Becoming a Better Steemian – Getting Hung Up on Numbers

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

As you guys already know @nathanmars is here in Poland with me and we are having tons of fun roaming around the city and being nomads. I guess Nathan's nomadic spirit is rubbing off on me :-)

But apart from all the exploration and moving around in Warsaw, the food, the fun, we have had some truly enlightening conversations. Interacting with him has been an amazingly valuable experience for me. I guess I just thought that I knew him from all the conversations that we used to have on Steemit and videos on Dtube. Now that he is here, and we have met in person, I think I understand what he is trying to accomplish here on steem blockchain better than ever. But what's even more valuable to me has been getting to know him on a personal level.

Yesterday after dinner we were just sitting around and chatting in general and before we knew it, two hours had passed. Long story short, I have decided not to stick to numbers anymore. To understand me please take a look at this picture I compiled from @paulag's redfish power up league:

redfish power up league.png

It represents the amount that I have powered up per week.

The thing is that I have this idea of getting 500SP before the end of September and more than 1000SP before this year ends. In the past I have been really crazy with my numbers. Once I set them, then I push myself to achieve them. Now I feel that this attitude has actually been holding me back. What if I can get 600SP but I won't because I am limiting myself with the target of 500SP? What happens if I fall sick after 450 SP and am not able get to 500SP? Do I give up after that? Does it even make sense to get hung up on numbers?

This is something that @ronaldoavelino also said. Not to get hung up on numbers, that is. Let me just end up by saying that I'll keep the numbers in mind because I know that they are important. At the same time, I’ll shift my focus to my work here on the Steem blockchain. And my work is - Content and building a solid community.

Sort:  

Sounds like a smart decision, @hashcash.
Numbers are not good for anyone. As long zs they are as expected, it is less of a problem, but if they are off for some reason, they can be really demotivating.

I guess the number shave their place in the plan. I am just kind of tired of stressing about them.

Good to see the delegation going to good use!

Hell yeah! I have actually been upvoting my posts for the last couple of months :-)
Obviously I am upvoting other posts too, but now I know that none of my posts are going to end up with zero cents :-).

I am also noticing that my payouts might have gone down in dollar but have actually increased in the number of steem tokens earned. I guess this is the time post even more

I think that goals are very important in life. Specific targets that you would like to hit along the way to your end destination. With that said goals can be flexible, life happens every day and it's impossible to plan everything that is ahead of you. Having 500sp as a goal is a great target.

Getting it as soon as it can be achieved leaves a lot more room to maneuver than setting an exact date. You will still feel as good when you hit it as long as you know that you have worked towards it as much as you wanted to. Hit that and then off to 1000sp and so on and so forth.

Life is never exact but it's always nice to have targets as you move through it.

I think you are right about trying to get to you targets ASAP..... on the other hand I was also stressing about getting to them on a particular date. In a way, dates and numbers are also distracting you from the goal itself.... not that its wrong or anything. Maybe everybody have their way and to some it might suit and to some it might not.......

There is no right or wrong way to do it. It just depends on what suits you best and what you can commit to. And that's going to be different for everyone.
I spent months on here trying different things and trying out everything I could find. Some work, some don't but I will keep doing the bits I enjoy.

While I love to increase my sp and interact on here if I don't enjoy what I'm doing there is no point really. I already have a job to keep me miserable so my spare time needs to be used well. But I do love the site so for now anyway I'm going to be like yourself and aim for the next goal. 5k sp is the long term plan but 2k would be nice for now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Getting those numbers up is definitely tough lately. Sometimes quality isn't not enough to attract the attention of investors and whales.

I suggest entering different contests and commenting on a lot of different posts.

Good luck buddy.

I hope to visit Poland one day.

I have been trying to enter different contests and trying to to be participate in events and games.... it definitely helps with the growth.

Coming to Poland is a great idea!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hey wise decision my new friend!

We want to be successful but also to have fun and no pressure or doubts. That's why goals should be flexible or adjustable in the best case.

I think the problem of explicit numbers combined with a fixed date as goals is, that they are fix defined and not adjustable. The goal should be something flexible at a fixed moment OR something fixed on a flexible moment.

Some examples:

  • I will do everything to create a successful dapp within the next year
  • someday I will live completely from steem
  • I want to be noticed from the dtubers I am looking up to in 2 months latest.

I recognized this after my last 2 absolutely false planned goals also fully fixed like yours where:

  1. In the early may 2018 I had 500SP and had the 1000SP goal in my head for the upcoming year. And now - my next power up is coming - I will have accomplished it already :D
  2. My second goal I setted up was even achieved after 1,5 months later, many many fake accounts and 2 giveaways-contests I created. 500 followers untill 1.5.2019 lol

I will set up two new realistic but flexible goals within the next month and publish them on steemit to be transparent and honest to myself and my followers.

Was this log table made by you? Crazy professional level man! ^^

Have a nice night and Sunday tomorrow :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Once you make a mistake with your planning, then you know for sure 'what not to do' when strategizing for the next game. I guess course correction is very much the part of the process.......

I think your strategy is a reasonable one. If you share them here on steemit, the you might be even more motivated to achieve them :-)

PS: I took that data from @paulag's weekly update of redfish power up league

Yeah this is my plan to do :)
But this time I will not just say it in a video, I will write it into a post. Because of the videos will get deleted after some time and I have no prove of it anymore haha

Hashcash I think this is a really good look at the weekness of being too focused on the numbers. Of course we can have weekness on the otherside as well, being unfocused or lack of focus.

Like so many things in life, virtue lies in the comfortable medium between two extremes. We must have strong vision and clear goals, but also be flexible to seize opportunities and maintain motivation.

Thanks for sharing, this motivated me! Steem on!

Always good to have a strong vision and goals. I guess if one is careful of not getting too caught up with them then progress can come much easier and with a lot less stress

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62502.56
ETH 3008.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50