Is esteemapp the best steem android client? or there are others better than it.

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Repository

https://github.com/esteemapp/esteem

Introduction

This year has seen the emergence of a lot of dApps on the steem blockchain. Most of them are either to provide services or reward contributors to the project. But, the intent of some is to access the steem blockchain or the steemit frontend as I prefer to call it. I don't know if I'm correct though.
There are a lot of them these days it's so hard to keep up. Some examples of those dApps are, busy, partiko, 1ramp, esteemapp etc.
The esteemapp and busy are the oldest dApps for as long as I can remember. The esteemapp was recommended to me even while I was still creating a steem account. The person who introduced me told me it was cooler and quite faster to use the software to work on steemit. She was very correct.
Enough of my steemit biography, and down to business. In this blog post, I'll be reviewing the distinct features of esteemapp, partiko and 1ramp.

aaa.jpg

After reviewing the features of these apps, I'll compare their distinct features.

To make things a bit clearer, this is what I'll be doing in this series.

  • Personal review of all features of esteemapp that doesn't exist on either partiko or 1ramp.
  • Personal review of all features of partiko that doesn't exist on esteemapp or 1ramp
  • Personal review of all features of 1ramp that doesn't exist on esteemapp or esteemapp
  • Compare their distinct features and rate their values.
  • Declare the software I prefer to use.

I hope you enjoy reading!

Post Body


source

The esteemapp has been around for a long time, in fact almost as old as steemit itself. The software made it easier for newbies to understand and use the steemit platform. It is almost one year since I knew about esteemapp. Yet, it has stayed relevant even with the influx of several apps that are direct competitors to it.
The major reason why esteemapp is still in vogue even in the midst of other competitors is its feature.
The features of esteemapp are quite a lot. I don't use all though but it's still a good thing to know that those features exist.

Without further ado, let's review the features of " The esteemapp".

Features of esteemapp.

To discuss the features of esteemapp, I'll break it into parts. Which are the UI and functionalities.

1. User interface (UI).

This is the first feature I'll like to talk about. This is because I'm someone who's critical about how software or things, in general, look like.

The features of esteemapp are great but the user interface is not one of them. The interface of the software isn't so cool. It looks basic. A lot of apps are adopting this sort of materialistic design which looks cool and smart. It's a surprise how overtime esteemapp has received several updates but, none affects the UI. When compared to the other apps, esteemapp falls short in the parameters of UI. There are positive things about esteemapp in the UI department though. That is the availability of night mode. Nightmode changes everything for me. With night mode turned on, I don't care too much about how the user interface (UI) looks like. The esteemapp UI for me is much cooler on night mode than not. Furthermore, there is something else related to UI that is quite sleek and that is the left sliding menu.

2. Functionalities


source

The esteemapp design allows users to do a lot of things. Some of them I find very useful to me while some I don't even use at all. I'll start with the ones I find very useful to me.

Security.


source

Security is one of the major concerns in this modern days. The effects of a slip in security are devastating. The etseemapp app reduces the security risks of users with the pin code lock system. This means that no one can access the app unless he or she has the code. I find the efficiency of this feature top-notch. The lock function becomes active even when the app is only minimized and not even exited. Furthermore, it doesn't have the option to recover a lost password. I've not seen security as efficient as that. But, the security measures needs an upgrade. The pin code allows only 4 digits input which is not so good because it is vulnerable to hacking. Mobile phones are now equipped with touch ID and even face ID. It would be great to have these extra measures integrated on esteemapp.
Esteemapp doesn't use steemconnect. This makes the security of user key questionable. But, from within the app, it is impossible to extract the user's key. I don't know if this is possible from outside the app.

Bookmarks.


source

The importance of bookmarks in web browsers is not overlooked. Same way it shouldn't be on esteemapp. This feature is a stress killer. Imagine how difficult it is to access a great article you read and wish to re-read. This feature has been of great use to me since day one on steemit. So far, I have bookmarked 7 articles, and there might be no limit to how many articles someone can bookmark. I'm not sure about that though.

Schedule.


