Photowalk: Yorklyn

in #ulog5 years ago

Yesterday my youngest son and I went out on a photowalk in Yorklyn, Delaware ([//]:# (!steemitworldmap 39.806489 lat -75.673343 long d3scr))

This was at one point an important mill and factory location; now, however, the mill and factory buildings are just abandoned shells of their former glory.

_DSC5393.jpg

_DSC5450.jpg

Their are plans to revitalise the area with apartments and retail shopping, and hopefully keep as much of the facades of the current buildings as possible. Judging by their current state, though, I'm not sure just how possible that will be.

The old NVF (National Vulcanized Fiber) company building, looking moody in black and white.

_DSC5398.jpg

Here's an interesting item: an old railroad car with heavy goods on top of it. In and of itself it's just another old relic, but the car itself has the "WWRR" insignia on it, indicating it is owned by the Wilmington and Western RailRoad. The WWRR is another old company that went bankrupt, but is now run as a volunteer "living history" railroad as a non-profit; they purchase old railroad cars and rehabilitate them. Note the railroad tracks; they look abandoned but are in use by WWRR. I'll have another post on them too.

_DSC5399.jpg

I was out for the day with my son teaching him some photography. It was a good day, just for that if no other reason.

_DSC5401.jpg

It's hard for me to see past the personification of the ivy appearing to wave at me, but I can also easily envisage a face peering out through these windows.

_DSC5409.jpg

An old fire hydrant, all locked up. I'm not sure the fire department would have connections to this anymore. (there does happen to be a modern fire hydrant about 10 feet away)

_DSC5412.jpg

An old, rusty and well used water tower. I bet it was well used in the day.

_DSC5416.jpg

I really like these next two picture. The combination of the black and white as well as the road curving through the buildings really builds an impression of a completely abandoned town, now little more than a ghost town. It really hides that about 100 metres away the road leads to multi-million dollar mansions.

_DSC5422.jpg

_DSC5433.jpg

I also like the juxtaposition of the hopeful, forward looking sign in the foreground, and the run down, abandoned buildings in the background. It reminds me of a post-apocalyptic future. I could probably write a short story on this (and maybe I will!)

_DSC5439.jpg

And now some black and whites and other pictures with faded colours to really set the mood.

_DSC5420.jpg

_DSC5437.jpg

_DSC5441.jpg

_DSC5443.jpg

_DSC5450.jpg

Some of the revitilisation projects have already started. Just on the other side of the buildings in this next picture is yet another previously-abandoned building which has been revamped into a microbrewery. There was a private event on the property when I was taking these, so I didn't intrude, but that will probably be another blog entry yet!

_DSC5454.JPG

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

@wwwiebe

These are some amazing photographs and knowing you got to experience it with your youngest... makes it a win, win situation! The variation between the color, with black and white, and the "faded" look... is a great addition to your post, and really helps to set the mood. The crazy thing is... I was immediately drawn... to this:

I also like the juxtaposition of the hopeful, forward looking sign in the foreground, and the run down, abandoned buildings in the background. It reminds me of a post-apocalyptic future. I could probably write a short story on this (and maybe I will!)

Hopeful indeed... wow; I agree with you, that it gives that post-apocalyptic vibe, but to me... sadly just another example of abanding the old ways of life, for financial gain. I would rather see those types of places restored, than bulldozed down, to make room for some five-story mega-condo... anyway...

While we are talking about those cool photographs, with groovy effects, check this post out from one of our favorite Witnesses:
https://steemit.com/sublimesunday/@c0ff33a/7qblnr-sublime-sunday-an-excuse-to-post-your-random-creative-or-crazy-ideas

might be something you are interested... not that you want to be overloaded with MORE things to do lol... Also... I see you are rocking the Steemit World Map... our very own @derekrichardson gave us dibs on a GROOVY footer he created for such that very occasion...

WorldMap banner.jpg
Created by @derekrichardson

Keep those awesome posts coming, my friend!!

Wes

Thanks @wesphilbin! It's always a nice feeling to know one's work is appreciated.

Definitely going to check out sublimesunday because.. well.. I suppose I need something more to do! LOL!

Thanks for the footer! Template saved!

WoW wiebe thanks for taking me along on this adventure

I'm glad you enjoyed it! I'll need to go back soon, even if it's only to visit the micro-brewery!

Wow you are right, I never would have guessed looking at these photos that right around the corner are expensive houses! Kinda strange juxtaposition. We have a lot of "mcmansions" in the area of Utah I just moved to, huge (ugly, IMO) boxy houses on tiny little plots crammed next to each other in what used to be pasture land. I have no idea why someone would want so much square footage inside a house and so little square footage outside of it. Very strange

Oh no kidding! I'd rather have a 'tiny house' and a yard I can play in. Thanks for the kind comments!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #549.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hey there @wwwiebe!!

It was a joyous walk indeed! I had enjoyed looking through a glimpse of Delaware. All photos are clear and crisp. Thank you for sharing us your experience with us. Hoping for more wonderful walks in the future.

Ps.

I love all your black and white shots! ❤

Hi @maquemali, thank you for the kind words! One of the best features of a platform like steemit is being able to see parts of the world that you wouldn't otherwise be able to see, and to chat with people globally. I hope to have something new soon!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @wesphilbin.

This looks really interesting, photos are great. The rail line in front of that factory adds some spice to the photo.

It also reminded me of the good old times I walked holding my father's hand - of course, Not for photo walk- but is still sweet...

Cheers and thanks for the post

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @angelro! I'm glad you appreciated it. Photography, like any other art, is for me a method of invoking emotions. I'm glad you were able to enjoy positive emotions from these!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=wwwiebe
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=photowalk-yorklyn


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This really looks so amusing. I love how you made some of them black and white it made your photos looks so unique. Thanks for sharing this with us and have a great week ahead.

Thanks @sgbonus! That was exactly the effect I was looking for on those particular pictures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29