Ulog 19: The importance of Ulogs, Vlogs, Personal Blogging, Challenges and Contests! Intro to a very long rant.

in #ulog6 years ago

image.png

Watching the stories of the common person and their daily life being beaten to a bloody pulp for the last eleven years has led me to the point of screaming from my porch: "I'm fed up! I can't take it any more! Listen to me! Your Day is Important ! We are under attack ! Listen !"

Your voice that you lend to the narrative of our history is our very future! The more we let loose truth about our day, our surroundings, our abilities to survive, the more difficult it is for those in power to craft lies for us to follow. Their illusion does not match our realities.

Unless. Unless we choose their illusion as our reality.

I feel like I'm watching an army of drones coming our way.

Imagine:

They hold glass globes with the illusion we are to believe -- one beautiful shiny personalize globe for each of us. As they approach, people see themselves in these illusions and they become confused. Some are pointing at themselves reflected in the illusion. The reflection makes them think they belong in the globe. Some people are pointing away from the globes and pointing to the reality all around them in their day. They try pointing to the glass but the others just see right through the glass to the illusion. The illusion is paradise.

And thus the powers that be stir up battles and little skirmishes in the ranks of the common and very real people. Some of the common people want to believe the illusion so badly they turn on the truth tellers. These illusion-deluded people carefully craft their photos and stories to fit and prove the illusion in order to gain their own level of ruling power within the illusion. Gradually, they are pulled through the glass into the globe. They are played with and paraded about by the bigger powers until their little souls go dead and we watch them grasping and pleading with the illusion to stay and for us to believe.

Some are kept free from illusions by the little reflections of truth bouncing off the glass of the illusion globe. They see these bits of truth held up all around them by real, truth-telling individuals. These truth tellers use little bits of personal observations about real events and real life-conditions tucked into the frames of ulogs, vlogs, personal blogs, challenges and contests. Sometimes the most revealing truths are tucked away down deep in the comments, behind the framed photos.

It has become a common game of power seekers to beat down the common person's story about their food, their pets, their gardens, their daily struggle against defeat through the most common of activities. Why? Why are these deemed so insignificant? Because, they are those little shards of truth that keep so many from being swallowed whole by the illusion.

What is the illusion?

The illusion is that if we own the right things, follow the right leaders, convince the right people to care for us and give freely to us, then ... only then ... will we be loved and protected and respected.

The reality:

We will be loved, when we love. We will be cared for, when we care. We will be respected as we respect. The reality isn't out there in the illusion. The reality is in how we love those around us. The reality is in how we protect and care for what and who we have already with us. The reality is in what and whom we choose to respect.

These realities show up in our personal communications, our personal revelations, and our personal reflections on life. Ulogs, personal blogs (Steemit, Steempeak, eSteem, Busy, dLike), vlogs (dLive, dTube), and challenges and contests give us the most powerful and subtle tools to slip truth to our family and friends and complete strangers. ... to hold up those little reflections of reality that are precious and piercing in their simple truth.

Do not let the power-hungry make you feel insignificant. You stand between a much more sane world and their goal of being the rulers of peons and pawns who feed their structure.

Never ever forget those that rage about shit posts and stupid-resource-consuming challenges and another photo of food and silly art are the very people who are falling under the power of the illusion. Keep on slipping bits of that reality pie their way. Who knows, maybe they will remember it the next time they want to silence someone's voice by declaring the illusion as reality.

Well, yes of course, reality can take down rulers. Seriously, there are Steemers who know too much because too many have simply told the truth about medical conditions, education opportunities, and searching for supplies. You know who you are. And you know who you are. And you both know you won't be the same because you wrote/read that ulog or #freewrite, you made/watched that vlog, and you made/followed that curated link.

A simple example:

One of the most impacting pieces I've read on STEEM was from a young man who photographed a tree that was crushing and crumbling a concrete pillar. In just a few words, he declared that he was going to overcome his own life challenges just as the tree was -- cell by cell, moment by moment.

"Slice of Life" it's a legit literature type.

From the all-knowing Wikipedia

In literary parlance, the term "slice of life" refers to a storytelling technique that presents a seemingly arbitrary sample of a character's life, which often lacks a coherent plot, conflict, or ending. The story may have little plot progress and often has no exposition, conflict, or dénouement, but rather has an open ending.

And so goes life! Indecipherable plot that is not always in conflict and has an unknown ending.

Be Encouraged.

Be Brave!

Tell your Daily Truth.

Change the world.


Yes. Yes, this is just the intro.

If you are a random visitor, if you don't leave a comment, I won't know you're real. It doesn't matter if you can't upvote. Don't fall for that BS. Please, Leave a comment. I don't follow anyone who doesn't leave a comment.

If you are a member of @SteemitMamas, @SteemUSA, @MixedMedia, or @ArtzOne
OR if you are participating in @Ulogs, @Steemhunt, @dLike OR #freewrite
OR if you follow me ...
  1. Feel free to leave a comment telling me how inspirational my writing is (or isn't) ;-)

  2. AND THEN you can also tell me what you've written about lately. LEAVE a LINK. Live large, break the "rules" (here).

  3. And who knows, then I might like what you write and follow you around, too.

  • Plus!!! Do you know that I reward good comments?

But Wait! There's more! Check out these great groups!

https://steempeak.com Is my favorite browsing and writing UI at the moment.



