@surpassinggoogle's Untalented Contest: Who Am I?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #untalented7 years ago

OK @surpassinggoogle, I agreed to take part in that game (and now I cannot step back anymore). :-)
So ...

... who am I?


I guess a rather strange mix of some very diverging attributes like overlapping mathematical sets.

I am interested in maths but not in (historical) numbers.


From the picture above you may correctly conclude, that I like numbers, quizzes, riddles which require logical thinking as well as chess and mathematics. However people are sometimes surprised that I rarely care about any dates: I always need to think (or can't answer at all) if anybody asks me things like when exactly I finished my studies, how long I was working for company xyz or when the birthday of this good friend was again. Also concerning history I do know what happened but not when it took place ...

A 'night owl' who struggles to accept rules.


Since school it has always been very hard for me to accept rules regimenting my life. Being able to decide myself where to go and when, when to work, where to work and if to work at all is the most precious privilege I can think of. Reaching that aim is more important than having much money. Of course I also need money, but real luxury means having an abundance of free time! I consider personal freedom as a valuable commodity which should be defended also against growing endeavor of state and governments to control their inhabitants and invading their privacy.
My motto is "to live and let live" which means I respect people with different life styles, but I really hate it to be forced to adapt to the lifestyle of others. For example I am an extreme night owl and like to work or read at night if environment is calmer than during daytime. Therefore I also prefer to stand up late in the morning which is not always easy to enforce in societies dominated by "morning larks". As if that was not enough, in addition I prefer to lie over sitting when working on my computer. You can see my 'work place' here. :-)

Pedantic and perfectionist.


At the latest since my last article about the German language (and the 'response' of my wife) Steemians should know how pedantic I can be. That makes it not always easy for the people around me. :)

Against the 'work ethics' which rules the world!


I always wonder how important 'work' for the self-esteem of many people is. They even think that doing some useless work was better than not to work at all, just because they consider working as an intrinsic value. I consider work as an expedient which can be useful to reach certain aim, but if I look at all these hectic people who spend their whole life working, sometimes I would like to remember them that in evolution these organisms are succeeding which reach their goals without wasting too much energy. Opposite than many other I am looking forward to the accelerating process of automation and digitalization which hopefully leads to less (stupid kind of) work for us and more for the machines. You are completely right if you call me "lazy", but at the same time I have to say that doing some really interesting and creative work can be very fulfilling - and in these cases I may work many hours without even noticing how time passes by.

Also idealism doesn't make life always easy.


Yes, in many aspects I am rather idealistic. For example I really hate to see the growing pollution of our environment. It can happen that I write e-mails to companies who are using unnecessary huge packages or that I argue with someone on the the street who just let fall down a plastic bag. Also I cannot bear injustices. My wife tells me to be more relaxed sometimes ... a single person cannot save the human kind ... :)

Fast thinker - slow speaker ...


Another contradiction may become obvious when it comes to the question if I am self-confident or not? On the one hand I am convinced of being intelligent. I accept the accusation of being arrogant here, but so what, it's simply an undeniable fact, so why should I try to deny it? :-) (My wife just called me 'shameless' and conceited when she noticed what I am writing here, haha.) On the other hand I feel rather shy being surrounded by too many people. I avoid being in the center of a crowd or sitting on tables of of loud talking people. Therefore I like to write down my thoughts instead of talking (for the same reason I also prefer text chat compared to video chatting). Because I like being alone and just letting my thoughts run or even daydream - I like walking through the forest so much. I am a rather slow speaker (to be more exact: I am very slow in general), and sometimes my wife impatiently interrupts me before I can finish explaining all my complicated 'annoying' thoughts. :)
Sometimes it happens that in the middle of a crowd I suddenly feel like a lonely alien which accidentally arrived on earth.

Keeping emotions for myself.


Actually inside I am an emotional person full of empathy, sometimes sadness or even fear, anger, impatience and love. However, I rarely show these emotions in public. For example I cannot cry at a funeral ... I have to wait until I am alone at home. I am aware that people could think a was rather cold hearted because of that ... but I am just different: some people need to be amongst friends of family members when they are mourning, but for me the opposite is the case.

I am an agnostic.


