium coffee suppliers Yorkshire including a wide range of filter coffee sachets

!steemitworldmap 53.766547 lat -1.801500 long Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. d3scr


This awesome animated Banner has been kindly been created by the wonderful @snook

Don’t forget to vote for Witnesses https://steemit.com/~witnesses
And you can vote for the Witness team c0ff33a and @derangedvisions if you like what we are doing for people and communities throughout the Steem blockchain - click below to vote easily
witness.png

Bonus upvotes on anyone who names the song I reference in this post........

Sort:  

Thanks my man for the post. Totally agree with you that with Newbs, who want to see more than a few cents on their Posts , it's imperative that they get out and Comment on other steemians' blogs for visibility purposes.

Cannot stress that enough. Thanks again for sharing this vlog, @c0ff33a

Thank you very much Killer Clown, I'm glad you had free time outside work hours to call in on my post! As the song goes let's get Visible...Visible...no maybe that's a different song I'm thinking of lol

Comments are the best! I get to know so many great people this way. ;)

Money For Nothin - Dire Straights

Posted using Partiko Android

🎵I want my...I want my...I want my MTV🎶

Posted using Partiko Android

You amaze me, for real. Thanks for sharing your big heart, good humour, and kindness here. Keep doin' what you're doin'. Maybe one day we'll get our money for nothin' and, well... ;)

Love you man

You are way too kind, I appreciate everything you are doing to help the smallest growing communities we have by giving an affordable way for people to promote their hard work.

The steemverse can keep you in a time loop when you finally get out 3 days have gone bye and you can't remember when you last ate :P

I did eat my mince and rice which was 3 hours cold exactly after pushing post - that perennial issue do I keep typing the post or eat - the post always wins! Thanks for calling by always appreciated.

You are so busy here, it seemed! One might think it is a full time job without pay of course! Thanks for all you do :-)

MUNNAY for Nuthin
and yo Chix for free... Dire Straits

;-)

wuao friend it seems you have a very strong job and that's exhausting man
happy nights

it is definitely getting harder but you are keeping up with all the things :) which is great

that song always reminds me of GTA San Andreas...... money for nothing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33