THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING VEGAN for VEGAN WEDNESDAY ๐Ÿ‡๐Ÿ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ๐Ÿ‰

in #veganwednesday โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Hello my Dearest Steemians,

Today I would like to share an essay for my favorite contest, the VEGAN WEDNESDAY, initiated by our Sweetheart @heart-to-heart. She is doing a wonderful job educating about healthy and compassionate living everywhere she goes.

I wrote this essay in 2015 for KARA Kebษ›k Animal Rights Association. I was asked to write my perspective on this issue for their website by my dear friend who is an Animal Rights Activist in Montreal. Even though itโ€™s been two years since I wrote it, my perspective did not change, because it is not just my personal view. There is more and more scientific research piling up as we speak proving that this is a fact.

I would also like to clarify, that veganism is not just a diet and to help you fully understand what veganism is, I am adding a definition by Donald Watson.

Veganism as defined by Donald Watson (1910-2005), the man who coined the word vegan in 1944.

"The word "veganism" denotes a philosophy and way of living which seeks to exclude โ€” as far as is possible and practical โ€” all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose; and by extension, promotes the development and use of animal-free alternatives for the benefit of humans, animals and the environment. In dietary terms it denotes the practice of dispensing with all products derived wholly or partly from animals."

THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING VEGAN

There are many reasons why it is important for humanity to adopt a vegan lifestyle. I believe all of these reasons are equally significant, though, some people may favor one over the other. In the beginning, the main reason for me was spiritual and ethical. Lately though, since Iโ€™ve learned about the negative impact of the animal agriculture on the Ecosystem and how damaging animal products are to our health, I see the importance of the vegan lifestyle at all levels. These are spirituality, ethics, environment, and health.

Nevertheless, these four reasons sum up to one major key reason and that is the fact that our actions today will bring consequences in the future, just as our present reality is a result of our actions in the past. I donโ€™t know how you feel about our present-day reality, but I am very sad and outraged knowing how horrible and self-destructive our society and culture is. We are gifted by living on this magnificent planet full of abundance and beauty, but weโ€™re so blinded by materialism and consumerism that weโ€™re destroying her and ourselves in the process. Weโ€™re unaware of the fact that by enslaving innocent beings and the planet weโ€™re enslaving ourselves. Weโ€™re oblivious to the fact that our daily meals are rituals of pain, suffering, war, and disease.

Those of us who are awakened understand that humanity cannot continue living this way any longer and weโ€™re working hard to spread the message and educate as many people as possible before is too late. We understand that veganism is the fertile soil to plant the seeds for a new and better future where all living beings and the planet can thrive in peace and abundance. This is not just some utopian dream as many would think, it is the way weโ€™re meant to live and we have the power to make it a reality.

This is the link to the original essay:
https://fermons-les-abattoirs-mtl.org/alternatives-lenas-voice-the-importance-of-being-vegan/

11-Optimized.jpg

MATCHA SMOOTHIE WITH BERRIES & PISTACHIOS
โ€ข 1 Fully ripe banana
โ€ข 1 Kiwi
โ€ข 1 Mango
โ€ข 1/2 tsp Matcha powder
Blend all in a blender and garnish with berries and pistachios.

PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU JOIN US & SHARE YOUR VEGAN RECIPES, VEGAN PRODUCTS, ESSAYS OR OTHER EXPERIENCES YOU HAVE WITH VEGANISM, EVEN IF YOU ARE NOT A VEGAN. TO FIND OUT MORE DETAILS PLEASE FOLLOW THIS LINK:
https://steemit.com/veganwednesday/@heart-to-heart/winner-winner-no-chicken-dinner-cuz-it-s-vegan-week-7-veganwednesday-contest-week-8-announcement

THANK YOU FOR VISITING AND I LOOK FORWARD TO YOUR ENTRIES ๐Ÿ‡๐Ÿ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‰

https://www.lenasveganliving.com/lenas-vegan-living-blog

Sort: ย 

WOW @lenasveganliving, I know you probably knew I would react this way submitting this but I am SO FILLED WITH LOVE to receive this wonderful message her in my contest. I couldn't agree more! I feel I might end up writing my own essay right here on how much I love your essay haha <3 Seriously though, especially after being at Bali Vegan Festival this past weekend, sitting at meals with some of the most influential vegans in the world, I feel so empowered to share these recipes and open the door for people who don't see this as a possibility. I believe in sharing through love and inspiration and as always, my vegan angel, you are a light <3 I just adore you Lena <3 Thank you for all that you do xo

You are soooooooooooo Sweet my Dearest @heart-to-heart and I am so happy that our hearts are connected on such a deep level. It is extremely empowering and rewarding sharing my thoughts with you and with others, via Vegan Wednesday. Thank you so much for the opportunity to be part of this contest and most importantly for your love and kindness. We are both light workers and we support each other ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒธ

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lenasveganliving from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Well said Lena!! It is our duty to cherish this bountiful planet we are lucky enough to live on. Every choice we make has an impact, no matter how small it may seem. Thank you for being a shining light spreading a positive message!

Thank you so much my Dear for your supprt, it's wonderful to have friends here who understand. We are all working together to make a difference ๐Ÿ‡๐Ÿ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‰

This post received a 4.66% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @lenasveganliving! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Thank you so much @randowhale1

Well said, Lena. As you know, I am a vegetarian, (I am almost there!) but my feelings run towards vegan. I have no doubt that I will get there someday soon. I need to do a better job to take care of Mother Earth. Upvoted and Resteemed

I have no doubt that you will Denise, you are on the right path. Thank you so much for your support and for being one of the kindest people I know ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒธ

XOXO

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

The smoothie looks so good Lena! All I need is to get matcha powder!

Thank you so much Dear Icy, I am glad you like it.............yeah macha is extremely healthy, although it is very pricy too. However it will last you for long time, because you need to use only very little each time ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒธ

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Hello my dear Lena, you are right, when i was reading your post i reminds that my professor in university one day he was talking about the benefits of veganism, that the people which eat just vegetables is more intelligent and more healthier than the other people.
Happy Sunday.

Thank you so much my Dear @creativewoman .............that is very interesting, although I didn't know that. I just know we are more empathetic and we understand how actions of each individual effects the whole ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒธ

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66625.38
ETH 3619.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89