Is esteemapp the best steem android client? or there are others better than it? (Part 2)

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Repository

https://github.com/esteemapp/esteem

Introduction

This is a sequel to my previous post on this series "Is esteemapp the best steem android client? or there are others better than it."

The aim of the blog post was to find out if the esteemapp is better than the newly developed apps (Partiko and 1ramp). These apps also perform the same functions as the esteemapp.

In the previous post, I talked about and gave my review the distinct features of esteemapp.In this post, I'll be reviewing only partiko's distinct features and comparing it with that of esteemapp.

Post Body


source

Partiko has been prominent in recent times. I have heard a lot of people talk about the app and some have encouraged me to use it. I have also found time to read several articles about the app. The project has gathered enough hype to mount a competition with esteemapp. It was shocking to find out that the app was officially launched seven (7) months ago. The app has gained a lot of traction although it is not as old as esteemapp. The developer of partiko in a blog post gave reasons why users would prefer to use partiko over other steem clients. The reasons are quite solid but, is it enough to choose Partiko over esteemapp? We will find out in this post.

Without further ado, let's review Partiko app.

Features of Partiko.

Like I did with the esteemapp, I'll break down the features of Partiko into two (2) parts.

  • User Interface
  • Functionalities

1. User Interface(UI)

PicsArt_11-15-08.30.39.png

The User interface (UI) of partiko is one of it's most interesting features. User Interface as you may have known by now is something that thrills me. The material design which was developed by Google in 2014 is now widely used by a lot of developers. The design is awesome.

Partiko's user interface is designed with google's material design language. This means that the app's UI should be smooth, and clean. This is true, but I didn't find it fascinating. Aside from the icon shapes and transition, the app looks really dull and empty in my opinion. I like the concept of sticking with white and blue colors which are somewhat steem's colors but, it's not cool. Maybe I'm asking for too much but it'll be great to see colors on steem android clients. The blue and white color accents of steem can be maintained too.

The user interface of esteemapp, in my opinion, is more fascinating than partiko. Night mode on esteemapp makes it even better. Night mode is not yet implemented on partiko which is disappointing. Aside from making the app look interesting, night mode has its importance. The only positive thing about Partiko's UI for me is the adaptation of system font. Esteemapp doesn't use system font which is not cool. The font on esteemapp is not bad though but, I'll prefer if it used my system font.

If I had to make a choice based on UI, I'll prefer to use the esteemapp.


2. Functionalities.

The distinct functionalities of partiko are not much. There are only about 4 distinct features partiko offers. The rest is basically what every other steem android client has or even less.

Chats


source

This is the best feature about partiko for me. I have often wondered why this feature isn't available on steemit. Steemit is called a social community, which it is partly. But, most social media enable private chats with other members of the community. But this is lacking on steemit.
The availability of this function on Partiko makes the app really important. This feature is great but it needs several improvements. The probability of my followers or following using partiko is slim. This means to enable a private conversation, the receiver must use partiko. But how do I know if some of my followers or following use the app without having to search for them and text them first?. To make this feature more efficient, it should be sorted or split. It should display individuals on my follower's list that use partiko. That's if there are any. Furthermore, it should sort, them according to availability. That is if, they are online or offline. Giving information about the last time the participant was online would be a great thing too.

The chats feature is something I'll love to see on every steem android client. It's really cool Thumbs up to the developers of Partiko for thinking about this.

Resteem


source

The resteem feature has its importance that can not be overemphasized. Partiko is the only app amongst the three (3) I'm reviewing that allow users resteem articles. I don't resteem a lot of articles but, I ideally want to know that I can when I want to. The unavailability of the resteem button on esteemapp is weird. The app has been around for a reasonable amount of time. 1ramp is still being developed so I can understand why the feature is not available. For a feature as basic as resteem not to be available on esteemapp is not cool. Partiko once again shines with this feature.

Partiko points.


source

This feature is the sell out feature of partiko. The idea is to tip authors and also users who perform certain activities with the app. I like the fact that the project owners think of it's end-users enough to incentivize them. The points are only used to redeem upvotes from partiko. There should be more use cases for these points though. Esteem doesn't use the points system but they also tip users of the app. This means partiko points is not so much of a big deal if it's only for tipping end users. I hope to see more use cases for partiko points in the future.


These are the only distinct features of Partiko I could come up with. Partiko lacks severely in terms of functionalities. Partiko has only three (3) unique features while esteemapp has over 10 unique features. The difference in quality is clear. There is also a huge difference even in similar features.

