ULOG: Dang cancer! Life's not always fair...

in #ulog6 years ago

Life's not always fair...

image.png

Source

One of the things I noticed when my wife was going through cancer treatment (6+ years cancer free! woohoo!!!) was that cancer is blind.

  • Cancer doesn't look at the color of your skin.
  • Cancer doesn't look at your gender.
  • Cancer doesn't look at your bank account.
  • Cancer doesn't look at your IQ.
  • Cancer doesn't look at your physique.
    • I didn't get to know most people there well enough to know for sure, but I bet cancer doesn't look at your personality. I'm sure there were some rotten people I met who had cancer, but for the most part I would have to guess they were wonderful people.
    • Maybe having cancer is such a humbling experience that you become nice to others?
      • I saw all kinds at that hospital battling cancer.

Source of quote

According to the American Cancer Society, men have a 39.66 percent probability, or approximately a one in three risk, of developing cancer in their lifetime. For women, the odds are slightly lower, at 37.65 percent.

Wow, I would not have guessed the odds were that high.

This site has the odds broken down into types of cancer for male & female.

  • ...the risk that a man will develop bladder cancer during his lifetime is 3.76%. This means he has about 1 chance in 27 of developing bladder cancer (100/3.76 = 26.6).

    • Do you know 27 men?
      Odds are 1 of them will develop bladder cancer.
      • I know a man who is losing his battle with bladder cancer. His name is Larry. He rents my home in town. This makes me sad.

I just read a post by a Steemian who I enjoy reading. They are battling a health problem that might be cancer. Man, this makes me sad.

Sometimes, life is NOT fair!

If anyone ever told you otherwise, they lied to you.

Why I'm thinking about it tonight.

Larry's wife called saying he was going to have to go to the nursing home. The cancer is all over his body. He's on Medicaid or medicare, not sure the difference. Anyway, when on medi-whatever and you go in the nursing home, they take your social security. So, she was worried she might be a bit late with rent. They've been very good renters. Of course, I will work with her, whatever it takes. She has enough on her plate to worry about...

Someone with no money can go to a nursing home and it doesn't cost anything. The government picks up the tab.

  • My mom on the other hand owns 150 acres and a duplex. If she ended up there, they would force sale of the properties to pay the tab. Once that money ran out, then the government would pick up the tab.
    • Mom has a friend who gets her house cleaned 3 times a week, free lunches from the senior center and several other nice things that Mom would have to pay for since she has property.
      • Sometimes life's not fair, is it?

When I took my job, I really liked Leroy, the guy that hired me. I noticed he had gun sites up on his work computer. I saw some pics of his home on Facebook I think it was. He had a pool table and PINBALL MACHINES in his basement. (NOTE: I'm not just any old wizard, I am a pinball wizard! haha) I really think we would have been pretty good friends.

  • The first day I came to work was January 4th. He took a sick day because his knee was bothering him. Come to find out he had pancreatic cancer. He didn't make it through that month.
    • Sometimes life's not fair.
      • DANG CANCER!!!
    • I'll not give all the details, but his passing cost me $1/hour and he was planning on retiring early and passing on his superintendent job to me. That didn't happen. ::shrug::
      • Sometimes life's not fair.

Some days are like that...

You...
Yes, YOU!
I hope you share your #teardrops
I hope they are tears of joy!

look.gif

Check out the easiest 14.3 Steem I ever made!


My post about it...

look.gif

Dustsweeper Footer 2 use this one.png
Meaning you can't
waste your vote

look.gif


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
veterans.png
flag-120x76.jpg
Sort:  

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.
If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 15.35% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65