ULOG #9 - Photo Shoot - An Estuary, Some Cows and Some Bulls

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

An Estuary, Some Cows and Some Bulls

For most of the past week it's been cloudy, rainy and just plain dismal! Today arrived with sunshine and the forecast for the rest of the day was more of the same! For me there's no better way to recharge my batteries and get me out of my funk than going on a photo shoot!

Back in my younger days I used to go oystering in the tidal mud flats along the shore of Great Bay in Stratham, New Hampshire. In those days you could drag a bushel basket though the mud at low tide and hand pick the oysters from the shallow water. The daily limit was a full bushel! That's a lot of oysters to shuck!

Since those days the government has established The Great Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve at the location where I used to go oystering. That was my destination for today's shoot.

The reserve houses a visitor's center. The staff is friendly and the exhibits are awesome.

The flower garden

There's a wonderful flower garden surrounding the center.

Daisies.jpg

Daisies_2.jpg

FlowerPot.jpg

RedLily.jpg

RedLily_2.jpg

PurpleFlower.jpg

Marigold.jpg

BumbleBee.jpg

Sunflowers.jpg

The nature trail

Beginning at the Welcome Center is a well manicured trail
TrailBeginning.jpg

The boardwalk starts a little way into the walk

Boardwalk.jpg

Boardwalk_2.jpg

The boardwalk rounds the corner toward the salt marsh and a view of the bay

Boardwalk_3.jpg

A peek of the water through the trees

ThroughTheTrees.jpg

Great Bay from the trail

GreatBay.jpg

GreatBay_2.jpg

These are the mud flats where I used to go oystering

OysterFlats.jpg

The salt marsh

SaltMarsh.jpg

SaltMarsh_2.jpg

SaltMarsh_3.jpg

Tree.jpg

TallGrass.jpg

Heading away from the marsh and into the woods

Boardwalk_4.jpg

A dragonfly couple enjoying insectual bliss!

DragonFlies.jpg

After the act

DragonFly.jpg

The trail branches off into the woods

WoodlandTrail.jpg

WoodlandTrail_2.jpg

Woods.jpg

Some shrooms

Shrooms.jpg

Ghost plant

If it wasn't for @traciyork's post about these plants a while back, I would have had no idea about what they are. I would have thought they were just some kind of mushroom. I was under attack by swarming mosquitoes while I was attempting to get a good shot of these. That's why it's a little out of focus.

Ghostplant.jpg

Cows and Bulls on the way home

The girls

Cows.jpg

Cows_2.jpg

Cows_3.jpg

The boys

Bulls.jpg

All photos, images and text in my posts are my original work.

Please visit my galleries on the following sites:
Society6
Fine Art America

Follow me on Facebook

Enjoy!

Roger

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

asapers 2.png
Banner by @shai-hulud

Sort:  

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Thank you so much!

Gorgerous shots of flowers and that forest trail look so inviting.

They’re like vitamins in my eyes Rwedegis! ❤️😍
Thanks for the showcase!
Looking forward to see more .

Thank you very much @joyrobinson!

De nada 🤗
Greetings fr. Spain

Loved your work. Flower and their colors. Looking so cute fresh. Thanks for good sharing.

Thank you so much for your comments!

So many amazing pictures, Roger! And so many familiar looking shots - we used to have a weekly homeschooling group that met at the Seacoast Science Center (a half hour from Great Bay) and I'd swear it was the same location.

However, I do know those exactly where those cows & bulls are, and I'm jealous you got a shot. I've been driving past them for almost six years now, and I never seem to have my camera with me when I have time to pull over...LOL!

Thanks for taking us along on your visit, and braving the mosquitoes so we don't have to. 😊

They told me that they have a lot of programs for kids at the center. They have a touchy feely aquarium there where the kids can hold horseshoe crabs, clams and things. There's a teepee in the woods with benches inside, that they must use as well. It was too buggy for me to do any exploring.

The cows weren't as close to the road as I would have liked, but they still looked cool all bunched up relaxing under the tree.

Thanks for stopping by at commenting!

Yes, they do, which is one of the reasons why it was a perfect spot to host homeschoolers. In fact (after I ask our three kidlets for permission of course) I might just do a Throwback Thursday kind of post with pictures from our days there. Thanks for the inspiration!

Oh Wow! That would be great!

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of August 18 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49