ulog # ? - getting back to a routine - Flags, Phishing and some witness voting

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)


Today Sunday July 2018.
I finally awoke at the early hour of 2:30 pm. I know what your saying, "lazy bastard" yep I would agree. I slept like Rip VanWinkle. Like 12 hrs. LOL. I do feel better and that is what counts.

@kaliju is in the process of recovering from surgery. He not only gives support here but also to the platform. A word of support would be nice.

I have not talked about witness voting in a while. It is a confusing subject. One that takes time in research to make a selection. There is a witness room in the PIFC discord that some leave good information. @paulag & @abh12345 (steemcommunity) and @derangedvisions Leave their reports in that room for all to see what they are involved in and the direction the platform is moving. I also post posts from @guiltyparties in there on his behalf. You can also see who votes for what witness. As they leave their witness voting list there.

Witness' have a lot on their plate and their personnel account is sacrificed for the platforms growths. Yet they still make themselves available on discords for you to ask question and get advice. They cannot be on every discord so sharing the information they provide is important.

As far as voting goes I understand why people have not voted. If you would like to I could give you a couple of names to proxy your vote to that will help until you are ready to jump into the race. The proxy can be removed at anytime. I proxy my vote for a period of time until I was able to get a grip on who the witness,s were. I need to review my vote and list them again. Just an option that is available to you.

There is a lot of talk about the flags. But more important then that is the phishing that is going on. If you are using your owners key instead of your posting key you have already made a mistake.
Here is the statement from @guiltyparties That I put in or general chat.

Guiltyparties [Witness] - Yesterday at 10:55 PM
warning to everyone here: DO NOT click on or go to ANY urls in your comments. some say that your post was stolen, some say there's free votes, etc. they're all bullshit and all that'll happen is that your account will be drained and used to post more links.
there is a severe phishing infestation going on right now and we're not quite on alert level red but it's getting there

I don't know how to state that more clearly. So I will just use his comment.

Contest are an easy way to increase you engagement along with making a couple of extra SP. The league,s will give you stats and increase your engagement. Along with a few new friends.
The PIFC discord is not only for the Pay it Forward curation contest but also for other contest And apps. Take advantage of them.

wolfhart
Minnow III

https://discord.gg/3VQVnZw

Sort:  

I just proxied my witness voting to Asher. I'm too lazy to do all the investigating myself, and I trust him to do the right thing. I think being able to do so is a great solution, and I believe more people should allow someone they trust and is an expert to define their votes.

I believe more people should allow someone they trust and is an expert to define their votes.

I agree with that.
To not vote is the same as voting for the wrong person.
Asher Has a good witness voting list. and he does put it out there for all to see.
Very good choice on a proxy 👍

Didnt really have another choice, lol. Asher is the only one I trust completely on this. :0)

WOW here I thought we were buddies, Pals, Homies LOL

Asher does have his finger on the pulse and a great knowledge base. He would be my choice also

Great ideas here. I might have designated a proxy if I'd have known any. Now, I vote for witnesses as I get to know them and like them. I've still got a few openings left, but every time I meet a new witness, if they are helpful and I like what they are doing, I vote for them. One of these days, I'll have to make some hard decisions, but right now it's just growing an influence as I learn more about the whole shebang.

It is differently something you can't just jump into. I took my time and now I have 5 more sloths to fill. Its been a constant research and development. And also keeping an eye on who you did vote for.

Yeah, I did unvote one witness because he got wacky. Now he's taken his witness offline.

all mine are still there. But still have to keep an eye on them lol

Hi @wolfhart. Weekends are for catching up on sleep. I have started to look into witness voting and I am taking my time.

yes it took me 2 weeks when I started looking at it. No sense in rushing it. Being an informed voter is the only way to go

Glad to hear you got some sleep and are feeling better @wolfhart! Keep up the witness talk too; it's a good thing :) Hopefully the other stuff with end soon as well...

You've read your whole post beautifully and tried to understand. You have written a lot here, have discussed good things. Which will help us to work online. Steamer should be more careful. And no copyright can be made

It is and has always been a large learning curve to get over. It is getting easier because people are sharing their experience with others. The old days most have been much worse.

howdy there again @wolfhart! it's fine to sleep 12 hours at a time but you only get to do that once. The rest of the week we expect to see you out here busting your tail and giving us 3 good, quality posts each day!

Busting my hump and 3 good, quality posts each day is to much of a stretch. Although busting hump is relevant. Compared to sleeping its a giant step. LOL

@lynncoyle1 almost had you this week. Even though its not a competition to her. Just who she is.
Nice job to both of you

Hello @wolfhart, thank you for the update you are bringing up, and i hope @kaliju is having full recovery with no complications .

As for witness-voting i was talking a couple of days ago, with quite a few of my steemian friends and debating whether to vote for any or not. The reason is that they are all asking for votes and if we vote them they get a very big slice of pie in term of returns when we those who are voting them receive nothing from that . Yes they may contribute towards making the platform a bit better, but they get their share for that; and many witnesses don't even make a good contribution or are lazy to do something.

