Ulog No. 13: "Bushwalk Fun and Adventure with the Children"

in #ulog6 years ago

bush1.jpg

It was a cold morning. I wanted to stay in bed for a little bit more. I snoozed my alarm about 10 times, I think, from 6:15 to 7:10 AM, and in between snoozes, I still managed to sleep. But of course, eventually, I had to get up and get ready for work.

Luckily, I live in a country-type city where I can get to any destination within 3-5 minutes.

I love just being able to wake up and not worry about the traffic. Even if my work starts at 8:30 A.M., I can start getting ready at half past 7 and will arrive at school at 8 A.M.

Usually, I would come to work 45 minutes before my actual "clock-in" so I could set the activities up ready for the day, or if there's anything that needed to be prepared, I could quickly do it. So that at exactly 8:30 A.M., I am on the floor engaging with the children and the parents straight away.

But today, I got to school at 8:10 A.M. I was not worried at all. I prepared all that we needed for today's activity before I went home last night. We had another session of "Bush Kindy". Children were very excited. They were more than excited not only because it was Bush Kindy, but also because today, their buddies from the Grade 6 class would be joining us.

The cold wind coming from the South Pole didn't bother us, especially the children. The children couldn't wait until we were all allowed to explore and wander through the salt bushes and trees. I had 3 ELC children plus their three Grade 6 buddies under my supervision for about an hour. It was great to see those children look up to their older peers with respect. They adore and love their buddies!!!

This experience once again provided plenty of learning opportunities for all the children. They used their inquiry and investigative skills in exploring their surroundings. They were given a list of things for their scavenger hunt, which caused a lot of fun and laughter among the kids. I had a great time just watching them interact with one another and listening to their conversations.

"This is moss," one child said.
"Where's the moth?" another one asked.
"I said moss!"

bush3.jpg

"A kangaroo paw print!"
"No, it's just an ant hole."

bush4.jpg

Everybody helped each other build a stick house that looked like a tepee...

... and realised one is not enough.
They had to make another house to make it two.
Great team work!!!

bush5.jpg

Of course, I had to check if it was safe to come in.
Assessment: Not safe for adults! Only kids are allowed.

bush6.jpg

Overall, the bush kindy was fun and special! It was great to see the bigger kids leading their younger peers with care and respect. Everybody displayed excellent skills such as team work, negotiation, problem solving, inquiry, trial and error, and investigation throughout the morning. I'm sure the children went home exhausted but happy and fulfilled after such a rewarding experience they had today.

Thank you for reading. If you have any suggestion for fun activities that we can use in our preschool program or any feedback regarding my post, please leave a reply on the comment section below. I appreciate your thoughts. Thank you!

rsz_transparent.png

ezgif.com-resize (3).gif

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his Ulog inititative because it helps us (Steemit users) write something about ourselves even on a daily basis.

The "U" in Ulogs means "You."

The following are some of my Ulog posts since I started #ulogging on 1st June 2018:

#Ulogs
Title
12
My Thoughts on Confiding in Someone
11
One Thing my Father Taught Me
10
Making Story Stones
9
Taking Care of my Home
8
I Rolled my Ankle during a Volleyball Game

rsz_transparent.png

Other certified #uloggers that I recommend:

@dynamicshine (my sister), @rabiujaga, @baa.steemit, @dynamicgreentk, @mariannewest, @puregrace, @lantracy, @mhm-philippines, @quochuy

Please vote for @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @pharesim, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @mahdiyari, @yabapmatt, @blocktrades, @utopian-io, @qurator, @hr1 and @ausbitbank as witnesses to let them know you support their work!
You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Steemit_Greeters_Guild (1).png

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls
rsz_sgg_footers6.png

rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

itestify.jpg


All photos are mine, except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit, @steembulls, @terminallyill, @flaminghelpers, and @itestify), #ulogger GIF file by @phantum04 and footer image by @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

Sis...I think you're the one who really had fun the most hehehe 😂 kids have great imagination on things, they always amaze me.

Hahaha!!! Is it too obvious? LOL!!! Yes, kids are creative and innovative. You give them anything, and they will create a work of art!

Congratulations @evlachsblog! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Love the stick house/teepee! :-)

They're cool, hey! I hope when we go back next time we have the bush kindy, the stick houses are still there. It can be really windy in our area.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evlachsblog from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This is so cute!! I loved the stick house too <3 one never should stop being an inner kid :)

Thank you, @unicornia. Yes, we have "inner kid" in us. That's the good thing about teaching younger children. I can be like them and they won't judge me. They love that I play with them, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34