First Utopian.io contribution: translating minecolonies

in #utopian-io7 years ago

So Yesterday I came across a post from @reggaemuffin about needing some contributors to translate from English to a lot of other languages. There are about 300 in all but a lot are repetitions or dialects even though I really got a chuckle out of this incredible language

So if you are interested in sharing your skills and want to help out Check out his post here

Since I am from Belgium I am Flemish originally but in Crowding the options are Dutch(Belgium) or Flemish or Dutch

Basically those all are the same language (although Dutch from the Netherlands and Dutch/Flemish from Belgium are the same like English from the UK and English from the US)

So in this instance I picked Dutch(Belgium) and completed the translation to 100%.

The good thing was that I already had a crowding account set up since I had previously done some reviewing and translating for busy.org and @fabien when they were in beta in october.

The main page for the translations can be found here, so check it out and if you find that you speak one of the languages that has not been claimed then do the translation and help these guys out. The process is really easy and straightforward. Once you get going most of the translations have been suggested and are correct but some just sound weird and then need correcting.

Its a bit like someone used google translate and you get what they are wanting to say and then it is your job to make sure its correct after.

here is the link for that:

minecolonies

Now all we need is some people to proofread my translations (or correct them if needed) and then those can be used by the project

this is a nice and nifty open source way to avoid those incredibly expensive translation services and here you have the possibility to do some good and even make something extra in the form of upvotes.

win win for all

(except the professional translators)

There are a lot more projects needing help where you can contribute, it is not only games like minecraft so have a browse through the options and find something you like



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

That is pretty cool. Unfortunately, it is only American for me. I did make sure my daughter took Spanish and French in school. Went to the site though, I love flags.

Its amazing how many languages there are. I can hold my own in about 5 and thought I was super multilingual but then I see I have a long way to go to learn all, lol

Well, English language from the UK and from the US are not all the same :)

yep, that is what I was getting at with the dutch and belgian dutch
They are considered the same language but there are subtle differences same as with UK/US etc

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

thanks, its nice to feel a bit usefull, lol

Thank you for the translation!

The first batch of translations is on it's way to make it into the game: https://github.com/Minecolonies/minecolonies/pull/1728

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

I do not understand what is your benefit...

my benefit is getting paid in steem for the translation by upvotes from Utopian and the project people (in this case @reggaemuffin)
So basically I got rewarded with votes and indirectly reputation
It is not every day I get posts worth 20+ steem without using an upvote bot

Ik heb je gevonden :-D

mijn vertaling? leuk, probeer er zelf ook maar eentje

Gedaan, maar wanneer krijg je de betalingen? Ik kan het goed grbuiken. Ik zit nog iedere dag krap bij kas om de upvotes te doen. Mijn laatste post gaat goed, zonder upvotes, maar daar heb ik een smartsteem gekregen.

Hey @felander I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!;)
  • This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

This post was promoted with @monitorcap traffic bot & STEEM promotion service.

Send MIN. $1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field
and recieve upvotes & resteems for your posts. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65