ANIMALS ON THE HOMESTEAD - RABBITS

in #video7 years ago

As promised, this is another video series that I am beginning to help build the homesteading community on steemit.


Along with my video series on why we chose to homestead and the one I started yesterday about plants on the homestead, I will also be sharing about the animals that we chose to have on our homestead.

In this series I will feature some animals that we already have, and some that we hope to get, and how each one fits into our goals for our homestead. I'll share some of the benefits, and any potential drawbacks if they come to mind.

ANIMALS ON THE HOMESTEAD VIDEO 1 - RABBITS

A FEW THINGS TO CONSIDER

  • Rabbit manure is a cold manure, which means that it can be applied directly to plants as a fertilizer without burning or harming them.

  • Rabbits can use wild grasses and plants as part of their diet, cutting back on the cost of food.

  • Rabbits produce like rabbits, so you can easily end up with a lot more.
  • Rabbits can be sold, so breeding rabbits can be a good source of income.

  • As a food source, breeding a buck (male rabbit) and two does (female rabbits) can provide the same amount of meat as one entire cow over the course of a year. Not only is that a lot of meat, since you do not have to process it all at once like you do with a cow, you don't need to store it in the freezer for a whole year either.

  • If you do eat them, the pelts can be tanned and sold or used for clothing as well.

  • Baby bunnies are very cute and cuddly, and are a great part of raising rabbits.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-rabbit



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

great example

we can also take advantage of the rabbit urine is very good to be a liquid organic fertilizer with mixed sugar or carbo hydrate, and in aerobic vermentation for seven days. you can also see on our blog how to make liquid organic fertilizer from goat urine and rice laundry water.

@papa-pepper in the Crypto's we have POW = Proof of Work, POS = Proof of Stake........and in the area of 4 legged furry creatures we have POR = Proof of Rabbit........STEEM On my Brother !

Yeah, it is a little running joke that I have, but we think it is funny!

Sorry to post this here, @papa-pepper, but I found another Steemit user reposting videos without asking or citing sources. They took one of mine, and while I was delving, I noticed they took one of yours, too
https://steemit.com/steemit/@goldendoll33/in-your-face-snapping-turtle-little-peppers-on-steemit-field-guide-video

Not sure if they're just ignorant on Steemit or trying to pull a fast one, so I'll let you respond as you see fit.

French people eat rabbits, too. They can be quite tasty if cooked and properly seasoned (red wine is one ingredient). I haven't had any for a long time, but I still vaguely remember the taste.

Many around the world through the ages have. We like ours in a stew, but I hope to smoke some in the future.

Excellent post friend. In venezuela is rare eat a rabbit but with actual crysys the people in the towns are creating rabbits to eat. Personally i have eaten with wine and its delicious,

We have enjoyed a few for meals too.

I remember my sister having a white rabbit with red eyes as a pet. I loved that fluffball. So funny seeing him growing as a pet and knowing rabbits are scared so quickly and he was like the friendliest rabbit of them all. When he got too big we sent him to the countryside ... hmm ... I don't even know what happened to him to be frank ... probably got eaten I guess. I bet he had an amazing taste :)

Wow! Really, you guys just set him free?

Nah, meant I gave him to grandma as she lives in the countryside to take better care of him, but never asked her what happened to the rabbit, maybe for the better :) cuz he prob got chopped and shoved into the oven

my friend is amazing @papa-pepper

Thank you very much!

Rabbits are our meat source since 2009 - and just as you mentioned, there is the great advantage of not having to process and store a huge amount at one time... We are breeding "Deutsche Riesenschecken" (German Gigants?) now, but had Burgunder and Blaue Wiener in the past as well... cheers from Germany

Cheers! I've heard of Flemish Giants, but not German Giants. I'll have to look into those! Thank you.

do it! the Flemish (here called Belgium Giants) are great, too. cheers from our homestead here in Germany :-) the ones on this pic are about 5 months now and will go into the kitchen anytime there is a need or crawe for meat... with all the time-planing this takes :-)

same with me :)
i m now a mom of 4 cuties cats, their mom died last night
i will post about them sooon
"ارحموا من في الارض يرحمكم من في السماء"
"Be merciful with those on Earth and God will be merciful to you
"

This sounds like I need to get another rabbit to breed with our current one!!

Perhaps you should!

What is the best way to tell if your rabbit is a boy or girl?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68008.50
ETH 3261.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66