❤❤ Love and TruckLife: Part 2 - 🚚 Bedford TK Horse Lorry ❤❤

in #vanlife6 years ago (edited)

A Dieselnomad Post: 1975 Bedford TK Horse Lorry

There aren't a lot of photos of our TK in existence. Digital cameras were only just getting popular and the SD cards didn't fit a lot of photos. Having a personal laptop to upload them onto was also not really a luxury, and without a lot of power in the lorry (we ran off solar mostly) we didn't even really run a laptop, so it would be dependent on getting to a library to put the card in the slot. So if you ran out of room on the card (you'd be lucky to fit 50 photos on one!) you'd delete the ones you thought you didn't need, not knowing that one day you might really, really wish you had them. I think this photo is the best one I've got that shows how we lived. I love the fact the sun's out and the back door is open to air it out, and there's my boy and our old dog and Jamie playing guitar on the tailgate. My son slept in the Luton and we slept on a raised bed at the back, which you can just see behind the red door. You can see the washing on the makeshift line, which I'd just washed by hand, using water from the stream. In this photo we were parked up on 1500 acres in Dorset, and were pretty lucky to do so. It was really out of the way, down a long track, and the only people that could ever see us was trout fisherman, as it was private land with no public thoroughfare. It was a really idyllic life for a few months, until we moved up to Somerset.

We'd spent two winters out of a vehicle at this stage, working on our new relationship and living in Dorset. We were pretty keen to move to Australia at this point because we knew we'd never fulfil our dream of owning land in England as it would just be impossible. Funnily enough, traveller friends of ours only just got their building permit after ten years living on their own land in Devon, and they'd really done the hard slog to get there, good on them. But Australia seemed a better option for us, considering I was Australian. But we were really broke, and our plan was only fledgeling anyway, so we were really thinking about getting a truck and moving back onto a site (where there would be a lot of people like us, essentially squatting unused land). Anyway, every day we'd walk past a house with a horse lorry and drool, thinking of how nice she'd be to live in. And one day, like a dream come true, there it was - the for sale sign in her windscreen. The woman couldn't believe that she sold her that fast.

spent a couple of months cleaning her up. The previous owner had been living in her, but the back where the horses traditionally were kept was full of bird shit as she kept birds in there, using it as a shed for her horse gear, dogs and other animals. We pulled out the rubber matting to reveal the original floorboards, which we kept. We moved our beautiful old red leather sofa in and the white bookshelf that we used to have in the library lorry. I was particularly attached to that bookshelf as it's one of the reasons I fell in love with Jamie, as he had this awesome collection of books from Dostoevsky to Zola, the Koran to Buddhist Cosmology, Home Mechanics to British Wildflowers. It's a shame you can't see what it looked like when we were in it, but we only really thought to take photos after we'd cleaned her out to sell. I'm going to see if I have more floating around.


As you can see, our renovations were quite basic, but gosh we were proud of them. It was mostly a matter of scavenged furniture and I remember getting our mattress of the skip and making the bed out of skip wood too. The wallpaper was underneath this plastic cladding stuff and we thought it was cute so we left it. You can see the holes we cut out so the air from the woodburner would circulate up into the luton from the back 'lounge' area and through the holes we also cut in the floor. I remember we did have a fridge and a gas cooker but no oven, and a small table and chairs in the kitchen area. I loved the detail on the ply cupboards we made and the swirly handles as I've always been a fan of spirals.

It was awesome being in the green lorry - I don't think I've ever been so happy, except this is untrue and is just a turn of phrase to say how lovely life was. I've always been really happy living in small spaces - everything you need is right there. We did worry at one point that Jarrah would turn out to be a hunchback from living up in the Luton, crouched over playing Lego. His only privacy was a curtain, and one of the funniest moments was getting angry with me and 'swishing' the curtain shut. Now this obviously doesn't have the same effect as a slammed door, and to his credit, a few seconds later I hear giggles from behind the angrily swished curtain - bless him and his sense of humour.