So i believe our vote should be worth something if we are to put them in the chair of witness. As in to receive a form of gratitude in form of steen, sbd or delegated SP . This way would be a place fairer for the minnows and the effort or input of the little one would be shown that is indeed appreciated and that steemit is indeed a concept about helping eachother, about community .

OK lets look at this.
I have research the witness that I have voted carefully. I can tell you that some of them pay to be a witness out of their own pocket.
The only ones who make any return on their efforts are the one's in the top 20.
They also give more then they receive and do a lot of delegating.
I disagree with your argument because a vote can be taken away at any time. Not all are like Jerry.
@curie, @ocd, @steemcleaners, SBI. just to mention a few would not be here otherwise. Not to mention the witness who you never hear about who are working against phishing or stolen accounts being recovered. If you vote for the right people what you get in return is a fair platform and not a couple short term votes.
Like I said its like anything else you have to research or use your proxy. that Is better then not voting.
You need to make sure you get the correct answers to question and then check it out to make sure it is correct.

Hi @wolfhart, sorry for the late reply. I have read the post and i understand what you mean by the above written words. Nevertheless, no matter how we look at it, a vote of a peasant for a king is worth much more for the king rather than the peasant. Yes they may do good things for the platform, but how is that helping the peasant directly ? It is not, or it does for a tiny few. A vote of the peasant should worth about half the worth perceived in the hands of the king. This is community and this is how the everyday user is being taken into proper consideration . Same is with our society, you pay taxes for a lot of things, but nothing really actually helps you out of that payment. And you just keep doing it for years thinking it builds roads, infrastructure etc. It may be, but the way larger portion goes in the hands of the collectors or in those that have a more direct influence following that vote if you understand what i mean. I would rather not vote at all and to be aware that nothing comes back to me following that action, instead of doing the vote and then keep deceiving myself and hoping that things will be better. Things will be better, only if the big players decide to play as a team work with every single one as much possible . Yes i see @curie @ocd etc doing stuff; but i never saw them sending me a memo saying: oh @teetee, we try to support every single one on this platform, here is a little gratitude we offer as a appreciation that you are part of the platform and you're not spamming or not harming or etc. And please check our blog and see the work we do to promote others with a greater quality content, and if you like what we do, please consider voting us as witness etc.

But no, i do not see any intention of that whatsoever. Mybe i am not naturally prone to amazing content, but that doesn't mean we do not have value or we shouldn't be shown some appreciation . My firm opinion though . Thank you though @wolfhart . As for @steemcleaners, i know quite few people have submited applications of bad accounts and nothing has been done about it. And even so, not even a 'thank you for your input, we'll further examinate that' hasn't been received; not even a 'thank you' .

I have reported accounts to steemcleaners and Have seen where accounts have been destroyed because of it. They also send .001 to the account for doing so.

There are what 60,000 accounts on steemit or more and less then 200 large accounts. Thats a lot for them to cover as far as individual support goes. One reason that there are discords for people to use to assist in increasing their account

There are things that needs to be improved. It is getting better slowly. real slowly but this is still in beta.

I hope you signed up for @dustsweeper

Fair enough @wolfhart. And indeed may be a lot to cover, though the things they haven't started doing any of that covering in that matter. What's about the @dustsweeper? And how can one be assisted in increasing their account? Thank you.

right now you and most people get votes under 0.03. when that happens you receive nothing. What dustsweepr does is boost it over the dust threshold of dust to around 0.03 so you will receive curation

I looked at your account and I understand what you are saying. You need more exposier.

This is my discord pifc you should join and get some assistance in building your account. There is also an information library that has tons of information on this subject. and some contest that will help with good engagement and support.

https://discord.gg/3VQVnZw

You have some good posts that you did and more eyes on it the better
if you deiced to join tag me there

You got a 35.52% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @wolfhart!

Hello, @wolfhart glad to see someone is doing some heads-up for phishing alert.

Also i am quite new to steemit and thus to this witness voting thingy. Would you mind explaining to me a little bit about it and how is that useful for the community and for me as user? Much appreciated.

https://steemit.com/witness/@wolfhart/witness-voting-did-you-vote-for-witnesses-why-not

There is a post I wrote about it two months ago. Its to old to give it a vote so don't wast your votes. look at it. The best place to get into this conversation would be here. There is more information out there and it would take me a couple minutes to gather it.
https://discord.gg/3VQVnZw Thats the PIFC discord.

Are you using your posting key ?

I think the main thing working against witness voting is that people just don't realise that it is there... It is hidden away in the side bar along wit the FAQ and other stuff which doesn't really get noticed in the everyday posting and commenting and walleting of Steem!

Or they have no idea what they do. The things they do for the platform as a whole. A lot of their work is behind the scene.
It takes some work to find out. Just like everything here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66161.28
ETH 3556.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14