Suggestion: utopian-io - Add 'Standard Report' as new Contribution Type

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Data Analysis that is performed daily/weekly/monthly can instantly or steadily become a valuable resource to managers, team members, and anyone with an interest in the subject area being analysed and reported on.

title.png


Data Analysis is the process of systematically applying statistical and/or logical techniques to describe and illustrate, condense and recap, and evaluate data. source


Reports are produced constantly in some fields, and perhaps more commonly, on a daily, weekly, and monthly basis.

And In order to condense, recap, and project into the future, this data needs to be stored and tracked over a reasonable period of time.

I'm wondering, hence the suggestion, if another contribution category, 'Standard Report' should be added to the current list in utopian.io, so that the more standard and frequent analysis contributions can be separated from the 'one offs', which may be supplied as and when - on an 'ad hoc' basis.


newconttype.png



I can see one immediate advantage for utopian.io being that these 'Standard Reports' can be 'scored' differently *(lower?) to the ad-hoc analysis work. The reasoning behind this is that a new piece of data analysis is likely to take longer to produce and initially require more 'proof of brain'.

Another reason for this is my recent feedback from a Utopian.io moderator who stated in a response to my most recent report

'...However, do you think we will keep accepting exact same contribution for infinite amount of time ? No.'

While I understand the point being made, this most recent report (still) took 4-5 hours to build, analyse, and write.

However, the initial report in which I was gaining understanding of the data model, building the queries from scratch, building my local Database, importing the base data, learning how to pivot the data, etc, etc, took over 10 hours and was a 2 day project.

The observant among you may feel like i'm shooting myself in the foot with this suggestion. However, I think this is a small move towards longer term stability for utopian.io analysts, and that sounds fine by me.



Thanks for reading

Asher @abh12345



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

I absolutely support your idea! The target "audience" is different between what you call a "standard report" and a completely new analysis/aspect. From the effort perspective, it makes a huge difference if you re-run an existing analysis script with new data on a daily or weekly base or if you start from scratch.

Thanks fella

I was starting to wonder if anyone apart from the utopian mods was actually reading #utopian-io tags.

It's easy to see that they are being steadily voted on, prior to the bot coming round and slapping a (rather nice at times) vote on.

I see you've done a bit of analysis work. It's properly time consuming stuff isn't it, at least the first time around. As I like things to look right, it's hours of work even with the queries 90% done, but I do understand the feeling from (some) mods, that work is being repeated - even though the data is totally different.

Anyway, we continue with this super interesting project during it's infancy, and just see what happens eh!

Cheers :)

Very good suggestion. And I like the 'proof of brain' explanation!

I think that the scoring for standard reports should be lower, simply because they can be repeated and so generate rewards over a long period of time. A one off analysis should generate a higher scoring, but only receive the reward once (or perhaps occasionally at much longer intervals).

Thanks man :)

Exactly my reasoning behind the suggestion, I'm glad the fellow analysts are on side and not shouting 'wtf did you suggest that for!!' haha :)

The thing is the way the moderator may have looked at it may be very different.

Its an all new standard analysis different from what one has presented before and i think its time, i support your idea mate! Im glad i read

Thank you.

Yes it's some extra work for the moderator to make sure the category is right. Keeps them employed 😁

Hahahaha certainly keeps em employed!

Hey @abh12345 I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you at 4% Power!

Achievements

  • You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!;)
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!
  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • I introduced a competition factor. My vote is based also on how competitive the category used is.

Human Curation

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thanks. I wonder if it'll get implemented :)

These datas take time to assemble and they need to be taken seriously.

I could not agree more! My first report took me over 10 hours!

I am not still getting this utopian. What is the main purpose behind this. How can I be useful to it.

'...However, do you think we will keep accepting exact same contribution for infinite amount of time ? No.'

Same here.

nice post...... you follow me... like comment

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71315.89
ETH 3677.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76