When we moved back to Australia, we desperately missed this life. From the advantage of distance, we missed badgers snuffing in the pine forests behind us, the snow falling gently on the roof, coming home to site to see all the vehicles puff puffing in the cold air, the gathering of tribe around an oil drum fire, the cooking of Sunday roasts where everyone would cook one thing in their oven and all of us would gather in one truck to eat it, someone always around to help fix something, to chat to, to laugh with. It was rewarding just simply surviving, a pureness of simplicity that could really make your day by simply finding out that there was an endless supply of pine offcuts from a stair making company in the village, or an oak tree had fallen in the wind and the boys had been directing cars around it all day in high vis and had brought enough wood to last a good week and hard oak at that.
Or that someone had done a water run and you didn't have to, or that you were out with your shovel digging a pit for a shit and came across a giant puffball mushroom. And whilst it doesn't sound romantic having to heat water in a stock pot on the fire for a bath, it kinda is - having a hot bath is a luxury in a truck and I loved every minute of it. If you were strapped for cash or needed a ride or advice or a shoulder to cry on there was always someone around. Privacy was merely a shut door and people would mostly respect that. Of all the benefits to tiny homes and communal life, this is it – it’s a real opportunity to get back to being connected to other people. Yes, this is hard. It’s hard to put up with people’s foibles and sometimes downright asshole habits. But it beats being isolated and lonely, as we felt for a long time when we moved to Australia.

Yet there was thing that also weren't ideal, and I guess it's important to remember those too lest I get caught up in any bullshit nostalgia. Glossy #vanlife images lie about some of the harder things about living in vehicles and I think living the way we did at this time was also particularly challenging. We were lucky to live with a good set of crew but I tell you what, being awake all night listening to crew play the same fucking disco CD all night can be a bit tiring. One morning I ended up in hospital as I thought I was having an heart attack, because one guy was on the piss and he was ranting and raving as he often did when he overdid the special brew, swearing she'd had an affair, and he keeps coming in to our truck every hour to talk to us. We have no choice but to do so to calm him down, as for some reason he sees us as decent folk that he wouldn't attack with expletives and thought we understand his dilemma. Anyway, long story short, he steals our wood splitting ax and takes it to his truck, literally smashing the whole thing to pieces - all that hard work gone in one drunken rage. All that anxiety culminated in me getting hospitalised with a panic attack - something the doctors didn't even diagnose, instead calling it indigestion - yeah right - dude, I had an axe wielding man keeping me up all night and at some level, I kinda thought he might come for me, so hence the feeling of having a heart attack. Interestingly, that was the first time I realised anxiety was even a thing, and years later this would culminate in a nervous breakdown, but that's another story.


()

Some Other Shitty Things we Were Glad to Leave Behind Us

  • checking our skin for ticks as deer were about (our son was six at the time, and won’t easily forget the time we had to get the tweezers out on his private parts)
  • the spade run – hi ho, hi ho, with a spade in all sorts of weather to dig a pit for our toilet
  • carting water in containers to cook and wash with, and lack of hot water. I remember once it was so fucking cold the gas froze and no one could boil a kettle, from memory no one's burners were on as we were all tatting down to move
  • not having a washing machine, especially in winter when it's muddy
  • sponge baths get a bit tedious and you long for a hot shower. Mind you, washing was always an adventure. Summer was brilliant, as you could jump in the stream. Winter was a tin bath by the fire or a trip to the local swimming pool (they had a sauna, so it was quite an outing).
  • trying to be a professional getting to work without mud on you when you live in the woods. It involves some clever tucking of trousers into socks, big welly boots, a spare pair of work shoes already in the car and some very careful maneuvering to get the boots off and the work shoes on.
  • weather – if it was raining all day every day, it gets tough being stuck inside, however romantic.
  • Kids! We only had one, but the older he was getting, the harder we knew it would be. This would come into play a few years later in Australia, as he entered Year 7 – he was very brave but you knew he wanted his own space and he didn’t WANT to be different – the kid who lived in a caravan coz his folks lived in a bus.
  • the threat of eviction and the politics of dealing with councils, landowners and the like - it's one thing being nomad, it's another thing trying to earn a buck and send your kid to school. Sure, we could have gone off travelling but with what money? And remember, we were trying to save enough to leave the country
  • Dealing with site politics - people's moods and dramas
  • Look there were times most of the above were okay, you know? You got used to the water run, the loo run, going wooding to keep you warm, being resourceful. That's just life. I loved most of that, and in many ways I long for those days again, and it's part of the reason I love travelling so much - living by your wits, surviving with what you have, getting back to basics. But sometimes you're just sick or really tired and the realizing you've run out of water and have got to walk across a frozen muddy field to get in the car to drive to a church or something to fill up your water container isn't a picnic.

    Yet I'll always have wonderful memories of this green lorry. Who am I kidding? It was all totally romantic.

    truck-and-clandown-site-025 (1).jpg

    vintage-divider-vectors_G12yP4uu.png

    We have had quite a few vehicle live in conversion projects - still yet to post about our army ACCO, a Bedford bus, and a VW transporter, so please feel free to follow or encourage me to post more by commenting or upvoting or even re-steeming. Sometimes I feel as if I'm writing into a void - sometimes, you guys are awesome in your interactions and I adore hearing about your projects and dreams too.

