Time Well Wasted : Buying my dream van from Oobahly Kanoope

in #van5 years ago (edited)

@offgridlife's recent post took me back in memory to Holland, in the late fall of 1974; and to possibly my best deal of that century.

It was a 1966 Volkswagen Bus which cost me $300 CAD.

002.jpg

(Mine was maroon and white)

She was found in a junk yard near the Three Country Border near Vaalserberg in southern Holland.

The Junk Yard's owner was a guy who's phonetically sounding name was Oobahly Kanoope.

During our dickering on a price he asked me what my plans were for the van. My reply was that my plan was to move fellow travellers between Barcelona and Algeciras, where they would be coming and going by ferry to and from Morocco.

He asked when my departure would be. "Right away!", was my reply. That seemed enough to seal the deal for him and we shook hands to finalize the sale.

As it turned out my half Dutch friend got an offer for the two of us to work construction. We would cross into Belgium, each day, for work. As it was outside of country we did not need work permits from Holland. As we were working for a Dutch company, Belgium could care less who we were. The only one who would have cared was Oobahly Kanoope, for breaking my pledge to leave for Spain immediately.

It was our first Friday night after starting work and we thought we'd celebrate by buying a few grams of hash. About a block away from my Dutch friend's dealer a police car appeared in the rearview mirror. We kept driving right past the dealer's house, yet they kept on our tail.

Two blocks later their blue lights started flashing and they pulled us over.

At this point in the tale it is required to go into the very dry subject of the bureaucracy of vehicle registration in Holland at that time. It was a three part registration. There were the ownership papers, of course, as well as the plates, front and back like in most countries in that era. Both would be required for any international travel with the van.

The third part of the registration was a sticker on the top-middle of the front windshield. This could be thrown away once outside of Holland, as it should have been, for the officer who stopped us found it to be for an Opal, not a Volkswagen.

After following the officer back to his station, a police mechanic found out that instead of buying one Volkswagen, my purchase had been for two half Volkswagens. That is, one from the front bumper to just behind the front axel and another from there to the rear bumper.

Needless to say they wanted to keep the van as evidence. Needless to say they had my agreement provided they would let me go. We shook hands and my second best deal of the century was complete.

001.jpg

(Mine was totally maroon)

It took another three months or so yet eventually my dream came to fufillment, though it was in a much later model (and much more expensive) Volkswagen van. She treated us well and moved many a Hippie, at prices cheaper than a railway ticket, along Spain's Costa del Sol, but she would never have the love that had been felt for my Split Window; may she rest in piece(s).

Chapter 2

Sort:  

I laughed out loud at the ending. :-) Great story brah.

Thanks @shepz1! It makes me chuckle now yet it had me close to tears to see her go at the time.

I bet it did, though we have a name for them cars, cut and shut, two in 1.
That went on a lot back in the day, very unsafe to drive, though a very easy way to sell on something that had been badly damaged in a accident. :-)

Good point it may have been a blessing in disguise when you consider the Costa del Sol's winding seascape overhanging roadway. 🖒

True that bro.

What a bargain, you thought you were buying one van but actually got two different ones! I suppose the Police could not blame you for that anyway, although it's not ideal they got to keep the van you paid for.

Nice to know you got your dream ride in the end though, and I imagine there are a few more stories to follow on that one's journey.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

I imagine there are a few more stories to follow on that one's journey.

Oh yeah, that was a very story rich winter. Feel there may be a series in the works. 😎

Buenas tardes mi amiga @novacadian deseándole que se encuentre bien . Lindos recuerdos que nos da la vida que nos llenan mucho de satisfacción al recordarlos mi amiga. esos modelos de autos los e visto en Brasil exactamente en el estado de amazonas ( Manaus) . Que tenga un feliz domingo.

Fue genial tener un vehículo tan antiguo, incluso por solo unas pocas semanas. 😎

Awesome. I’m glad I was able to somehow ispire you and rekindle such a wonderful memory. Definitely do a series of these and also share on https://Smoke.io

...and also share on https://Smoke.io

Great idea, as at least hash is mentioned. 😎

That's a crazy story I'm really excited with my van and the adventures that me and dog are having

Sounds great, @ganjafarmer! Will be following your journey with interest. ✌

Great story! It's got a few layers to it, and could also have been told another way, I imagine. Your writing style is easy to follow and lends itself to posts like this! Got my morning upvote (a whole two cents at the moment lol)

Thanks for the feedback, @drutter. Those 2 cents do add up! 😎

That's an awesome story bro. I got me a van im doin up to travel in. Put a small fold out sink and all sortd of things in it. It's a merceedies though. Nothing flash like yours. My old tool truck we retired together to stay together and do other things together. 😂. I spent some years traveling the coast here working as a floor sander. Was full of tools back then nowhere to sleep. Now the tools are out and im in. Really enjoyed your story.

Glad you enjoyed the tale. Thinking of making a series of it following along with that winter in Spain. My old Split Window was maroon and white. That pic is from a recent sale on eBay. It was hard finding a picture of a bus as opposed to a camper of that vintage.

A Mercedes sounds like a nice ride. Probably a lot more room too. 🖒

Definitely a lot more room. Also large rear doors that open both sides as well as the back. I put a sink /gas stove fold out one side and a fridge freezer slides out the other side. I'm Waiting for some spare time to organise the solar pannel for the roof and all the wiring is all I have left to go. Everything else is built just need to do that before I start putting it all back together. Have a running post on it in fb. I can tag u for a look.

I can tag u for a look

Sounds like a real home on wheels!

Would love to see it, yet this is the last week of my 4 week #deletefacebook process. Logging in would cancel that process. Guess they are hoping for such a temptation.

Hopefully we will see some pics of your travels on this platform in the near future.

It's not worth goin on FAKEBOOK for.
Stay away from that shit hole. DON'T DO IT !
I don't want to be any part of that.
It is basically a little home on wheels for me. I don't have anything else. Only what I need to survive. I like it better that way, it's a simple life. I have pics when I get time I'll put them up here for you to see. I don't know how to tag in comments yet. Do it the old fashioned way, that method I'll come tell you. It still works. I put it on hold for the time being I needed money so I got a job for now. Last few months I been saving for the stuff I need money for, the rest has all been done. Donated by CORPERATIONS. 😂😂 I did pretty good on that scheme and since have been buying stuff like generator shade sides. I will dig out the pics, I had a lot of fun with people organising everything so far. Plenty people helped out on my zero $$ budget. Even drove it into a scaffolding company to get the boss there to paint my roof. I spent very little on it so far.

Will look forward to seeing your Home On Wheels photos.

Hi @novacadian!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.753 which ranks you at #4831 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 232 contributions, your post is ranked at #74.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

hermosos carros y muy bueno su trabajo,feliz domingo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95