⛄ Warming breakfast in the ❄ Snowy Mountains 🌨 sharing photos from the Austrian Tyrol ⛰

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Nothing better than waking up to a choco porridge breakfast surrounded by heavenly white snow, it warms up the body so much, you don't feel the fresh icy chill. Actually the the valley is quite sheltered here and you don't feel the wind as much, unlike where I live on the coast of Catalonia.

It was getting pretty cold in Spain and living in an apartment without central heating was just getting too much spending the day in 3 jumpers and a coat. I decided that I should visit an even colder place where they have wood fire ovens and proper heating :)

porridge.jpg

Lucky for me half my family are from the Tyrolian alps in Austria, it feel's like the end of the earth to get to sometimes. Especially when there's no direct flights available to the nearest airport. I flew to Munich in Germany and went on a 3 hour train journey to arrive at the closest station for the Pitztal valley. Stepping off the train into thick blanket of fresh snow, I was wearing my trainers and was trying to drag my pink rolling case, must of been a funny sight for the people on the train watching me. The days have been misty and dream like, parts of the mountains coming into the view and disappearing again.

arrival.jpg

Unlike the neighboring valley Otztal with famous ski resorts and connected to Italy, Pitztal valley just ends at a glacier, so it has a more remote feeling, based around farming and just rural villages rather than tourism. The Village where my very elderly grandma lives is about 900m above sea level with 2000 inhabitants, its a small place where people greet each other as they walk past. Two food shops, a ski/hiking shop and a butchers, a few hotels, a swimming pool, a kindergarden and high school, a play park, church and music area. There used to be a cafe, massage parlour and a beauty/chemist type shop but all closed down. It's not exactly a good place for business but there are some tourists who pass through.

mist rising.jpg

I just wanted to share with you some of my snaps because even though I have visited this place at least once or twice a year, I'm still always amazed by the dramatic landscape. Every time I see it, it is always changing and being elevated in the clouds is always like a kind of spiritual experience for me, I think the place puts me into a trance like state, as it is quiet and only the sound of birds and the cow's mooing or the cow bells chiming in the fields can be heard. All around from every aspect you can see trees and nature, I think these properties are very healing for the soul.

4tyrol.jpg

I am blessed to have experienced quite different cultures when growing up, living inner city London and then coming here most summers was great for a child. As a moody teenager I complained how boring it was here and how far behind and how narrow minded everything seems, I felt like an outsider wearing my trendy clothes. Thankfully we all grow out of those awkward years and as an adult I can see things from a place of gratitude. Communication with my grandparents has been difficult at times, as they speak a very old thick local dialect and as I was not brought up bi-lingual, and struggled due to my dyslexia, still I managed to absorbed a lot and I could always understand more than I would speak. Finally at the age of 14 I was able to learn German in school which allowed me to get a better grasp of the language, although completely different to the local slang!

porridge2.jpg

This place is known as a kuhdorf (cow village) and everyday life revolves around animals and eating animal based products. A typical breakfast is white bread, ham and cheese, with a glass of milk and a boiled egg and in the summer some garden berries with a heap of sugar on top and salted tomatoes. When I was young I used to quite enjoy it because it was something different to having coco pops everyday, and the strange processed harm was quite addictive. My grandma would fuss over me and I'd have a delicious hot chocolate with the local creamy milk. All this stuff wasn't great as I got older, the fat from these processed meats and cheese really made me quite big around my waste, legs and bum. Clearly it wasn't that healthy apart from the fresh foods, without additives. Now I don't need to be fussed over and I can mange my own vegan breakfast, despite the fact my grandma has no idea what veganism is and can just about grasp vegetarianism. It's been a few years now since I changed my diet and she is slowly getting used to it but occasionally she pipes up to tell me meat is healthy and still offers me eggs and milk.

mistypanarama.png

I'll be writing a post soon about the local animal agriculture here and a cultural critical perspective on the relationships humans have with farm animals in rural areas like these. I find this place quite interesting as a vegan because I almost see it being one of the last places that would stop producing milk and slaughtering animals. There are very few vegetarians in the village, I can count them on one hand and there are no vegan's apart from myself. Here veganism is associated with extremism and has not made it into the local vocabulary yet, it will be interesting to see what happens as more and more young people don't want to do farm work as a job, but still there are social family pressures and small mindedness that force younger generations to keep family traditions going.

