Sanofi's Dengvaxia: is it helpful or deadly in dengue fever prevention?

in #vaccination6 years ago (edited)

As the first approved dengue vaccine in the world by Sanofi, is it really helpful to the population it wants to save from this disease? How trustworthy is it to humanity, let alone to the vulnerable population?

A controversy in the Philippines

Arriving this December in the country, and learning that an investigation had been launched into the immunization of about 730, 000 children with this dengue vaccine 3 days ago, I can't help but say my piece, as a health professional, and with my experience of having a vaccine as a disease prevention.

I haven't had dengue nor malaria, but I have had FLU, which in my case, I MUST NOT HAVE ONE, to prevent spreading to my vulnerable patients where I work. It would have been easier to not go to work, but hey, working in the health sector means to not be sick at all. Cost is very definitive in most working conditions.

Flu vaccine

We don't have flu vaccines in the Philippines, but abroad, it is wide-spread and very much accessible. As I keep saying, it's a MUST for the staff in the health sector, for one reason to another.

Till before this vaccine was ever injected to my body, having a flu is common. Usually, it takes 3-5 days before I recover from it, having the usual 2-3 days body pains, making me bed-ridden, as it's painful to move with the body aches.

But for a few years now, signing a waiver at work when refusing the flu vaccine had been the norm. Why not? There are adverse effects for some that are very serious, or even causes DEATH, who is accountable for that? It's my body, my life.

Personally, it will just be statistics and will go nowhere.

Anyway, I still get the flu, every now and then. But without the flu vaccine. The first and last time I've had the flu was few years back causing me to be bedridden for about 7 days. And still off-sick from work for a few days longer. 

What's the point of having it?So, do we need vaccines? Can be so deadly and might be too late for some.

Would anyone rather have the common flu than have the serious adverse effects, no matter how low is its' occurence? For sure, this common flu have been ongoing for years and years.

I don't want to go in the history of vaccines as it seemed gross the last time I've read it. If I remember correctly, it was due to small pox. Please do a bit of research yourselves.

Dengvaxia vaccine

As the 1st vaccine to be licensed in the world for the prevention of dengue, the World Health Organization endorsed the said vaccine and countries where it was promoted consisted of Mexico, Brazil, El Salvador and the Philippines. How these other countries are faring about their vaccination programs, I have no idea. The Philippines was the 1st country in Asia to have it licensed in 2016.

With what is happening in the Philippines right now, 730 thousand affected is way too much. Or was it stopped before it reached this number? The program was stopped only last Friday, how many was injected?

Sanofi Pasteur came out with a warning 3 days ago about precautions in its' usage wherein, this vaccine MUST only be given to those population who have had dengue before. Was this followed before its' implementation in the Philippines? Was a proper screening done to prevent inappropriate administration and prevent tragic results?

COFEPRIS

The Federal Commision for the Protection against Sanitary Risks approved Dengvaxia for the prevention of dengue caused by all 4 virus serotypes in pre-adolescents, adolescents and adults, 9 to 45 years of age living in the endemic areas.

9-45 years old target population

So, this means a wider target population compared to what the present program from the government was doing for children that was put on hold. It could have been more!

Suffice to say, there have been no deaths reported yet from dengvaxia, but will we wait for that to happen? I mean, dengue hemorrhagic fever, if untreated immediately can cause cardiovascular collapse from low platelets causing shock and death.

Here in the Philippines, the result of this investigation will warrant the involvement of the FDA, how trustworthy is the Food and Drug Administration agency?


http://news.trust.org/item/20171205092444-z36bv

www.sanofipasteur.com

https://m.scidev.net/asia-pacific/disease/news/philippines-licenses-dengue-vaccine-but-usage-on-hold.html


Sort:  

Ma'am Immarojas, I would like to correct lang po. Flu vaccines are available in the Philippines. I would like to further elaborate. There are 2 types of flu vaccines. The southern and northern hemisphere vaccines. Each type contains the predicted strains in each region for the season. Since it is predicted, no one is 100% protected. Statistics play a big role in the decision on which strain of Flu is to be included.

Why do we need statistics and prediction? The flu virus mutates at an alarming speed through antigenic shift and antigenic drift. That's why last years flu vaccine won't be effective fo the year 2018. Anyways, to cut it short. Flu vaccines are very much available here in the Ph.