    If you'd like to read about Buttercup, our landrover, and the vehicle where we fell in love with both each other and doing up small spaces to live in, please check out the following posts.

    Bedford Truck: Library Lorry https://steemit.com/vanlife/@riverflows/love-and-trucklife
    1973 Series 3 Landrover https://steemit.com/landrover/@riverflows/dolphins-early-surf-and-eggy-bread-in-the-landie

    vintage-divider-vectors_G12yP4uu.png

    Have the bestest of days or evenings, wherever you are in the world.

    20180330_111349.jpg

    Have the best of days!

    Sort:  

    World of Photography Beta V1.0
    >Learn more here<

    You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

    Daily Stats
    Daily photos: 1/2
    Daily comments: 0/5
    Multiplier: 1.04
    Server time: 08:09:23
    Account Level: 0
    Total XP: 45.95/100.00
    Total Photos: 9
    Total comments: 0
    Total contest wins: 0
    When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

    Follow: @photocontests
    Join the Discord channel: click!
    Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
    Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
    Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
    Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

    Thank you for the view into your past life that you offered me! It has everything in it, good and bad. You seem to be very courageous person. I don't know if I could live like you did. Certainly not fo a whole life.

    So sometimes, when you live your 9to5 job, this special feeling comes arround that makes you questioning everything you do and did. But after reading your blog it's gone. :-)

    I have the privilege to live in a house with everything you need for a comfortable life AND I have kind of a caravan-car I can use for a couple of days in nature if I want to.

    Go on writing, also tell us from your Landy!

    Thanks for the story again and have a great life!

    I guess I've done some courageous things, without thinking they were courageous. It's only in retrospect that you realise these things sometimes. It just felt like it was what I had to do at the time and I was never really good at sticking to things that people SAID I should do. Like when I travelled Europe from Australia backpacking alone with a 4 year old.

    Ha - I'm glad I could help - yeah sometimes these lifestyles can look idyllic but it's still hard work. But what's the balance? 9 to 5 can suck. But you've got it sorted out by going away on weekends and getting that sense of freedom out in nature. We do the same thing really these days - we also live in a house! But there's lots of adventures to come.

    There's a bit of writing on the landrover here https://steemit.com/landrover/@riverflows/dolphins-early-surf-and-eggy-bread-in-the-landie if you are interested, but we are also going to the 70th anniversary of landrover in Australia over the Easter Weekend, so if you're following me you might see an update on that too - if you are into off-road vehicles, you might be the perfect target audience - I can tell you my husband is more excited about it than I am haha.

    Would love to read about your off road adventures!

    Thanks for dropping by and commenting, and have a wonderful week! x

    Thanks for coming back to me! Well, there is a big difference between traveling a couple of months and living in a horse-lorry for a non-defined period of time, I think. Once you decide to leave warm baths and real toilets behind you (grin) for a dream, it's kind of a one-way ticket (at least for a while). This is what I call courageous.
    It's not the same as a journey that one day finishes and you are back again with your more or less lovely neighbors. (At least ours do not freak out at night in one hand a bottle of diy-brewd and in the other one an ax…)
    I left home when I was twenty. Australia was the land of my dreams. First it was pure travel, later it became hard living. As soon as your savings run out, life catches up on you. I remember days without a job, no friends and a daily ration of one piece of toast spread with peanut butter… (I still cannot stand that vegemite stuff 😉)
    I left Australia completely broke and sick (Malaria from my Indonesian experience) one year later and I was happy I could go back to my parent's home that I left in a kind of escape. As you see, Australia turned not out to be what I have expected.
    Anyway, what remained, was the urge to travel some more but this time not as an immigrant but as a tourist. First as a lonely backpacker and much later as an off-roader with it's family.

    Gosh, what a nightmare. Sometimes the country in which we have a bad experience taints what we think about it. I remember I forever associate Ireland with 9/11 as I was on the ferry to Dublin as the towers came down! I remember travelling around Australia but with VEGEMITE haha and lentils to make dahl as it was cheap. Oh, and toasted cheese sandwiches at hostels. My travel food is a lot more posh these days - this weekend I've pre-prepped spicy pumpkin soup and we'll enjoy a tomato based casserole with olives and polenta too. Malaria sounds awful - do you have re-occuring episodes??

    It's true though, we did leap into the unknown. My husband left for Australia to LIVE THERE and he hadn't even visited before!!! He's now going for citizenship so he clearly likes it. As we get older and maybe have a big more cash it's easier to travel - you can afford a decent meal, stay in a nice place every now and then. I can't say I miss life like that these days, but I dont much focus on those memories, only the good ones. I still think sleeping in a truck, bus or car is far better than a tent!! Mind you, this weekend we're off in the roof top tent - I am hoping there are no winds!!!