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

Banner.jpg

🥑 🍎🥝 🍉 🍇 🍐🍓🍈🍋🍑 🍍🍊🍌🍏

For more health and diet tips, check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet 🌱 can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revlution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

I think it's so much fun to get a glimse of people life and see where they came from.
Chocolate porridge is my favourite and I just love to top it with what ever I feel like for the day.
The view is stunning :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 19:42:39
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 49.90/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

loved the view

Wow, what a view! I often hear arguments about people in extreme climates and veganism. Is there any non animal agriculture in the area?

This is the topic I want to discuss a bit in a future post, how pressure from modernization has reduced down the agriculture activities to just milk production. It was a lot more varied when my grandma was a young woman, there wasn't really shops then So of course there was a time when they were producing all sorts but also used animal products because the winters are very hash but this was all done sustainability. Now Tirol Milch dominate the market of milk production and that's it. Vegetables are grown on bigger farms on wider vallys in Tirol because its easier for mass production and keeping costs down.

I will be keeping an eye out for that post for sure. I hear loads of different arguments against Veganism all the time, so I am always looking to see if any of them hold weight. Like animal waste being used as fertilizer. I know of several fully plant based organic farms that only use crop rotation and mulched plant waste fertilizer. So that is a non runner. People also say that we would have to fly our veg in from all over the world, again in some cases yes, we would, after all we already do. BabyCorn from Africa, tomatoes from turkey etc. so I don't see a difference there. We can grow quinoa in Ireland ffs so I cant see how it is impossible for most if not all of the world to adopt a more sustainable lifestyle.

I think the use of animal excretion depends on which plants you're intending to grow. Crop rotation is not always the key. Besides, as far as I know some plants take too much minerals from the soil that a year or so of rest and pasturing can do a good job.
However, it's futile to tell people who are doing the work how they have to do it. ;) People's views on sustainability may vary. Speaking for myself: I value the old culture a lot.

Cool, so is there an alternative to animal excretion? Would decomposed plant material work in these scenarios?

When I say crop rotation I do also mean to say having a rest period on the soil too. That would be typical in a crop rotation scenario. Crops like Hemp and quinoa help to regenerate the soil too. Now I am by no means a botanist but there must be ways to re vitalize the soil for a higher yeild the following year?

How come should your region have avoided the trend for food mass production which came up with the establishment of supermarkets? :)
Little cottages are still dying - not because there's no people asking for the products but because the people running the cottages hardly find successors.

its good to respect the old culture but it barely exists anymore, maybe there a few farmers still doing it. the old ways were every cottage would have some animals that would sustain the family but that doesn't exist anymore. even small farms use modern methods that are detrimental to environment. TO be a human being is too live in a reality that constantly changes. u cant cling on to the past, the world is not the same but u can still respect it and learn from it

Und Du vermißt bei diesem kalten Wetter keine heiße Honigmilch? Ich nämlich schon. :)

ich bin vegan, ich esse nicht oder trinke Produkte von tiere. Ich kann Nussmilch und Agaven dicksaft tricken. das ist sehr schmackhaft und tierversuchsfrei. Ich habe kein Problem mit dem kalten Wetter. Ich ziehe warme Kleidung an und mein Omas Haus ist sehr warm.

Wie würdest du dich fühlen, wenn du 24/7 schwanger wärst, damit dich jemand jeden Tag melken kann? Ich würde viel Schmerz empfinden, ebenso Kühe. Sie sind auch mit Antibiotika injiziert und Kuhmilch ist nicht für Menschen gemacht, es enthält Mist und verursacht Krebs.
Bienen müssen härter arbeiten, um Honig zu produzieren. Es stört die Biene so sehr, wenn wir es nehmen, sie versuchen uns zu stechen und sie sterben, wenn sie stechen. Wir brauchen Bienen, um zu überleben, ohne sie haben wir kein Essen. Honig kommt von der Biene Erbrochenes. Ich möchte nicht Erbrochenes essen!

Ich weiß doch, daß Du jetzt vegan lebst.
Und tut mir leid, aber für die Argumente, die Du bringst, bin ich taub. Für mich nutzt der Mensch beide Tiere schon zu lange. Ich sage damit nicht, daß ich mit der derzeitigen Überproduktion von Lebensmitteln zufrieden bin. Aber grundsätzlich bin ich nicht bereit, seit Jahrtausenden bestehende Ernährungskultur aufzugeben. ;)

you are talking like human beings are stagnant creatures but this is far from the truth, we have to adapt and evolve, the world is not the same as a hundred years ago

gotpusbitch?.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.89
ETH 2421.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44