Ulog No. 16: "When You're Upvoted by..."

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

imageedit_1_2754317052.png
by @evlachsblog

rsz_transparent.png

Following up on my previous post: Ulog No. 15: "Marie and Pierre Curie", the word "curie" is such a significant part of my life. It's because "Madame Curie and Monsieur Curie" was the reason I won the first place award in our school science quiz bee in 1995. It's a trivial matter to some, but for a 12-year-old child who grew up with insecurity and low self-belief, the recognition somehow boosted my self-confidence.

Now, of course, here on Steemit, curie is not related to those French physicists, even though their new URL platform for the platform is https://www.becquerel.io (Note: Henri Becquerel, for his discovery of radioactivity, shared with Marie and Pierre Curie Nobel Prize for Physics in 1903).

Steemians associate @curie, instead, with manual curation and upvotes by its curators which boosts the morale and increases the motivation of Steemians to write more quality posts. As some of you may agree, writing here on this platform can be very discouraging especially to the newbies because it can make someone feel "exploited" or unrewarded for a post that was carefully thought out and written well.

Since I started writing regulary in February this year, I have never earned an income from Steemit, but I didn't mind. Because:

  • I gained friendships and connected with a lot of people after joining the Discord groups.
  • I love the dynamics of the Steemit community.
  • I have rekindled my love for expressing my thoughts through blogging.
  • I have been learning so much from other people's life experiences, their messages, thoughts and ideas, and just through communicating with them via Discord or comments on each other's posts.
  • I am able to help others in any way I can, or when I can, big or small.
  • It gives me confidence and self-belief that I have a message to share.
  • *
    I use this platform to share the Good News of the love of God for mankind by sending His Only Son, Jesus Christ, that somehow through my message, I am able to give inspiration to a lot of people.
    *

Going back to "curie"...

When I first got the curie vote for a post I wrote on 11th April 2018, I was over the moon.

The title of my post is:

How do you Help your Children Build a Rich Vocabulary Day by Day?

curied11.jpg

curie12.jpg

I seriously thought there was a technical glitch on the system, because the post had only been submitted for 6 hours and when I woke up, the votes kept on adding up. The payout was increasing as well. I could not believe it. Even up to now, I still have lots of things that I don't understand about blockchain and cryptocurrency, so I really don't know how to earn here.

However, when I had over $50 as payout for my post, I felt like I received my first salary. It was an incredible experience and feeling. I used the SBDs and Steem that I earned from that post to pay for resteem and bid bots to boost the visibility of my succeeding posts. It helped a little bit but I later found out I should have just used them to power up so that my vote value would have increased, too. I admit I was not a good steward of my SBDs and Steems.

Then, two months later, on the 22nd of June...

... I wrote this post, which is entitled:

Caring for and Working with Children who may have ADD or ADHD

curied22.jpg

Then, at six in the morning, 23rd of June, I received this notification from @ginabot:

curiedginabot.jpg

I quickly checked my post. "Is this a dream?" I asked myself. (It's so evident that you're so hooked on Steemit when you dream about it, too.)

curievote.jpg

Yes, I got a @curie vote from that post, but I didn't quite expect that, because over 24 hours had passed and the number of upvotes was not increasing, not that I had been waiting for a curie vote every single time I'd submit a post. But of course, when I know that I put effort in my writing, I am secretly hoping that my post will be seen and get lots of votes, all the more so to be upvoted by whales. It is, after all, every new Steemian's dream, isn't it?

It was, indeed, such an amazing feeling that I felt, especially the second time around. I could feel my 12-year-old self emerge from within once again. Even though curie did not showcase my post, but still their manual curation and vote was like, to me, winning a first place award.

Thank you to all the @curie curators. You are an inspiration to many and your curation service along with others makes Steemit a cleaner and a better platform. More power and success to all of you!

rsz_transparent.png

ezgif.com-resize (3).gif

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his Ulog inititative because it helps us (Steemit users) write something about ourselves even on a daily basis.

The "U" in Ulogs means "You."