Here's a table showing the distinct features of Partiko and Esteemapp

EsteemappPartiko
no material designmaterial design
securitynil
bookmarksnil
schedulenil
favouritesnil
exchangenil
currencynil
draftsnil
nilresteem button
nilpartiko points
nilchats

From the above table, there's no denying that Esteemapp has a higher value than partiko. The features of esteemapp are a lot. But, I think the most important feature for me is security. For now, security is not an issue for Partiko because it uses steemconnect. Furthermore, users can't conduct transactions with the app.

Summary.

In this post, I've been able to review Partiko app and compare it with the esteemapp. The features of Partiko are cool. But I only fell in love with the chats feature. It is the most attracting feature for me. The functionality still needs work though. The developers of Partiko have got a lot of work to do on the app. Maybe, if Partiko was open source, these features would have been implemented with collaborative development.
Conclusively, after reviewing Partiko, I don't find it features enticing enough to choose it over esteemapp.


Thanks for reading!

In my next post on this series, I'll be reviewing 1ramp's distinct features. After reviewing its features, I'll compare it with Esteemapp and Partiko to see it'll be a better option. Furthermore, I'll discuss a little about their similarities and afterward, state the app I prefer to use.

It is good to point out that Partiko is not open source and I think that has a huge impact on the unavailability of many features on it.

Disclaimer: This contents of this post are my personal reviews based on my experience with the projects. This post is not in anyway sponsored to defame any of these projects. The reviews are my opinions and my opinions alone. You are liable for whatever course of action you take with regards to this post.

Resources

https://steemit.com/partiko/@partiko/announcing-partiko-a-beautiful-steem-android-client

The images used in this content are appropriately sourced.

Series Backlinks

Is esteemapp the best steem android client? or there are others better than it?

Sort:  

Hello @harry-heightz, thank you for the app review and comparison. The post writing style and structure is not bad at all, and I'll encourage you to keep that up. Well done!

On the content side, this was a mixed bag for me. one of the product you have reviewed is not open source. While it is completely fine to compare an open source project with a closed source project, the review itself is more focused on the closed source project, and that's something I would like you to reconsider especially when the review is a Utopian contribution. The disclaimer you have added to your post was a good approach. As you have already noticed, some of the frequent users of the app got a little bit upset with the review as they find it subjective. This is usually the case when reviewing two or more products. It is highly recommended not to defame the other product intentionally or unintentionally. Utopian discourages this, and that is why we have it in place on our guideline.

  • Contribution content and submission posts to Utopian must not include any kind of derogatory or offensive speech directed at persons, groups, beliefs or political views.
  • Contribution content, submission posts to Utopian and comments must not contain false information about another user that may be perceived as defamatory.

Please note: This comment is not in anyway bent to support any user opposing the content of your review.

You have been a consistent writer on Utopian blog section and I will encourage you to keep sharing your contents via Utopian. Thank you.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @knowledges! Keep up the good work!

Loading...

Not sure if you actually reviewed Partiko @harry-heightz. The screenshots you used are from very old version.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll try to use more recent pictures. Btw my reviews are not based on the screenshots but how I feel about the app.

I disagree with your attitude. If you want to review something, use the latest screenshot.

Posted using Partiko Android

If you want to compare the look, putting the latest screenshot of both apps side by side might be a better idea.

Posted using Partiko Android

Fine. I'll take your idea. It still doesn't mean I'll prefer the UI of partiko to that of esteemapp. This is my opinion. I think everyone is entitled to theirs.

Side by side comparison. \n\n

Posted using Partiko Android

As far as I know, Partiko has the best and the only working notification system on the phone, which you didn't mention.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea. Maybe you are correct. But if you read my review, you'll know I'm talking only about distinct features of partiko. Notifications is found on Esteemapp and 1ramp too.
The point is to find out which app offers more services. Esteemapp does that IMHO.
I forgot to put a disclaimer. This review isn't in anyway sponsored by anyone. I'm just sharing my thoughts based on my experience with both apps.

Thanks.

Got it. Partiko has favourite by the way. In case you missed it.

Posted using Partiko Android

On Partiko, the favourites function is for an article. On esteem it is for the author.

Might be worth it to clarify that as well. I use the chat feature as author favorite in Partiko.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't quite understand your last statement.

Congratulations @harry-heightz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi, @harry-heightz!

You just got a 4.86% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Well, good interactions. But attacking the writer about his opinion isn't right. He didn't force his opinion on you, did he? Why force yours on him.
Please let's be civilized, good review Harry.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 106 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @harry-heightz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @harry-heightz!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48