My personal experience with the flu shot: I got 1 flu shot so far, just to test the effectiveness (I am in healthcare and am always exposed to diseases), as far as I can remember, I didn't get sick with flu for a couple years. (Note: Flu vaccine claims to be only effective for 1 year)

I have a lot more to say on this topic. Maybe I could write a separate article on it so we won't get off track? Thank you and please share your thoughts with me. Feel free to correct any mistakes in my reply.

Obviously, reactions to a flu vaccine differs. My experience was entirely different to urs.
It would be interesting to see your future posts, sige lang.

We cannot even say, but some of those who died of dengue from past year may have been vaccinated with Dengvaxia. The family may just be clueless about the vaccine which turned out that only those who are already diagnosed with Dengue before can avail of it, other otherwise severe case of Dengue if someone who's vaccinated never had Dengue before. The issue tells there is corruption in this vaccine which was rushed right before the election. But what is worrying are those kids who got injected.

Sanofi only came out with the warning like end of Nov/early Dec this year.
So if there were dengue deaths last year..then this country needs proofs to go after Sanofi.
Plus the other countries licensed to use it.

The government failed miserably here. There were a lot of children who has already received this vaccine thinking that it would save them from the deadly dengue and it's only last week when they have announced about its side effects. How horrible! Who should be accounted for this? 😫 I have never received flu vaccine yet and i dont think i need one although I tend to be sick too often but i did receive vaccines for chicken pox and such when i was a kid.

Sanofi Pasteur only mentioned of the precaution recently regarding the exclusion of those who have not had dengue before.
Now..if this was known before and all recipients of the vaccines were properly screened, then there shouldn't be any problem.

hayyy. i'm worried about the kids who havent had dengue before yet received this vaccine.

Early recognition and treatment is what we can do from now with them. Lalo na that bleeding can happen.
It's been stopped but the worry is..we wait for the FDA recommendation.i dont trust the FDA.

I believe vaccines are generally good and beneficial not only for individuals but also for the entire population as a whole. But the case of dengvaxia here in Philippines reeks of corruption and procurement anomalies. Literally, it makes people seek.

Sorry, i dont believe in vaccines..not anymore. A lot of medical professionals are also preventing their kids now from having vaccinations.
Big pharma earns from these vaccines, not just dengvaxia.
This is also not new in all over the world.

I wouldn't let anyone give me any prick of it at all
I don't believe in vaccines
tell the damn vaccine makers - inject thyself and kindly inject a lot
nag iinit ulo ko ate
hahahah mtaas p s trangkaso
gsing k p

I still believe in vaccines. The science of vaccines works. Now, the greed of human running big pharma making those vaccines is another story.

Upon reading about a lot of vaccine related injuries, I am just but thankful my kids did not suffer the same. Had my eyes been opened a lot earlier, I would not let my kids be vaccinated. And yeah, I read about the history and it's gross.

Super gross..imagine being injected that yuck!!

Vaccines was been used as a front line in corruption here in ph!

A big controversy using vaccines just for money yet this vaccines could harm and caused already death of children,

Not just here..but everywhere. It's not new.

Prevention is better than cure and I believe more in making our body stronger through foods and overall lifestyle than getting those vaccinations. The reactions vary in each person but some vaccines are obviously more harm than good.

For dengue...mosquito proliferation occurs in stagnant waters. Prevention will be from this area as the virus targets the antibodies and the vascular endo cells destroying the platelets, causing shock and bleeding.

I don't trust the vaccines, the vaccine makers, or the FDA... All are corrupt.

😄😇😄

@creatr

They all are..and our kids the guinea pigs. Well, i was too as a child till when an adult. These things aren't known in the early days as you know.

Yes, I know. It has taken me most of my life to reach my conclusions about government, but I am thoroughly convinced that human government is the beast that God describes in the book of Revelation. Evil to the core.

Most are..if we let it. More and more are waking up.

P.S.

To keep your immunity strong, you should take regular doses of colloidal silver. Are you familiar with it? I make machines to make it.

Be well! :D

Colloidal silver no..you have mentioned it before though. I have not sat on it yet to learn more. Have u posted what it can do?
The world is ready i think for alternative meds.

Silver is a really powerful antimicrobial. Yes, I did an article six months ago:

>>>You Need This In Your Medicine Cabinet<<<

It's probably time for me to do another article! If you read that one, please be sure to follow the links to the other websites and learn more about it. If you have any questions, please ask, I'd be happy to help. I promote it largely as a ministry to save lives and health, and I don't want anyone to be without it simply because they can't afford one so I make loaner units available.

Might as well write to remind us😋😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61673.68
ETH 2904.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63