Smoky Miso Tempeh Marinade | Vegan ✌

in #vegan7 years ago

I recently bought a food vacuum sealer to cut down on my food waste and try and be a bit more prepared in the kitchen. So far the best use of this new device (for me, anyway) is marinated things like tofu or tempeh, or even vegetables.

I have made decent tofu marinades in the past and they usually require you to let it bathe overnight, but some people like myself just aren't that patient or organised.

So the appeal of a quick 30-60 marinade by vacuum sealing something was enticing. On the day I got it, I had some tempeh in the fridge and an entire pantry of herbs, spices and condiments. It was time to get to work.

Every vegan always has soy sauce so using a little of that was obvious. Now to find some flavours to balance out that saltiness. Brown sugar, check. Lemon juice, check. I consider this a very basic mix that will balance the whole thing out, but now is where the creative part comes in.

Tempeh is a little meaty, so a hint of liquid smoke will bring that earthiness out and some miso will bring flavour and help thicken the marinade a little bit.

Then you just toss in whatever spices you think will compliment the liquids. For me, garlic and onion powders are no-brainers. There really are no hard and fast rules, so just go with the flow here and do what feels right. Worst case scenario is you will learn something doesn't work and it will be better next time.

miso tofu 500x500.jpg

Ingredients

  • 4 tbs miso
  • 3 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp sriracha
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp sesame oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • 6 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp liquid smoke
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp minced ginger
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder

Steps

  1. Whisk together all of the liquid ingredients and the brown sugar.
  2. Add the spices and combine.
  3. Slice tempeh around 5-10mm thick (in whatever shape you wish) and place in vacuum seal bag with liquid marinade.
  4. Seal it up and place in the fridge for around 1 hours. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 180°C/356°F.
  5. Line oven tray with baking paper and spread out the tempeh slices evenly.
  6. Cook on each side for around 10-15 minutes until it starts to brown.
  7. Service with rice, and sauteed Asian vegetables.


My Latest Articles

Can Diets Tailored To Our Genetics Help With Weight Loss?
#JustOne Orange Provides You With…
Printable Diets: How Soon Will We Have 3D Foods?
Feeding The Gut: Are We Really In Control?
An A-Z guide to vegan staples | Never go hungry with these foods 🥑
Asparagus! The Food of Gods? Kings? Or Wizards? 👑


My Latest Recipes

10 Tasty Vegan Meals | Instagram Deep Dive
Toasted Avocado and Enoki Mushroom Sandwich | My Favourite Vegan Lunch


CONNECT WITH ME ON

Steemit · Instagram · Facebook · Twitter · Snapchat · Discord

UPVOTE | FOLLOW | RESTEEM
Sort:  

Marinating tofu overnight is a new idea to me. My usual recipe is just steaming or searing tofu, and then drizzling some soy sauce over before serving.

Thanks for your inspiration.

The longer the flavours have to soak into that tofu, the better. Some people actually steam their tofu before they marinade it, to allow it to open up take up more marinade. I will have to try it and post about it I think :D

Looking forward to that. Happy cooking and steeming.

Tempeh is so delicious! I was so happy I discovered an Asia store which sells it way cheaper than in regular supermarkets! Thanks for the recipe! I'll definitely try It as well on Tofu! :)

This post has received a 20.99 % upvote from @getboost thanks to: @thedrewtrott.

I have never tried marinating my tofu before.

This looks so yummy! 🔥

You have such an awesome mix of flavours in this recipe, I especially love that you added sriracha 🌶 and liquid smoke.

I need to give this a try! I usually make tofu with my meal prep, I'll try your marinade recipe for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01