HOLIDAY EGGPLANT ๐Ÿ†๐Ÿ๐Ÿ†

in #vegan โ€ข 5 years ago (edited)

Hello my Dearest Foodies,

Lets the Holiday Feast begin with this delicious entree of a five course meal that I have ready for you. Soup is on the way and so is a delicious side dish. I am just not sure about dessert. I will definitely come up with something yummy before Christmas, but I am not sure if I can do it within one week, which is the Thanksgiving in United States. Nevertheless, I can always share one of my older desserts, next time I post the other two recipes.

1.JPG

HOLIDAY EGGPLANT
Stuffed Eggplant served with Mushroom Gravy
Vegan โ€“ Gluten Free
Author: Lenaโ€™s Vegan Living

INGREDIENTS FOR 4
โ€ข Long brown basmati/wild rice mix or rice of your choice 1 cup (follow the cooking instructions on the package)
โ€ข Eggplant 2
โ€ข Mushrooms 2 cups sliced
โ€ข Shallot onion 2 medium size (minced)
โ€ข Garlic 4 cloves (minced)
โ€ข Baby Arugula 1 cup
โ€ข Walnuts ยผ cup (crushed)
โ€ข Pumpkin seeds ยผ cup
โ€ข Sundried tomatoes 1/2 cup (diced)
โ€ข Cumin 1tsp
โ€ข Red paprika 2 tsp
โ€ข Marjoram 1 tsp
โ€ข Rosemary 1tsp
โ€ข Tamari 2tsp
โ€ข Black pepper to taste
โ€ข Garlic powder to taste
โ€ข Himalayan pink salt to taste
โ€ข Oil
โ€ข Baking sheet
โ€ข Parchment paper
โ€ข Brush

PROCESS
โ€ข Preheat the oven to 400F.
โ€ข Wash and cut in half your eggplants.
โ€ข Scoop carefully the flesh while preserving the shells. Dice the flesh of eggplant to make sure all the chunks are approximately the same size.
โ€ข Brush the shells lightly with oil, add salt and garlic powder and roast for 20 to 30min.
โ€ข When ready, set the oven to broil for 5 more minutes.
โ€ข In the meantime, sautรฉ the mushrooms with salt and pepper and set aside.
โ€ข On heated oil, sautรฉ the onion for few seconds, add garlic sautรฉ few more minutes and add the eggplant flesh.
โ€ข Stir thoroughly while adding Tamari and all the spices and herbs.
โ€ข When ready, mix all in with cooked rice including the mushrooms, walnuts, sundried tomatoes and arugula.
โ€ข Fill your eggplant shells and serve with mushroom gravy.

2.jpg

MUSHROOM GRAVY
โ€ข Dried mushrooms 2 cups
โ€ข Tamari 1tbs
โ€ข Shallot onion 1 medium size
โ€ข Garlic cloves 2
โ€ข Garlic powder to taste
โ€ข Rosemary 1tsp
โ€ข Black pepper to taste
โ€ข Himalayan pink salt to taste
โ€ข Oil

PROCESS
โ€ข Rinse the mushrooms thoroughly and soak for 2 hour in 2 cups of water.
โ€ข When ready, bring the water into the boil, turn down the heat to low and simmer for one hour. You may add rosemary, pinch of salt and pepper.
โ€ข In the meantime, sautรฉ the onion for few seconds, add the garlic and sautรฉ until translucent. Take off the heat.
โ€ข When ready, blend everything in a blender until smooth. You may add little bit more water to adjust the thickness.

3.jpg

I am also adding my famous GURU SALAD that I highly recommend to make with this meal. I've been making this simple, yet delicious salad for many years and it is very popular among my family and friends whether I make it at home or bring it to parties.

001.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VISITING & BON APPETIT
FOR RECIPES PLEASE VISIT MY Lena's Vegan Living Blog
Lenas-Vegan-Living-V2.gif

DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

Sort: ย 

Congratulations @lenasveganliving! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4750 replies. Your next target is to reach 5000 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thank you ๐Ÿ˜Š

Tath looks so good dear!

Thank you so much Sweetie ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒธ

Very delicious recipes @lenasveganliving and the beautiful way your present them make them even more delectable. I love all those ingredients. (U & R )

Thank you so much Dear Trudee, you are very kind. I am happy you like it ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‡

I certainly do Lena. xox

Miam-miam...another wonderful idea of delightful meal I have to try...!
Thank you much my dear Lady Lena and 05jck64xxs.png

I am happy you like it Luigi, thank you so much ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒธ

Oh wow, Lena, you just gave me an idea to make eggplants for the Holidays. I love eggplants..

I am glad to hear that Icy and I hope you try it. Thank you so much ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒธ

That looks so good! And the gravy sounds delicious. I am a big fan of gravy and sauces! I bought a couple pomegranates this week and have been adding them to my salads. They do add a festive touch.

Thank you so much Dear Melinda. Yes they do and I am doing the same thing. They are in season now so the price is reasonable too; I love their sweet and sour taste and crunchy texture ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‡

Yum! Holidays at your house must be amazing! That guru salad looks fantastic as well. Canโ€™t wait to see the soup, side dish and dessert ๐Ÿ˜‹

Since the boys are born, we go to my daughter's place, but I bring half of the food with me, lol. Thank you so much my Dear Puravidaville, I am glad you like it ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒธ

That sounds like a super Mom if I know Super Moms ๐Ÿ˜‰

Awwwwwww, thank you my Dear Puravidaville, but there is a method in my madness, that's all, lol. Only because I prefer cooking at home.

It does seem so much easier to cook in our own kitchens. We are already quite acquainted with the environment so we can tone everything to a tee. I get it :)

This looks absolutely tasty and so much veggie power in there! The kale salad is just the perfect bonus on top, one of my favorite green veggies. โ˜บ๏ธ

Thank you so much Dear Anais I am happy you like it...........it is one of my favorites too.

howdy this fine Saturday Miss Lena! wow this looks like another amazing and healthy entree! And by the looks of the ingredients if has to be very flavorful as well. I mean sauteed mushrooms, unions and garlic as well as all the other spices and this thing is sounding good!

I think this is another masterful dish, now if I can just get ambitious enough to prepare it!

Howdy Janton, I really appreciate you stopping by and everything! I am very happy you like it, although, you sound like this may be too complicated for you to make, lol. Well, I can assure you that it is not as difficult as it seems. Actually far from it. There is nothing you have not done before, really. Just think about it.

my kind of food!
nomnomnomnom :D

I am happy you like it Ivy, thank you so much for stooping by ๐Ÿ˜Š

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27