Ulog 22: Notes from the middle of my night about The Great Blue Heron in my life.

in #ulog6 years ago

IM001055c11.jpg

This Ulog Story Time is in response to the @steemusa Thursday Writing Challenge. Today's prompt is "Little Blue Heron" but in Texas everything is Greater. So.

I was going to tell you about the time that a great blue heron laughed at us as we approached the rapids in a New York river where my friend thinks she nearly drowned me and my husband became vexed beyond words trying to rescue me with a submerged canoe and I thought they were both daft. I was perfectly anchored to a perfectly stable rock and perfectly able to wait for a better offer from someone who was bound to come along with a non-submerged canoe. But! To find that glorious photo, I would have to get out of bed and fire up Mama Bear PC and probably wake the sleeping husband and I've already kept him awake by tossing and turning. And he actually has to leave the house in about 5 hours and function. So.

Instead I am going to stay very still in my cozy bed and I will draw on my phone's keyboard to tell you about living near a few elusive herons on the shores of Lake Tawakoni in Texas. Settle in, let's get started.

Into every pain some paradise must fall!

Twice we were privileged to live on the shores of Lake Tawakoni. It was a crazy crazy time. I loved it and it was also during one of our most excruciating times.

Some people go to college to learn to program. My husband was offered an apprenticeship type of arrangement and for about 3 years we had next to nothing.

There was also Army National Guard drama and multiple life changing family events and dramas. And we ended up driving a $25 car that was as dreadful as it seems it should be. All the same, I finally realized I should be grateful for it just to be done with having to ride around in it. The Ungrateful are seldom rewarded with upgrades.

Oh and I should probably mention the first six months we lived in a tent. In Texas. In the summer. With an air conditioner. More real true love for camping like that but it was a record year of rain ... Before years of drought but yeah ... After that we moved into an old RV.

In short, we pretty much stayed exhausted.

Cue the rainbows and unicorns herons!

There's nothing like living in the middle of nature in trying times. There were glorious sunrises and sunsets and rainbows and the colors of the seasons.

HPIM0942-1.jpg

There were 4 leaf clovers and little wild flowers. There was a little brown dog that would run to meet us when we came home and express her unbound excitement and love for us.

HPIM1544-1.jpg

And then there was the great blue heron. Yes singular. I never saw more than one at either location.

I'd never seen a bird that stalked around on long long legs and sat so still with such a watchful eye. Both were incredibly shy. And yet it was like each time I saw him, I was suppose to see him. I was being allowed to see him. But it was only long enough for him to be sure I saw him in his glory.

I can't explain why a simple bird would give me such a lift on the wings of fascination but I greatly appreciated his efforts to appear on really rough days.

But he was not big on being photographed.

Photos because it did happen

HPIM23111.jpg

HPIM23141.jpg
U
HPIM1521-1.jpg

HPIM0795-1.jpg

I had these few photos stashed online. I am not sure they will have any quality left to them by the time you see them. I have my phone light dimmed so, I'm totally guessing they're good enough. I'm still missing one of the Texas photos besides the NY photo perhaps they will visit on another day. I'm hoping to sprinkle in a few more photos from the lake before I max out my limits.


If you are a random visitor, if you don't leave a comment, I won't know you're real. It doesn't matter if you can't upvote. Don't fall for that BS. Please, Leave a comment. I don't follow anyone who doesn't leave a comment.
If you are a member of @SteemitMamas, @SteemUSA,
OR if you are participating in @Ulogs, @Steemhunt, OR @dLike OR #freewrite
OR if you follow me ...
  1. Feel free to leave a comment telling me how inspirational my writing is (or isn't) ;-)

  2. AND THEN you can also tell me what you've written about lately. LEAVE a LINK. Live large, break the "rules" (here).

  3. And who knows, then I might like what you write and follow you around, too.

  • Plus!!! Do you know that I reward good comments?

But Wait! There's more! Check out these great groups!

https://steempeak.com Is my favorite browsing and writing UI at the moment.


@ulogs: Member Posts, Discord, Post a ulog via https://ulogs.org or your favorite interface.


20180516_002249_0001.png
@SteemitMamas: Member Posts, Discord


steemusa_marillaanne_blue_custm.png
@SteemUSA: Member Posts, Discord


If you don't leave a comment I won't know you're real

Above all, seriously, cut through the bot line, comment, and let me know you're real ! !

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

This was a wonderful story. Something in me as well makes me so curious about these beautiful birds. I love that you shared a real-life experience/story with us. Thanks so much for joining the challenge.

Thank you! Herons are just majestic in their whole look and behavior. But don't tell the flock that landed over at @steemusa!

I really enjoyed writing through my sleepless night. I'm not excited about making it my norm though.

Writing fiction is beyond me. Everything I write is based in fact or experience or musings about the two. The style of literature I most relate to is personal essays. That's why almost all of my writings are @ulogs. I especially appreciate @surpassinggoogle's efforts to teach people that their voice about their life is important.

Thanks for stopping by and thanks for tending the @steemusa challenges.

I didn't know that you were living in a tent then. That is tough!!!

To me, the only thing tough about tent dwelling is being expected to go to work. I would love to live for a full year in a canvas wall tent, though. Or second option is travel around pulling a little travel trailer.

Nice to see you :-)

I know you say he or they do not like being photographed but you got some geat shots of him :)

I love these photos now but I remember being so disappointed with how flat they were compared to the actual bird. So I remain suspicious that we are still being cheated out of some glory. These are quite literally all I have except for two more somewhere.

What do you think of the modern art sculpture? It was the one and only remaining pole that belonged to a little boat dock that once lived there. The coil is a vehicle suspension spring.

Meh we could either count it an eye sore or art. We chose art.

Thanks for stopping by :-)

I often get the same feeling that the photos are flat and do not do justice to what I saw

Yeah lets call it modern art ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56373.71
ETH 2972.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12