The following are some of my Ulog posts since I started #ulogging on 1st June 2018:

Ulogs No.
Title
15
Marie and Pierre Curie
14
When God doesn't answer my prayers, it doesn't mean He's absent
13
Bushwalk Fun and Adventure with the Children
My other recent posts:

Setting up an Active Learning Environment (Part 1)
Caring for and Working with Children who may have ADD or ADHD
"Aitch or Haitch" - 5 Minute Freewrite Monday Prompt: Herbs

rsz_transparent.png

Other certified #uloggers that I recommend:

@dynamicshine (my sister), @dynamicgreentk, @mariannewest, @puregrace, @lantracy, @mhm-philippines, @quochuy, @rabiujaga, @veejay2312

Please vote for @cloh76.witness, @steemgigs, @pharesim, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @mahdiyari, @yabapmatt, @blocktrades, @curie, @utopian-io, @qurator, @hr1 and @ausbitbank as witnesses to let them know you support their work!
You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Steemit_Greeters_Guild (1).png

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls
rsz_sgg_footers6.png

rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

itestify.jpg


All photos are mine, except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit, @steembulls, @terminallyill, @flaminghelpers, and @itestify), #ulogger GIF file by @phantum04 and footer image by @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

I think what you present in this post is very interesting to me because it is presented in a trace or regular. I find you a person who enjoys the process and keeps improving creativity and this is a good capital for your future development. I am happy for your achievements

Thank you for your thoughtful comment and feedback, @mghufroncholid31. I do enjoy writing on Steemit and I take pride in my work. The markdowns and everything were challenging at first, but I am very eager to learn because I want to present my blog posts in a neat and organised format. I consider how people would feel reading my posts. I would like them to enjoy not just the information I had written or the message I want to put across, but also how pleasing it is in the eyes of the reader. I still have lots of things to learn, it's never-ending. Even the markdown, just like using the subscript and the red font was new to me. I have only just learnt it this week.

I remember the feeling of joy when I received my first curie. In fact, I felt a little silly when I realized I had actually jumped for joy! It's a little disheartening when you put copious amounts of effort into your work and it goes unrecognized, but continuing to plug along, and engage with the community is a sure way to gain recognition for your hard work.

Some people put in the effort, and they are simply not very good at writing. This ins't the case with you. Not only are you a good writer, but you know how to style your blogs with markdown, which is an acquired skill, that takes drive and desire to learn.

These are the things quality content curators look for when making their decisions. It's more than just how good you can write, it's how far are you willing to go to give the reader the ultimate experience. And you deliver. If anyone deserves curie's it's you!

And for those who aren't very good at writing or styling, I would suggest finding what you are good at, and go that route. Perhaps its some form of art, or self expression, and this platform makes it easy to share what ever it is you choose to upload. I have seen some very successful artists on here, and they barely write at all. The sky is the limit!

Great job @evlachsblog!!!

I did, too, @futuremind. Although like I mentioned in my post, I was not too sure whether it was real or not, like some sort of technical glitch at the time. I immediately called my sister @dynamicshine and had her check my post. She was also thrilled and happy for me.

When it comes to writing and presenting my work, I am a bit meticulous. I always do my best to produce a neat work, but in spite of countless times of proofreading, I will still miss some grammatical or spelling errors, so I will edit it straight away. I don't settle for "that's good enough". Just like you said,

it's how far you are willing to go to give the reader the ultimate experience.

I am not saying that my work is always outstanding or exceptional, but I know which ones that I was hoping would get appreciated at least, would spark interactions with other people, and would get higher value of upvotes. I would be hypocrite if I'd say I did not get frustrated every time I'd write a post worthy of recognition but never got what I believe the attention it deserved.

Thank you for stopping by and for giving me your thoughtful comment and feedback. I totally agree with everything that you said. One of that is:

Finding what you are good at.

In other words, recognise your own strengths and capabilities and acknowledge your weakness, but that weakness should not make you settle for less, but use that as motivation to improve and develop or even discover your hidden talents and skills.

When it comes to writing and presenting my work, I am a bit meticulous. I always do my best to produce a neat work, but in spite of countless times of proofreading, I will still miss some grammatical or spelling errors, so I will edit it straight away. I don't settle for "that's good enough"

I usually perform three proof reads, find that it's perfect, post, then see errors immediately! Haha Yeah I totally understand where you are coming from!
( ಠ ͜ʖರೃ)

In other words, recognise your own strengths and capabilities and acknowledge your weakness, but that weakness should not make you settle for less, but use that as motivation to improve and develop or even discover your hidden talents and skills.

You hit the nail on the head. Brilliantly elaborated.

Nice chatting with you. Keep up the great work!
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Likewise and keep up the great work, too!

Nice one!
It's always good to get curied :-D
You deserved it

It is always nice to see a curie vote - that is for sure!!
How do you get your text to show up red?

It is! It is such an incredible feeling, for sure!!! :-)

As for the red text:

< div class = "phishy" > text < / div>

but without spaces. :-)

Oh except the div class, there's always a space in between div and class.

My pleasure. :-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evlachsblog from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You are such an angel! You deserve this and more hopefully will come your way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87