ULOG: 40 Computer woes solved. Busy and fun weekend...

in #ulog6 years ago

Hi all,
Thanks for stopping by.
It was a busy and fun weekend...

Golden hour photography

I wanted this to be the pic that shows up with my post, so I'm not going in sequence.
I took this pic last night.

  • Just another reason I LOVE living back on the farm.
    Beautiful sunsets.
    (and sunrises, but I see more sunsets this time of year...)

IMG_20180825_194948385.jpg

Computer woes solved.

Yesterday, my monitor quit on my desktop.
It was a cheapee I bought a few years ago that unfortunately (haha) lasted a few years.

  • My nVidia utility could not match the display size, so everytime I rebooted (which isn't too often, since I use Linux instead of WinDoze) I had to open up the program and change some info.
  • it also didn't work all that well. The colors weren't all that great and red showed up hazed where black should be.
  • It would also ... I don't know how to explain... blink the non-focused area of the desktop when doing certain things.
    • I learned to live with the eccentrics of that monitor for I'm guessing 6 or 7 years.
      • Yesterday it went out. Showing nothing but black.
        Today I purchased a new HP monitor and oh man, I like it!
  • I paid about the same as I paid for that cheapee that was on sale at Walmart and the only monitor they had last time this happened.
    • This is a brand name.
      It is also 24" instead of 21", so am liking that.
      • It worked fine at first boot without having to go into the nVidia utility.
  • For those who don't know, Linux is waaaaay better than WinDoze. Did you see where I just said, it worked just fine at first boot.
    • I did NOT have to use the driver disk.
      • Linux automagically saw that I had a new monitor,
        figured out what it was,
        did whatever magic it had to to make it work.

Caught up some of the mowing

We've been having a drought this summer, so it's been probably a month since I had to mow. But then the weather changed as is so common here in Missouri, USA. We started getting a quite a bit of rain. Between the rain and working overtime, my grass got pretty tall. If I still lived in town, I would have gotten a notice from the city to mow my yard.

  • Just another reason I LOVE living in the country!!!

I put some fix-a-flat in a couple of the rider's (flat) tires and mowed down the 1/4 mile lane and back. Then I mowed a triangle in front of the house. As I was finishing that, there was a loud pop under the deck. It didn't take long to find the problem.

IMG_20180825_104201884.jpg

Broke it right in half.
I went back a looked, but did not find a rock or anything.
It probably got weakened from hitting a rock or who knows.
My yard was bulldozed in preparation of moving our double-wide here and there is still a lot of debris here and there...

  • Walmart was out of the size I needed. That's one downfall of these big box stores. They already have halloween stuff on display and are clearancing out the summer stuff. We still have a couple of months of mowing, so this can be very frustrating.
    • Osrcheln Farm & Home fixed me up and they were actually $1 cheaper for the set than Walmart. That's unusual. They can be 50% higher on some things, as I recently found out when shopping for a toilet seat for my Mom.

So, anyway, I got the new blades put on as soon as I got home. As I was doing that I noticed one spindle was a bit loose, so tightened it back up.

  • I started mowing the triangle across the road from the house. One pass down the road, up the little hill and started back down the hill.
    • The belt started squealing, so I shut it all down.
      • Easy enough to see the problem. The spindle I didn't replace this spring has broke. ::shrug::

So then, I broke out the little electric mower to work on the rest of the front yard. My @actifit report for that day was 12418.

  • That earned me 100 Actifit tokens and a 6.55% ($0.38) upvote from them.
    • Do you actifit?
      Maybe you should ...

Rain is good for flowers

My zinnia had started forming seed heads. After the rain, they are blooming again.

  • Made me some brownie points by cutting some for the wife... :D

IMG_20180825_095614420.jpg

Morning glories are blooming, too...

IMG_20180825_095535431.jpgIMG_20180825_095546790.jpg

A day with the Grandson

Since school has started, they cut my visitation down to just every other Sunday.

  • We went to see Christopher Robin.
    • We both really enjoyed it and recommend it.
      I wish Mom would have went with us! She loves Winnie the Pooh!

Some quotes to live by?

Winnie The Pooh: Doing nothing often leads to the very best kind of something.

look.gif

Christopher Robin: I wonder which way.
Winnie The Pooh: I always get to where I'm going by walking away from where I've been.
Christopher Robin: Do you?
Winnie The Pooh: That's the way I do it.

look.gif

Winnie The Pooh: What day is it?
Christopher Robin: It's today.
Winnie The Pooh: My favorite day.

look.gif

Christopher Robin: If I work really hard now, in the future our lives will be...
Evelyn Robin: Impressive? Worse? We don't care. We want you.

look.gif

Christopher Robin: [comes home] I'm sorry, I got held up at work.

Evelyn Robin: You'll be working this weekend?
Christopher Robin: It can't be helped.
Madeline Robin: Father, I never see you.
Evelyn Robin: Your life is happening now, right in front of you.
Christopher Robin: I am sorry, Madeline.

That's all I have

Now to finish up a state report, since I have my computer working again...

I hope you had a wonderful weekend, too!

look.gif

Check out the easiest 14.3 Steem I ever made!


My post about it...

look.gif

Dustsweeper Footer 2 use this one.png
Meaning you can't
waste your vote

look.gif


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
veterans.png
flag-120x76.jpg
Sort:  

let's go to ulogs.org
https://ulogs.org

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-27T02:41:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 280.20/200.00
Total Photos: 44
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @wizardave! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 18 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 103 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67904.70
ETH 3244.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66