Another hobby I enjoy.

in #veterans7 years ago

Hello and welcome to my post.
I wanted to share another hobby of mine that I really enjoy. I am kind of new at this but hit has many benefits and the end product is beautiful.
20180214_212111.jpg

Now most of these were found on the Oregon Coast between Tillamook and Yachats Oregon, up and down hwy 101. These are the ones left that I tumbled a couple were my brothers. I have buckets of ones I have not tumbled yet. But here is another look.
20180214_212147.jpg
capedisappointment_2.jpg

The standard three grits for tumbling rocks are.60-90, 150-220, and 500 then the polishing compound then finally the soap . The following diagram shows how much to use.
3498762_orig.png

It is recommended that you tumble ech grit 7 to 10 days each. Making the entire process take anywhere between 35- 50 days " it is up to your preference", when I tumble I do it for about 40 days sometimes longer.
source.gif

Some of them I left the way they were, others I cut and smashed with a hammer to see what was inside.
Check it out.
20180214_213330.jpg
20180214_213316.jpg
20180214_213301.jpg

So I would recommend this for anybody. You get to get out, and you get exercise looking for the ones you want to tumble. Then when they are all done they are beautiful.
Ok one last look..... Ready?
20180214_213738.jpg

Have a great day and thank you for checking out my post.
Untitled_3_2560x1440_15.12Mbps_2018-01-20_17-30-21_0.00.266.jpg

Sort:  

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

Thank you so much sir. Mighty nice of you. Thank you so much @shadow3scalpel and also @chairborne your help is greatly appreciated. "Sweetest Humvee I have seen in a long time" Saluting as the Humvee rolles along to the next.

Nice post brother!! I love to polish my agates and send one out with every new customer. It’s crazy how long they take to polish. My tumbling process is about a month long 4 stages each taking about a week each! 👍🏼🍺🥓

That's very cool you do that. Yes it seems they take for ever but it is well worth the wait. I have so many more to do that I have not gotten around to yet. Lol thanks for checking out my post and commenting.

Dude nice rocks, I would not have patience for that, but here is a sampling of my window rock garden 15186915465091699350210.jpg

Wow those are amazing. Thanks for sharing.

Very nice post. They look great. Keep a Stackin 👍🏻

Thank you so much @mr-vulcan. I appreciate you checking out my post and love the poured silver. I keep showing it off when I can. My dad looked at them for a very long time " he collected coins". Thanks again. I hope you are doing great.

Very nice my man. @stackinag47 usually sends a nice rock with his orders. I got an agate from him

That's really cool. When I get an order from him later down the road I will have to send him a couple lol. Thanks for checking out my post man I really appreciate it.

Nice :)
I'm about 5 hours South of the world's biggest opal mining area.
Which is great, because our other rocks are all pretty boring.

Oh wow that's amazing. Do you ever go look for opal's? That would be great.

No; its not really developed. You're essentially camping. Byo equipment, food etc. Very hard work digging down to the right depth etc.
Some people move up there (Coober Pedy) and never come back.
Gets in your blood, like stacking, I guess.

That would be hard to pull yourself away from if you got hooked like stacking. Lol

Congratulations @apprenticegilign! You have received a personal award!

Steemit Veterans
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @apprenticegilign! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56