PushUps and Isometrics

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

push-up_illustration1.jpg

I didn't realize just how much we can exercise our body in allowing ourselves to go way more slow in our movements and even just stopping and holding positions more and to explore resting within our holds.

I've been making pushUps a part of my every day life.

I started with a push to do 100 a day every single day...to see what kind of results I could achieve. I did that for 17 days in a row....then I became imbalanced where I had done so much pushing myself forward without enough pulling myself back. I became really tight/sore in my shoulders/chest.

I had to adjust my approach.

I had to widen my outlook and perspective.

The pushUps initially was a point of wanting to do something simple for myself that could be a long term benefit to my body well being here.

I continue to do pushUps - I've let go of a number...atleast for the time being. I've been experimenting more with my movements within doing a pushup...like how slow can I go....how am I breathing....what about moving more like this or move like that....challenging different ways to move within the basic movement of a pushup.

What's been happening within my pushUp experimentation is that I am becoming more aware of parts of myself in my body. Something that I've given more attention to recently, is my hands. I've been playing with how I position my hands. I've also been challenging my strength in my hands with out I push on the ground.

I've also been exploring my core more. I've allowed myself to play/experiment with holding myself in an upright pushup position with my core engaged and lift one of my hands off the ground. This has opened up parts of my core that have been like dormant for years. It's something I am really enjoying.

Wide open squats has been something I've been exploring and playing with - where the goals is to basically to sit while standing up....where you go into a low squat with legs opened way up and your fee pointed outward to the sides...left foot pointing left....right foot pointing right.

What I am really enjoying about this stuff is that by working with my own body I am able to open up and unlock all of these parts of myself I didn't even realize I was resisting and blocking myself access to.

It's interesting also because it's like all I need is my body to work out my body. I do not require to go to some special place. I do not require special equipment. I am easy in accommodating for the care taking of my body.

In creating these natural organic exercise habits it's like no big deal to make a space wherever I am to do some pushUps. In this way pushUps and squats are very accommodating....and I love creating really awesome accommodations.

In terms of routine and structure with timing and planning - I've been a bit relaxed about this. I work a lot from a desk...and in this way I create breaks....times for me to get up and move myself....so at the moment my approach to exercise is to accommodate for my otherwise very sedentary lifestyle.

The point is becoming increasingly obvious how consistency in application is it's own reward. There is great satisfaction in making the time to do things from a starting point of care and appreciation. Gratitude is a great attitude.

I am exploring what it means to live gratitude in caring for my body on a day to day basis. It's been a fun journey thus far!

CHEERS AND BEST REGARDS

Recent Posts:

Complaining is like Raining on Your Own Parade

Drop the Self-Judgement and Walk Your Change

A Day is a Lifetime and then Some

Decentralized Media Broadcasting is the Future - Sharing Because You Want to

if you like this post steemit.jpg

FREE - UNIVERSAL BASIC INCOME - WEEKLY CRYPTOCURRENCY PAYOUT

  • What I like about this social experiment, is the fact that it's success is directly dependent on ordinary people everywhere - where there's a willingness to say,

"Yes - I accept a weekly payment for being a human being to cover my basic costs of Existing Here."

manna-banner.jpg

MANNABASE

Self-Mastery

MindBodyInnerVerse

Sort:  

Great post ..
There is cure for malpractice
Thank you for sharing this with us‏..

I’m not going to call it experiment, but I choose to only workout at home. In my humble opinion, I feel like we don’t need to go to the gym to have a good workout. Plus, it’s more convenient. I’ve doing it for at least 3 months now, and I like the results I’m getting so far. The only thing I’m still struggling with is the diet. I say that because I have a sweet tooth, and eating a lot of sugar doesn’t really help in building muscle. Frankly, this is one of the best decision I’ve ever made.

The initiative that you were taking to train yourself at home is a good one. There too many people working at desks and there slowly dying.

The sitting position causes so many challenges to the body. There's not enough space and time to write the many challenges.
However you have to sit for a living so you have to find ways around it.

