STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 01 Round 06 - ๐Ÿ˜ˆ - Purple Tyrolian Mountain Soup - โ›ฐ - ๐Ÿฒ The dish of my Life ๐Ÿœ -

in #vegan โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Post updated: I made a version of this soup 3 times during my stay in tyrol, one purple cabbage can go so far! This version I used tomatoes in the base of the soup and squeezed some lemon juice at the end. It is not like the traditional soup I was going for in my original post but I thought I should add it in because of this distinct colour which came out much stronger than the other versions, this is due to to the acidity of the tomatoes.

pinksoup.jpg

STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 01 Round 06
๐Ÿ˜ˆ - Purple Tyrolian Mountain Soup - โ›ฐ
๐Ÿฒ -The dish of my Life- ๐Ÿœ

This weeks #steemit-ironchef Act 01 Round 06 food challenge run by @progressivechef is to use a local fruit or vegetable. Normally I live in Catalonia where there is a wider variety of fruit and vegetables at this time of year but this week I made a trip to see my 92 year old grandma in the Austrian Tyrolian Alps.

tyrol.jpg

It's pretty cold here and the flu has been circling around. I was starting to feel sick and my family were offering me bone broth soup. As a convert vegan I didn't want anything to do with but as a child, I loved the taste of home cooked Austrian broth soup. Semolina dumpling soup / pancake soup / meat soup / all salty, warming and hearty all the things you need in cold weather. As a vegan I do eat a lot of soups anyway but for this task I wanted replicate that flavor of grandmas Tyrol mountain style soup but a cruelty free version. Using the purple cabbage normally gives soup this rich deep color like a bone broth does. The key to making it taste truly authentic is salt and chives! Here chives are used on most things, potatoes, salad and always soups!

So for me the dish of my life is simple, rustic, an everyday necessity with healing properties, that brings back those warm comforting memories from childhood.

bergsoup.png

So I took a trip to the local shops, there are only 2 options for buying food here, a small Spar supermarket and a larger Mpreis. I'm not a big fan of supermarket shopping, I prefer supporting smaller business but these are the only options and both are quite good for keeping local produce as well as some organic stuff.

The mountains are covered in thick blankets of snow and I wouldn't imagine that much would be available but surprisingly there was one of my favorite vegetables that I eat raw daily in Spain, the purple cabbage or Blaukraut in German. This vegetable is my life, so I had to use it for making the dish of my life. I also choose some other produce that was grown in Austria to go with it and ideally organic.

cokingbergsoup.jpg

My ingredients were...

gemuse.jpg

-Purple Cabbage (Tyrol)
-Carrots (Austrian / organic)
-Broccoli (Austrian / organic)
-Leek (Tyrol)
-Chestnut mushrooms (Tyrol / organic)
-Onion (Austria)
-Chinese cabbage (Austria)

Other ingredients not from Austria...

-Garlic
-Ginger
-Oregano
-Garam Masala spice
-Himalaya Salt
-Chives (normally chives are readily available in Austria but not this time of year)
-Left over water from cooking beans to make base of broth

chives2.jpg

As you can see I've gone for slight oriental twist, with the Chinese cabbage, curry seasoning and ginger. Actually the first batch I made didn't have these in it and it still tasted good. But I had to make the soup again because I realized I forgot to take a picture with a note to validate my recipe. Instead of doing exactly the same soup again I thought i'd make this one a bit more exotic. Both worked well but the oriental style has even more flavor and healing properties.

bauenbrot.png

Finally the most important part is to add fresh Chives to the dish and serve with rustic farm house bread. So there it is, Rustic Tyrolian Mountain Soup and it definitely did the trick, I don't feel sick anymore and instead I have the warm and fuzzy feeling inside!

steemitironchef.jpg

Please check out my other post with photos of my warming cacao, coconut and hazelnut porridge with more beautiful pictures of the Austrian Alps....

chocoporridgebanner.jpg

So why is the purple cabbage so good?

One of the main reasons why red cabbage is such a popular vegetable addition to meals is the wealth of phytochemicals, antioxidants, nutrients, vitamins, and minerals. Some of these essential components include thiamin, riboflavin, folate, calcium, manganese, magnesium, iron, and potassium, as well as vitamin C, vitamin A, vitamin E, vitamin K, dietary fiber, and the B vitamins. Its organic compounds are almost too many to list, but its antioxidants like anthocyanins and indoles are extremely valuable for human health.

redcabbageinfo.jpg

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

Banner.jpg

๐Ÿฅ‘ ๐ŸŽ๐Ÿฅ ๐Ÿ‰ ๐Ÿ‡ ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿˆ๐Ÿ‹๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ๐ŸŠ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ

For more health and diet tips, check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet ๐ŸŒฑ can change your life and change the world
โœŒ๏ธJoin the food revlution nowโœŠ

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

Sort: ย 

now that looks good! I love how you call it, "dish of my life" ^_-
I love soup, I also make one with all just veggies. I don't have all the ingredients here but I'll use what I have for now, I have some sweet potatoes and some other veggies, I should make some soup tomorrow. Thank you for sharing this with us!

XOXO

Thanks @purepinay. lol thanks, I think @progressive-chef came up with the phrase for the competition and when I saw it tbh I was a bit scared we have to make a fancy dish but it's a personal perspective how you view what the dish of your life is, like I said for me it's something that can sustain you everyday, heal you and give you wonderful memories. I love sweet potatoes, sounds like a delicious soup your gonna make! Thanks again purepinay xxx

That soup looks wonderful, especially with that fresh bread!

Wow that soup looks beautiful =). That color! I think that if you eat soup it's almost mandatory to have a piece of bread to dip in it :) Beautiful contribution <3

This is very beautiful! I love red cabbage but never thought of using it in a soup yet though I use white cabbage a lot for. The combination of the colors is pretty cool!

It looks totally delicious, I liked it a lot.

information; yes; feed me; nurture me; give me food and let me grow roots deep into mycelium network of information;

lovely dish ... soups are wonderful in the cold times of the year

looks delicioussss!

yummy, thats a real flu fighter right there. Good stuff @celestialcow keep it up.

Hello my friend! First of all thanks so much for entering Steemit iron chef with such a wonderful dish! By reading the post, it is obvious that this is really the dish of your life! Thanks so much for all the story narrated on this post!
I love purple cabbage too and use it a lot in quite a lot of recipe, but to get them locally is nearly impossible in my country!
All the products you've used in this dish is simply amazing!
Great entry!

Thank you for taking the time on my post progressive Chef. Was really a pleasure to make this dish! I guess its always good to source as locally as possible so they are as fresh as possible, the fresher the tastier!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60073.81
ETH 2420.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45