VEGAN, SOMEONE HELP!!!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #vegan7 years ago

VEGAN

30 day challenge

20170929_215939.png

My wife has always tried to eat healthy, and has never really been a meat eater. I mean she will eat meat from time to time but in very small amounts. Well over the past couple of weeks she has been trying to make up her mind to go Vegan. Well as of today she is Vegan, now I really do not know much about it.

First grocery store buy

20170929_215453.jpg

Now unlike her I have always been a heavy meat eater and boy I eat cheese on everything. Now I can tell you she is in a lot better health than I am. I mean here was dinner tonight.

20170929_220004.png

Now here is the catch to this post, she wants me to do this with here. I want to understand and do this but I am week. I love meat, but I love her more. Now she has offered to up my weekly budget for the T.G.I.P.S.F. visit to $200.00 if I will do this for one Month. She seems to think that if we do this for 1 month we will see a difference in how we feel, is she right? I don't know.

I Need Help!

I have a few Vegan friends on steemit, guys and gals I need your help, How tough will this be? Whats good and not good? What tastes the best? I could go on and on. What do you eat for Thanksgiving dinner? Cause this is what I look forward to each year.

20170929_220026.png

I mean no disrespect to the Vegan community by these pictures.

I am gonna try it, I mean it has to help my health, and adding another $100 to the T.G.I.P.S.F. is a really good incentive, so help me out I need to know what is best, what not to waste my money on and good receipe. So If anyone could help out that would be awesome. I will try and do a weekly post on this 30 day test, on how it is going.

what type of Vitamin supplement will I need to take?

Please someone tell me what a Vegan Thanksgiving dinner consist off.

Follow me @raybrockman

giphy (11).gif

Don't forget to Upvote

1gxbq4.gif

Sort:  

Good luck on your journey.

I've been trying something a little different. I'm trying Breakfast/Lunch vegan with a protein course at dinner (usually lean white meat like chicken or turkey).

It seems like a compromise that I can handle.

At least your stack will get fatter!

I hope the stack gets fatter and the belly get smaller. Thanks buddy

Not to discourage you Ray, but it won’t be easy. Me and my wife want to do the same thing. We already don’t eat meat a lot. Maybe once a week. With that said, if you really want to get serious about it, you not only need to go vegan but raw. And by raw I mean uncooked foods. Think about it this way. We are the only mammals that cook their food. And when you cook your food it destroys all the good enzymes and vitamins. In other words, Raw food is alive, cooked food is dead. And what you put in your body is what your body is made of. The great thing about eatin raw is you can pretty much eat as much as you like. I know it’s a big change for most people. We’ve kinda gone slow with it. And you might not feel better initially. But over the course of the month you should feel better by the day. You probably should supplement with a good B12 as a Plant based diet you can’t get that vitamin. I think someone else mentioned that. And again as far as supplements go you want to go with whole food supplements and not synthetic. Most everything you buy in a store is going to be synthetic. Just make sure as far as b12 goes get methylcobalamin and NOT cyanocobalamin. Most B12 are the cyanocobalamin variety. And just like the name cyano suggests, it’s made using cyanide. You don’t want to be ingesting that. 😁. If you want some goood websites to go to just hit me up on here or steemchat. I’d be more than happy to help you.

Thanks buddy and I am sure that I will be hitting you up on chat.

Ray, please watch this (you need to supplement your vitamin B12):

Also, be reminded that sitting kills more people than smoking and boozing:

Now that is great news!

Why humans are constantly starting to be less intelligent: This addresses the exact problem of using instruments to assist our thinking.

Video looks cool but i can't speak German.

Hi there lucky.digger,

So i'm sitting in a Starbucks trying to espresso my brain back to life -- it took my body out drinking last night -- and i'm a little confused. I remember reading one of your earlier posts re: millionaire challenge, and though i didn't compute the math on my own, your premises looked good to me, and they still do... insofar as i agree that just continuing to post good content frequently, follow and upvote regularly, and being decent to the folks here is a great strategy to harness this glorious platform. Maybe your time-frame hasn't taken Into account all the weird possibilities that could occur, but in general -- and from a non-analytical opinion -- i'd say "Steem-on MoFo!"