Push-ups are great! The strengthen your shoulder and triceps.

If I can share with you one tip. If you're pushing up everyday and your muscles are still sore, it could be that you're overworking your chest and muscles. Your muscles need time to rest. We all made it differently so time varies.

Recover can take anyway from 2 to 4 days.

So maybe you can try doing push ups every other day until you gave me a strength. If you allow the muscles to recuperate you find you're not only become stronger and firmer but you lost look great on the beach for your next summer vacation 😎💪🏾

Another suggestion I could share with you are burpees. Burpees can be very challenging in the beginning. How's if you could persevere they're excellent form of cardio exercise but not only strengthens your heart and lungs but works your core and leg muscles.

This is an excellent way to burn extra fat and to release endorphins.

Try them for 5 or 10 minutes on your lunch 2 3 times weekly and see what happens!

thank you for sharing support with me, it's appreciated.

I made it 14 days in a row and now I do at least 25 a day. I am working on my form. Slower seems better and has seemed to have more benefits. Less stress on my body and I have become more in tune with what my body is going through as I do them.

I would point out with pushups, try to get some different angles, incline and decline as it will work different parts of the chest. This will help you gain more overall strength and stability in the chest.

I really like that as well. I'm doing a lot of different exercises at home where I explore different ways to do them. But did you solve the "problem" with pushing too much and not being able to pull? I find that difficult to do pulling exercises at home..any suggestions?

Lean over on a bench, with one knee on the bench, and lift a weight that is on the floor, up towards your body.

That a back exercise. Also, do pull ups.

Yeah..good oldie that one. I had forgot :D Thanks

Hi @scandinavianlife I found your a question interesting and I'm willing to help you guys.

I've been in the fitness industry for over20 years. I now have an online Fitness coaching business with my primary goal is to teach people to be self-sufficient by learning to exercise on their own without going to the gym.

Please give me a little bit more information as to what the "pulling problems" are.

I would love to write a blog post on this subject or a video.

What do you guys think about that?

You mean you can not find a pull up bar in your house?

Really? i used about everything that could function a bit as a pull up bar. You can buy some lose bars which you can hang on a door or something like that.

However, in the meanwhile you can train your triceps( like with pull ups) with doing dips.. Grab Two chairs tuck your legs and dip. If that's too heavy place your feet on a third chair or something like that.

Pull ups are no joke, i saw plenty of gym rats having trouble doing proper pull ups. I wouldnt focus on pull ups that much. Risk isn;t worth it (any more.) However they do make you very strong though.

Good luck

Thanks. I have an outdoor kids playing thing not far away..but I feel weird going there without my son. I try to take some pullups when he's with me though :D I was able to do 15 with good form..now I'm at about 6. No excuse being 37..one should be able to do 10 at least.

i totally understand you i used to train a lot in a park two, on a sort of children bar station. However nobody complain and people always acted positive when they saw me work out. For me not working out is weird :)

15 pull ups in one rep is nice. 6 is not bad man. 2 weeks of work out and you be at 10-15 before you know it. I skipped the pull ups for now.. But im working on dips as much as possible in one row. I will let you know if i will share that.

Good luck there.

I love doing push-ups since it's a good way to make and maintain muscle. I would also recomened doing pull ups since that also helps build back muscle. But I still believe that if someone wants muscle they NEED TO GO TO THE GYM!!!!

Pull ups will help to build more muscles then only the back muscle. Depended on which grip you use. If you master pull ups. lets say 15 proper pull ups you can go for muscle ups. Or add weight to your body. You will get stronger/bigger 100%

In the gym most machines isolate the muscle you want to train. So yes you will get bigger(and maybe bigger then with bodyweight exercises.) however its not your whole body that will get stronger. I still like the gym though.

Did you ever saw those gymnastics freaks? They simply are monsters and for what i know they focus on bodyweight.

this is a great post thanks for all the honor you have given us, I feel you have provided a good investment for us.

you are learning and then applying which is great :) always an inspiration for others :D

I think it's a very helpful post for everyone,
thank you..for share..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71