Why I exchanged half of my Bitcoin reserve for STEEM POWERsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #useteem8 years ago (edited)

| English | Español |

SHORT ANSWER: because I bet for steemit

I'm blogging about UseSTEEM and my long term investment strategy just recently, encouraging people to invest on steemit by holding STEEM POWER. But when I looked at my wallet, my balance of about $30 SP only said the reverse: this guy is not betting for steemit, why should I follow his advice? hot-air speech!!

Reason #1: STEEM POWER (SP) is an asset, STEEM DOLLARS (SD) and STEEM are just investment capital

Investment capital would be your friend or your worst enemy, since you decide how to deal with it. If you cultivate it and care about it, investment capital will stay close to you and will keep growing. Otherwise it will leave you alone when you need it the most, the consequences are failure and bankruptcy.

The difference between SP and SD/STEEM is that SP puts money into my pocket while SD and STEEM are currency by design. I can transfer SD to other users, or convert it into STEEM or SP. Not the same with SP which is real power, it attracts followers and earns me bigger rewards. As in any other business, the idea is to keep growing every single day, staying static is a waste.

Reason #2: I got balls of steel

Long term strategy requires to spend more time thinking than moving. Yet every move is like jumping from a bridge ¡One should wear a harness and then jump! I expect STEEM to drop from ~0.001 to ~0.000.5 per Bitcoin and still exchanged my hard earned Bitcoin into SP. Doesn't it requires balls of steal? Yet in my post about wise cowboy's long term strategy I said:

"Once upon a time a cowboy bought one cow and kept the rest of the money in the bank."

I'm just trying to be a wise cowboy, not to behave like a trader or a gambler. Otherwise I would be trading STEEM in the exchange market or maybe other crypto more profitable for the trading business.

Reason #3: Time is money

I had some investment capital sleeping somewhere so rather than just holding it, how about moving part of it into a new venture? Now that I have spent a couple weeks learning about steemit and how it works, I trust steemit enough to put some money into it.

Let's not forget about how much effort it takes to build reputation and to become a whale here on steemit! It takes time that I need to spend on other things more profitable for me at the moment. Don't consider it a shortcut because I had to work hard already to earn those Bitcoins that I traded for SP. What I'm doing is to move value from one place to another, expecting to earn more and saving money at the same time. Isn't it a good move?

Reason #4: Keep moving or die

I love this rule from first-person shooter games! Nothing is 100% safe, risk is always there, staying static will only get you a bullet in your head! By the way, moving doesn't necessarily means to jump like crazy, don't take me wrong! I mean that as things change, one should always have an eye looking for alternatives and move when there is good opportunity.

Time will tell if this is a good or bad move, that is how this all works. Now I bet on steemit and hope to stay for a long time!


I'm @develcuy and my mission in steemit is to foster #UseSTEEM for the good of everyone. Join the cause!


Sort:  

how much steem power did you buy?

You can take a look at my wallet transaction history: https://steemit.com/@develcuy/transfers
-- @develcuy

Cool, but I really thought that only I buy SP for BTC =)

Not only You=) me too=)

ANd this guy buy 300k SP on Exchanges
https://steemit.com/@hendrikdegrote/transfers

supercool @steemlift! Can you tell me what is your strategy and what are your reasons?
-- @develcuy

I love your sentiments and support for the platform:)

yes indeed !! well said and great post !! I love my Steem Power and I am holding and it while it builds up my steem machine of sharing and reward !!

thanks for your comment! Glad we share similar opinions. I'm working on promoting UseSTEEM, we are constantly looking for new ways, so please use the tag #usesteem in your future posts and keep holding :D
-- @develcuy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68916.78
ETH 3733.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73