An attempt to reduce moderator work at utopian - Automating accepted-posts channel

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

Hello,

I have been moderating at utopian in the last couple of weeks. Due to huge growth in the project, we have been getting a lot of contributions daily.

We have a convention in our discord channel where we post contribution links on some cases.

  • If we start working on a contribution, we reserve it by posting to #i-am-on-it channel.

  • If we approve a contribution, we remove the link at #i-am-on-it, and add it to #accepted-posts channel.

  • If we hide a post, we post it to #hidden-posts channel.

Removing the manual work


I thought, at least that manual work on #accepted-posts and #hidden-posts could be removed by a discord bot.

I am fan of automating things.

Connecting discord channels with utopian API


Even though it's not documented well, Utopian has a web api which gives you useful data about the contributions which you can access approved contributions.

After researching a little bit about discord web hooks, I have managed to code a simple integration.

The bot currently posts accepted contributions to #accepted-posts-test channel. If it works well, we may switch to that automated posts instead of manual posting which will save moderators' time.

Related code is open source: @emre/utopian-accepted-post-hook.

It's also a simple example for discord webhook integrations.

Image sources: XKCD - Automation



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

I have absolutely no idea what any of that means. For all I know you could have just published the codes to the North Korean nuclear arsenal!.....

What I do know is that the whole open source movement, and I of course include utopian.io, is an absolutely amazing group of people working together to provide the rest of us phlebs with fantastic independent resources. Why people actually buy the software these days that we are 'directed' to buy is beyond me. Ive been a huge supporter of open source and common licenses for many years and its great that people can finally get rewarded for what is mainly a labour of love.
Ive reading a lot the past few days and trying to get up to date a little with whats going on and they are the most exciting times since the late 80s.

Best wishes, and I only wish I could get more involved but at 51, the technology has for a long time passed my ability to understand it in any great detail. I have added you to my followers list so in future if you could try and use simpler language Id be grateful ;-)
Thanks

PS If you ever need an COBOL programmer with only average ability, please let me know!
PPS If you dont k ow what COBOL is.....damn im old :-(

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

I would love to learn more of this kind of coding. I'm still a novice trying to learn HTML at the moment.

If there's any way that I can help, then please contact me!

I see a potential developer here. :)

Thanks, but I think that's still very far in the future. For the moment HTML is still giving me enough challenges. I'm doing a self-learning course on the internet.

Hey @emrebeyler I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

If I could turn back !BEER



Hey @emrebeyler, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33