    Have a lovely week.

    Thanks for sharing about your lorry and your life experience in it.

    No worries. I hope you enjoyed it - thanks for stopping by! It took me a while to do - might need a break before I post about the bus, now!

    What a great reading, just before I go to bed!

    I don't even know what to comment other than telling you that I love reading your stories.
    There's so much happiness, especially in that first picture. Simple life, a guitar, your son playing, the dog.
    Now I have your Land Rover post (my dream car) on a new tab, waiting for me tomorrow.

    Thank you for sharing your stories.

    Aw thanks man!! Glad to oblige!!! I do like a bit of happiness in my life... ! :):) Thanks so much for reading, and your enthusiasm! xx

    Aw and it was my husband's dream too! I made a silly mistake of saying 'okay,you can get one' after tooo many wines one night. Then he wouldn't stop holding up his phone in my face saying 'what about this one, can I get this one?' and 'can I go look at this one' until, after six months, I finally say okay, okay, let's go and look (that's because I liked the colour haha) - now, this weekend, we are going to the anniversary of Landrover in Australia - 70 years - WHAT DID I DO!! WHAT DID I DO!!!! - I'm sure it will be fun, if only if it's watching Jamie turn into a 12 year old excited boy. Like he did when this rainbow came out as he was packing up the landie yesterday. May your dreams tonight be full of landrovers. And rainbows, if you like. And birds and blissballs.

    Amazing! I'll go to the end of a rainbow to check it there's a land rover like yours hahahaha
    They are expensive here in Brazil, average price 18-20 US dollars.

    What?????? Landrovers are 20 dollars???? Are you missing some zeros? We bought this for $5000 AU and he prob spend $2000 doing it up..

    Oooops 18-20k USD for Lands up to year 2005, after that it's the new eletronic model, but those are incredibly more expensive. Series 3 are quite rare here.

    OMG, 5k?? I could buy almost 5 Lands in Australia for the price of one here.

    Dont forget this is a 1973 one!!! So its old. You can definately get one under 10 grand. We need to write a list of reasons to visit Australia.

    1. Landrovers
    2. Blissballs
    3. Wedgetail eagles posing for photos
    4. Rainbows and landrovers
    5. Take 3 rubbish off beach

    ❤❤❤❤

    Oh god, gotta put that list on my all !!
    Convince your husband to add to the list "Let Arthur drive the Land Rover" xDD

    Great story, and glad you have the memories.

    Oh hey @dawg-boy, thanks for dropping by and reading! Appreciated. There's quite a few memories but I was definately running of energy with this one, as I was wrapping my head around html too which is new-wish territory for me!

    Well you did a great job! Stories from the heart have a way of coming out. My kids always fought for personal space, even to the point that the oldest got a caravan in the back yard.

    Ah true.. we ended up getting a caravan for him.. more on that when I post about the bus.

    Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
    Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
    Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

    ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

    Wonderful post ..thanks for sharing...Best of luck friend ✫
    this is the best bot for steembottracker clik here https://steemit.com/bots/@hassanbenali/the-best-bot-for-service-how-to-create-steem-bot-tracker

    Transfer 0.200 SBD or 0.250 steem to @mrbean1 and put the link of your post in the public memo you get 5 good UPVOT and resteem by @mrbean1 +followers

    Thanks but I cant afford it. Did you actually read the post in the two seconds since it was resteemed? Giggle. 😁

    Sounds like you manifested the lady to sell you that truck. The truck heard your calling and wanted you to transform it into your home.😊
    Such a great story, most of the unromantic stuff I still Do, like the shovel and going out wooding so i still very much relate to this.
    Theirs not many of us left on the road, btw I'm resteeming this to my page full of lovely people 😊 wishing you a great day

    Thanks so much! Totally ... we were walking past every day dreaming.. the universe totally wanted her to be ours. We sold her to a couple in Devon and then it ended up with another guy who I co-incidentally met online and saw our truck. So I got in touch and he send me some photos. He had a fire in the kitchen so had to renovate and look what he found as he did!

    14026683_278281782542766_1280977978_n.jpg

    K 💗's J . We used to paint all sorts of messages under DIY.. thinking they would be a nice mystery.for people in the future. He was thrilled to find out about her past owners. The truck is now in Ireland! I think he is loving and looking after her.

    Thanks heaps for the resteem!!!! Have a BEAUTIFUL Easter weekend.❤❤❤

    This post has received a 2.54 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @happysmileyman.

    💗💗💗💗💗

    Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
    Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
    Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

    ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.30
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.034
    BTC 63900.40
    ETH 3140.82
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 3.98