Ulog No. 12: "My Thoughts on Confiding in Someone"

in #ulog6 years ago

It's never a nice feeling to find out that everyone knows your business and that's after you told someone about your problem. It actually breaks your heart. When you trust someone, you trust that you can open up to them and expose your own vulnerabilities, but at the back of your mind, you also don't want your own secrets to be passed around.

When that happens, you stop trusting the person and decide not to tell them any more of what's going on in your life - as in never again. They break your trust which causes your relationship to break down as well.

Trusting someone always involves a risk.

However, opening up to other people is something that we should be doing because we need advice, support, and encouragement. With that in mind, we need to ensure that we choose carefully about who we can confide in and open up to.

Ever since a relative and a family member betrayed my trust, I could never trust them again. Yes, I have forgiven them, but because of betrayal of trust, I could never see myself opening up to them anymore. I have opened up my eyes instead and have become careful of the words that I say to them.

The following verses help me remind myself of the limitations and reservations I have for other people:


We should be wary of people who talk to us about other people because they're more likely to talk about us behind our back.

Who, then, are the trustworthy people in our lives? They are those who can keep to themselves anything that we tell them. They won't be the ones who tell others and spread gossip. They are the people that we know that will pray to God, will seek Him on our behalf and will give us godly counsel.

Remember:

James 3:17: "But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy."

Lesson learnt:

We must confide only in people who walk according to the principles of God's Word. It's best and wise to control our mouths, our thoughts, and our focus. Our silence can never be taken out of context. Another great proverb worth memorising:

Proverbs 21:23
He who guards his mouth and his tongue, guards his soul from troubles.

I hope you have learnt the message I want to put across. Please share with me your similar experiences and how you have maintained your relationship with the person even after betraying your trust. Thank you for reading.

rsz_transparent.png

ezgif.com-resize (3).gif

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his Ulog inititative because it helps us (Steemit users) write something about ourselves even on a daily basis.

The "U" in Ulogs means "You."

The following are some of my Ulog posts since I started #ulogging on 1st June 2018:

#Ulogs
Title
11
One Thing my Father Taught Me
10
Making Story Stones
9
Taking Care of my Home
8
I Rolled my Ankle during a Volleyball Game
7
(Not) Tending the Garden

rsz_transparent.png

Other certified #uloggers that I recommend:

@dynamicshine (my sister), @rabiujaga, @baa.steemit, @dynamicgreentk, @mariannewest, @puregrace, @lantracy, @mhm-philippines, @quochuy

Please vote for @cloh76.witness, @steemgigs, @pharesim, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @mahdiyari, @yabapmatt, @blocktrades, @jackmiller, @qurator, @hr1 and @ausbitbank as witnesses to let them know you support their work!
You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Steemit_Greeters_Guild (1).png

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls
rsz_sgg_footers6.png

rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

itestify.jpg


All photos are mine, except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit, @steembulls, @terminallyill, @flaminghelpers, and @itestify), #ulogger GIF file by @phantum04 and footer image by @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

I really appreciate your blog today. I discovered that someone had betrayed a confidence and also misrepresented my original conversation this morning. I was able to clear up the misinformation but I also made a mental note to be wary of that person when it comes to sharing secrets. The scripture is clear and I appreciate your scriptural references regarding your innermost thoughts.

There is wisdom in silence. People can only guess what is on our mind, why we're not saying anything, but at least we don't leave room for any misinterpretation. Usually, issues escalate just because words were taken out of context.

Thank you for your comment. I'm glad you appreciated my blog. xx

You hit the nail on the head. If you trust someone and they betray that trust - you can never fully trust them again. Forgive them, yes. Trust. No.

Yep! Trust is earned, and once it's broken, it's hard to earn it again. You just become wiser in dealing with them so you start to set your boundaries with them. For me, I cannot ever trust the person again. I did it once or twice, and I thought, when will I ever learn? I was too trusting before, but when my heart was badly broken because someone decided to betray my trust, I just couldn't get myself be the same person around them anymore. Yes, I have forgiven, but I just can no longer trust them even with minor detail of my life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60748.61
ETH 2912.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36