One of these days see me riding 'round town in my Rock n Rolls Royce with the sunroof down...!
~AC⚡️DC

No Bacon? Sounds like madness to me but good luck with that. Some extra loot to spend will help, but brother, we're talking about meat! Like, as in the stuff Cheeseburgers are made out of -- and that's not even focussing on the cheese!!!

It's funny, i actually have some fear adrenalin running through my body right now...

🙀

Haha, thats too funny, it's all about the stack😉

That extra Franklin every week is going to do wonders for your big FAT stack! Lol

I say go for it man! And go for it hard -- like drink tons of water and eat high fibre foods and take milk thistle pills and all that stuff that really cleans you out -- meatball lasagna gets stuck in the cracks! -- And try and get some exercise too.

It sounds like a really cool challenge and it's only for a month. It'll be great fodder for some righteously hilarious posts and you'll probably shed a few pounds of the bad while picking up some ounces of the good.

GO RAY, GO RAY, GO RAY!!!

(...thedamus has a smoke, grabs at the beef jerky, and prepares his next post... roflmfao!... please look for 'the wolves of wall street' ...still laughing...)

👋🤣

I can recommend nutroast, it's very tasty and really a treat. No it's not a turkey, but it's really good.

Good for you guys! Any change can be challenging, but if you try to make sure you incorporate as many whole foods (fruits, veggies, beans, etc...) as possible you should feel a change pretty quickly. One tip I tend to give people is be prepared to eat more! Since most plant-based foods have less caloric density (with the exception of nuts, avocados, coconut), you may need to eat more to meet your calorie needs. You will just have to play around with your meals a bit. I try to get a serving of beans with every meal. There are a lot of great resources out there, though. Try following @lenasveganliving and @heart-to-heart (she does a #veganwednesday challenge you may be interested in reading the entries!). I am sure there are a few more on here I am forgetting, I am still pretty new to Steemit! I try to post a recipe or two each week, as well.

As far as Thanksgiving goes, my favorites are always the sides anyway! My family will still do mashed potatoes (just sub non-dairy milk and vegan cream cheese if you want it creamy), we do a few veggies sides (hold any butter and bacon), and I will generally make some kind of lentil or tempeh loaf so I have a main dish. Good luck to you and your wife on your new journey!

That is awesome, great pic, we buy a lot of those same items, it is awesome what you are both trying to do for your health, congrats. First of all most adults eat way more protein than they really need, so you can get by with much less. Second, it's a good time to increase your consumption of vegetables and fruits because you want to fill your tummy to feel full, and also get that great nutrition of course. Lentils, beans, brown rice, nuts, quinoa... many choices, things like frozen burritos are quick options too. Honestly, I believe more in lifestyle change than diets, so you may not want to go "cold turkey", it could be overwhelming. For instance I don't eat beef or pork, but I do have eggs like every other morning and a turkey sub or a chicken dish 3-4 times a week. Once in a blue moon fish or seafood, or especially when we go to Florida for a week in the winter. That's what works for me. Good luck !

Thanks @clumsysilverdad i am atleast going to try for 30 days and then I think I will make a choice at that time. Thanks for the info.

nut roasts with beans nuts lentils is really good for filling you up. @lenasveganliving always has amazing recipes and she might have some good advice about meat alternatives. also @vegansilverstack , you can do it bud, and i bet you will feel healthy at the end of the month. especially with that extra silver jingling in your pocket :)

Thanks buddy, time will tell.

Funnily enough I'm actually going vegan for a month as of tomorrow. I've stocked up on fruits to snack on and I'm guessing its just a case of being aware of what you eat. I guess, I'm thoroughly unprepared...

Good luck anyway!

Good luck to you as well, let me know how it goes for you.

Looking forward to see how this pans out for you. I mean a 1 month challenge, you should be able to do it. Why not give it a go considering the (silver) benefits? I'm in the skeptical boat though, I think our bodies need meat once in a while for proper nutrition, but who really knows right? At least give it a try and make her happy. Good luck and give us progress reports please.

Thanks brother, gonna need that luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55693.62
ETH 2494.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31