Concerning religion and God as an agnostic I stand in the middle between believers and atheists (whereby I consider the choice of religion as a private decision which should be respected as long as nobody tries to force others to adapt his point of view). Why agnostic? Because I simply cannot answer any question concerning God (if he exists, who he is, what he wants ...). That doesn't prevent me from contemplating this topic which I did for example in the following article where I also examined the question if a tendency of being spiritual could be encoded in our genes.

A curious person as well.


I am a very curious person who always try to learn and discuss new things (science, new technologies - for example electromobility - , economic developments, politics, ...) and even if I called myself "shy" before I like to meet people from everywhere in the world and learn about their cultures, interests and believes. Actually Steemit is a nice way to do that ... many interesting people with creativ ideas are writing here, and most of them lead conversations in a very friendly and respectful way.

On a final note.


On a final note: thanks @surpassinggoogle, without your encouragement I would never have had the idea to write an article like this one, but you are right: why not try something new from time to time? As this contest confirms again: we are all different ... and that's great. Let Steemit be as lively and colorful as possible! :)

Sort:  

aww thanks for sharing! :)

"On the other hand I feel rather shy being surrounded by too many people. I avoid being in the center of a crowd or sitting on tables of of loud talking people." That's how I am too. I love having conversations one on one, but I don't like being the center of attention at all.

Learned so much about you in this post!

I love having conversations one on one ...

Exactly. :) And four persons at one table are the limit, haha.

Hahaha high five to that! 👋🏻

Wow! I really learned some new things about you from this post. Thank you for this very interesting read.

I myself can relate to many statements in your post but I probably would never have the courage to expose myself like that in front of anyone (let alone the public on Steemit). You deserve a lot of respect for being so open. Maybe others (including me) just don't want to be so open because they are afraid of what they could find...

I know that you emphasize the value of privacy / private sphere. I actually also do, but I think there is a big difference if you reveal something about yourself consciously and voluntarily or if somebody (governments, secret services, companies, ...) just steal the data without asking you.
Actually here I was disclosing some thoughts and feelings rather than personal data (name, address, age, phone number ...). I think that tells actually more about me as a person, though ...

Will be back. If you want to read some of the entries. There are resteemed on @steem-talented. They became so many, i think more than 150, i didn't want to clog people's feeds by reblogging all on my account. I am so glad you joined in. Will visit soon for a full read

Just take your time ... I know you have a lot of entries to read ... but I hope it's interesting and brings you some fun as well. :)

Thank you so much @surpassinggoogle this means so much to me 😘😘😘

For example I really hate to see the growing pollution of our environment. It can happen that I write e-mails to companies who are using unnecessary huge packages or that I argue with someone on the the street who just let fall down a plastic bag. Also I cannot bear injustices. My wife tells me to be more relaxed sometimes ... a single person cannot save the human kind ... :)

I identify with you here because I also hate it that there's so much pollution going on in our environment today and which does not portend good for the society. I love nature and feel so sad to see it so spoiled.

With this special kind of "introduceyourself" posting you provide a good example how open, emotionally honest and authentic a person can be, by keeping discrete and decent in the same time. Congratulation. Happy to have found your blog in this huge, confusing steemit-crowd. :)

Thanks for your warm words! :)

Nice to read this post... fast thinker, slow speaker is much better than talk too fast and never think... :)

Regards...

Great and interesting article! It’s good to know you more from this article. I think the same as you at some points;

“I feel rather shy being surrounded by too many people”

“I like being alone and just letting my thoughts run or even daydream - I like walking through the forest so much”

I like your “work place” and I prefer to lie over sitting when working on my computer, too, if possible.

Nice wordings and I absolutely agree with you and the contest, “we are all different ... and that's great. Let Steemit be as lively and colorful as possible!”

Well done! Great work! ;)

Loading...

I need a few minutes to translate this article. I just understand @jaki01 here. You are a person who has a complete philosophy of life. I will not be like you. But, there are some things that can be an inspiration for me. Thanks. I think this is some kind of introduction I knew too late.

That's great: good that you are your unique self! :-)

Ein sehr interessantes und beeindruckendes Persönlichkeitsprofil!

Darf ich dich fragen, in welchem Tierkreiszeichen du geboren wurdest?

Skorpion.

Danke für die Antwort!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86