Source

I've created great content but I don't want to post it immediately. I also would not like to forget to post it when I intend to. This is where the schedule feature comes in handy for me. Although I have used this functionality once. It's a great thing that it's available. It's great that I can put more than one post on schedule.

Currency


Source

The esteemapp allows me to display the rewards on a post in any currency I choose. This might not be a great feature but it is to me. It saves me the stress of using Pythagoras theorem to calculate my expected earnings on a post. The app doesn't have all the currencies in the world integrated into it. But it has my country's which is the "Nigerian naira"(NGN). There's, a let down in this feature though. It reverts back to the default currency whenever I exit and re-open it. I don't know if this is a bug, or the developer intended it to work that way. But, I'll be more appreciative of this feature if I didn't have to change settings every now and then.

Drafts

This is another great feature on the esteemapp. With esteemapp, I can save a content as a draft and begin another one. This is cool because sometimes I experience writer's block when creating a content. Often times while in that state, I get fresh ideas for a new content. It would be bad if I have to clear the content to start a new one. It is possible to copy the content and save somewhere else but, it's better to save it on the app itself. This feature is not my favorite but it's cool nonetheless.

Favorites.

There are a lot of great authors on the steem blockchain. The possibility of keeping track of all your favorite authors in my head is absolute zero. The feature is for users to keep track of their favorite authors. This feature is quite handy almost like the bookmarks feature. It would be great if users get notifications when their favorite author posts an article. I'm uncertain if it works that way already because I haven't ever used the feature. But, I tried it out today and I haven't received a notification.

Exchange


Source

I have used the esteemapp for quite a long time. But, I still haven't grasped how this feature works so I can't give it my review. For people who understand it, it should be useful.

Summary

In this post, I've been able to review the distinct features of the esteemapp. These features are not found in the other apps that I'll be comparing esteemapp with. There are some similar features that exist in esteemapp and 1ramp but not in partiko. To make this comparison fair, I excluded those features. In the next post on this series, I'll review partiko's distinct features.

Resources

The content of this post is created with my knowledge of the software. The source of the images used are beneath the images.

Series Backlinks

I intend to make this a series and this is the first post of this series.

Sort:  

This post was a bit of a mixed bag for me. As a review of eSteem, it is quite good. You made it both personal and editorial, and I appreciate that.

However, there were issues of content and presentation that hampered it.

In this blog post, I'll be reviewing the distinct features of esteemapp, partiko and 1ramp.

Did you forget the other two apps? Did you change your mind mid-way through and forgot to edit? You write almost nothing about partiko and 1ramp in the post. I figure you meant to put that in future posts, but that requires editing the early part of the post so that you're not making a promise and not keeping it.

But, the intent of some is to access the steem blockchain or the steemit frontend as I prefer to call it. I don't know if I'm correct though.

Putting aside the sentence construction, you are not correct. Steemit is one of the frontends for accessing the Steem blockchain, as are eSteem, Partiko and 1ramp. We usually call these frontends "Steem condensers."

On the presentation side, this was not one of your best efforts when it comes to style and grammar. For instance:

Most of them are either to provide services or reward contributors to the project

There's a word missing between "are" and "either." Maybe "intended"?

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thanks once again @didic for a comprehensive review.

For my mistakes, they are quite a lot and now I can see the confusion. Originally I intended to review all the different software in this particular blog post then along the way decided to limit it to one app per post in the series.

For this part,

But, the intent of some is to access the steem blockchain or the steemit frontend as I prefer to call it. I don't know if I'm correct though.

I got the right information but I forgot to correct it.

But for the quality of this post shouldn't be below average IMHO. I think your judgement on post quality. I ensured I used hemmingway this time to properly scrutinize the document. The score I got is the best so far.
hemm.png

Hemmingway isn't a yardstick for measuring the quality of a post, but I know you consider it in your reviews.
That being said, it'll be great if I can get a concise guide to creating a post of decent quality.

Thank you for your review, @didic! Keep up the good work!

Hi, @harry-heightz!

You just got a 5.33% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @harry-heightz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @harry-heightz!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61787.88
ETH 2991.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48