@ulogs: Member Posts, Discord, Post a ulog via https://ulogs.org or your favorite interface.


20180516_002249_0001.png
@SteemitMamas: Member Posts, Discord


steemusa_marillaanne_blue_custm.png
@SteemUSA: Member Posts, Discord, logo by @BearOne Arly


If you don't leave a comment I won't know you're real

Above all, seriously, cut through the bot line, comment, and let me know you're real ! !

Sort:  

You have so much wisdom and common sense. Thanks for the reminders to be decent people who look out for one another.
Phew! I almost didn't make the cut. If I follow @SteemitMamas, @SteemUSA, @MixedMedia, or @ArtzOne
OR if you are participating in @Ulogs, @Steemhunt, @dLike OR
#freewrite Ding! Ding! Ding!
I'm real, @marillaanne, and I've been commenting and upvoting a variety of posts and people here for more than a year. Some days, I don't know why I post at all. I'm grateful to @crescendoofpeace, @raj808, and @sarez for reading what I write, others for their auto-upvotes, and @kona, @supernovastaffy, and @juliank for their ongoing support. You won't find @readingdanvers in the haunts you mention (not that I know of) but she's an awesome reviewer of comic books and movies. I love @mariannewest's 5-minute freewrite and all the #freewritinghouse projects. My apologies to anyone I've failed to mention, and thanks again to the "regulars" who acknowledge my existence.
I write about happy things: dogs, cats, prairie flowers, music, but all too often, I write about murder (cold cases), and when I write fiction, I tend to adopt the POV of middle-aged women who are way more competent than I am in real life. I suspect people are turned off by the geeky factoids I sneak into every story, Or, not sneak, but send in like a derailed train. Today's freewrite, e.g.: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@carolkean/brownian-motion-or-day-320-or-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-feeling-the-love
Thanks for inviting us to break the rules and post links. And thanks for reaching out!

Thank you! I so appreciate you mentioning people who do good things! @mariannewest is one of my favorite people here. She has a good heart and always wants good things for people.

Thank you for a helpful introduction to yourself too. I think I may have read one of your cold case posts once upon a time.

I'm glad you enjoyed breaking the rules. :-)

Hi @marillaanne, I am a random visitor, found this post from @surpassinggoogle's re-steem. I think this was the post I needed to read today, timing is everything isn't it. I love #ulog's, #freewrite's and @steemhunt and think sometimes there is too much pressure here to be an amazing writer.

Thanks for your post, and at your invitation, I shall break the rules and drop a link to a raffle I am running to raise funds for Australian farmers suffering from severe drought. https://steemit.com/hayrunners/@jk6276/win-steembasicincome-shares-or-a-week-of-upvotes-hayrunners-fundraiser

Thanks, and have a great day,

John.

I'm glad you are encouraged! A few words are often better remembered than an essay. Probably Always Better Remembered ;-)

Thank you for leaving the link-taxi to a great goal !

Haha. What an intro!
This summarizes my posture:

The more we let loose truth about our day, our surroundings, our abilities to survive, the more difficult it is for those in power to craft lies for us to follow.

Sometimes i feel so out of place because of my emphasis on criticizing what's wrong around us. Is it possible that i am delusional and the rest of the people can really live well, unaffected?
Of course i know that there are many out there doing what i tend to do, but it's a minority. Many more may agree with you but their voices are silent (it's like abstentionism during elections).
Thank you for your encouraging words. You have a young energetic and energizing spirit.

You have a young energetic and energizing spirit.

You make me laugh so hard !!

I am old, tired, sleep deprived, slightly ill (still, again), and rather angry. I suspect you could be sensing the hysterical screaming I did earlier, from my front porch. The cows across the street didn't even respond. The cats wanted food and the dogs bayed from the kennel. That's the scene you probably mistook for energetic spirit.

All the same. You and others in your area of the world and other parts of the world have no idea how important your role is as communicators of the truth of your days. I recently listened to a lecture that would actually help you understand. It's behind a paywall though. I'll see if I can't pull out some of the best quotes soon.

In short, even if you end up sealing notes of truth inside bottles for discovery in some future excavation, do it!

On the flip side, it is also good to look for those moments of joy in your day, like that moment when your dogs were at peace.You ended that piece perfectly, too, by the way.

Every day it becomes more and more difficult for lies to glisten and shine because of the reflections cast by the truth of common people. Don't stop holding up the truth. It is not your place in life to be a clown for the world. Do not step into that role. Please.

I saw even in your last story, someone opened their mind to new realities. This is a good thing. This is the best thing you could have done for that person.

You have my deepest respect.

Thank you so much.
If i made you laugh, then i consider my good deed of the day acomplished :)

I'll keep disturbing the universe, while looking for its beauty and inspiration to move on.
You stay away from the cows.

LoL believe me! I stay far from those cows. They are huge! Definitely not my pets. Well not my cows either.

Yes one should be truthful n be encouraged enough to be successful thank you for the nice thought

You're welcome. Thanks for stopping by.

Indecipherable plot that is not always in conflict and has an unknown ending has its place in literature - "slice of life" - wow, I haven't heard that term since college. (Don't ask how many years ago.) Oh, I internalized it, but I forgot the justification for it. I'm a panster not a plotter, and "vignette" might be the word I heard more, vs slice of life, but I get it. And THANK YOU for this reminder. @marillaanne.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations @marillaanne! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62726.25
ETH 3050.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81