You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sanofi's Dengvaxia: is it helpful or deadly in dengue fever prevention?

in #vaccination6 years ago

Ma'am Immarojas, I would like to correct lang po. Flu vaccines are available in the Philippines. I would like to further elaborate. There are 2 types of flu vaccines. The southern and northern hemisphere vaccines. Each type contains the predicted strains in each region for the season. Since it is predicted, no one is 100% protected. Statistics play a big role in the decision on which strain of Flu is to be included.

Why do we need statistics and prediction? The flu virus mutates at an alarming speed through antigenic shift and antigenic drift. That's why last years flu vaccine won't be effective fo the year 2018. Anyways, to cut it short. Flu vaccines are very much available here in the Ph.

My personal experience with the flu shot: I got 1 flu shot so far, just to test the effectiveness (I am in healthcare and am always exposed to diseases), as far as I can remember, I didn't get sick with flu for a couple years. (Note: Flu vaccine claims to be only effective for 1 year)

I have a lot more to say on this topic. Maybe I could write a separate article on it so we won't get off track? Thank you and please share your thoughts with me. Feel free to correct any mistakes in my reply.

Sort:  

Obviously, reactions to a flu vaccine differs. My experience was entirely different to urs.
It would be interesting to see your future posts, sige lang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68515.51
ETH 3777.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65