The death of a productive day (Ulog #14)

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Unsplash

Some days start with so much promise! Today, the little one was at daycare for the whole day, my wife was going to be at Dutch class in the morning, where I would meet her for lunch (with the older daughter) and then the two of them would stay in the city doing Mother/Daughter bonding time until the late afternoon when they would pick up the little one from daycare and head home.

So, in theory, I would have had most of the day to myself. To practice, do the taxes and tidy up all the administrative/computing stuff that had been left undone for way too long. If I was lucky, I would even have time left over for some gaming!

In Practice

"...no plan of operations extends with any certainty beyond the first contact with the main hostile force."
quoted from "On Strategy" (1871)/"Über Strategie" (1871), Helmuth von Moltke the Elder.


Well, that was the plan but a number of things turned my ideal plan for the day (and my brain) to mush.


Well, the first problem was an ongoing problem at the moment. Recently, in the last few weeks, our toddler (dreumes, which funnily enough also means minnow) has been a terrible sleeper. She has been taking about 2-3 hours to fall asleep and she has tended to wake for a couple hours in the middle of the night, before waking up early.

We've tried all the tricks, staying inside, staying outside... screaming... crying .... everything... weirdly enough, the oldest is immune to it all, completely fast asleep through all of it! To top it off, we just took the railings off her bed, as it is currently the best free time for the two of us to try and handle that particular hurdle!

EDIT: As I was writing that last paragraph, the youngest just pooped in the bath. This day is turning out crappy in more ways that one.... I didn't have the presence of mind to take photos to include for this ulog, next time I'll be better prepared! Sorry, this time you'll just have to use your imagination...

As my wife for the past two weeks has been doing an intensive Dutch course and I'm not currently doing too much work (that changes this weekend!), I've been taking the bulk evening and night duties (it doesn't help that I'm a light sleeper). Which means I'm pretty much a zombie in the morning (I operate pretty badly on lack of sleep), on most of the days, I can get an extra hour or so before my wife leaves for her class, but this morning I needed to help get the younger one ready to go. So no extra sleep....


The other "problem" has been that the weather has been uncommonly good. Hot, no rain for the past few weeks, it's pretty unusual for The Netherlands to be like this for such a long period of time! On the other hand, I prefer it to the wind and the rain, although today it hit over 35 degrees Celcius (2.74246 million degrees Fahrenheit for those who still use that ancient system).

I know that I'm Australian and that I should be able to handle this sort of heat, but the truth is that I've lost my ability to handle heat. However, it is mostly also due to the fact that the houses here are just not equipped or designed to handle high temperatures, in fact, they are designed to heat or keep heat in. So, our house was pretty warm today, the attic was unbearable, the middle was warm and the bottom was the only refuge!

However, there might be some relief, as I can hear the distant rumble of thunder, so there might be a thunderstorm this evening to drop the temperature. Although, it is a bit late for the @ifc photo round....

My Zombie morning


So, after sending my wife and youngest off in the morning. My plan was to get back straight to sleep. However, the early morning heat put that idea on hold and in the end, I didn't end up finding the time to do it at any point in the day.

Now, when I'm tired like this, my wife tells me I'm completely vague. Well, she also adds the qualifier, annoyingly vague. I feel slow, my brain skips beats and I can't seem to hold a train of thought for longer than a few seconds before staring off into space again.

For example, this morning, when I finally decided to give up on the sleeping and to make my coffee, I managed to turn on and off the coffee machine about 10 times before being able to make myself a coffee. I would turn it on, then get distracted by cleaning or tidying up the morning breakfast mess. It would turn itself off, then I would turn it on again (the turning off was a reminder that I wanted a coffee)... rinse and repeat.... I pretty sure that I ended up with a coffee, but I'm not totally sure now that I'm trying to remember back.

So, the bulk of the morning was spent looking for the bank authentication token. I needed it, and it wasn't getting found. After a couple of hours, I finally found it in the inside pocket of my concert jacket. I have NO idea why it would be there, and also no idea why I ended up looking there.

Before I knew it, the morning was over, and I had to get the bike truck ready to meet my wife to hand over our oldest daughter.

My Zombie afternoon


We ended up having a nice lunch together, although, I was drenched in sweat after riding the bakfiets (bucket bike) into town. For some reason, I had forgotten to put shorts and t shirt on, instead managing to dress myself in long pants and a long sleeves. Well, it was what was on top of the pile!

Riding back (and there) was a bit of a blur, I'm pretty happy I didn't get hit by anything. The sun was out in full force and so it was pretty hot riding, despite the flat gradient and the lack of wind.


I was pretty determined (when I could get the fuzziness out of my head) that I would at least finish the VAT/BTW quarterly declaration. I remember a time (before kids) when I would just log each receipt and invoice as they came in, immediately or on the same day at the latest. These days, I save them up for the end of the quarter, and then try and do it. Not the best plan for today, I ended up ditching about half the possible claims because I just couldn't be bothered trying to do them.


Surprisingly enough, I did manage to complete a normally 2 hour job within 4 hours. Most of that was due to the fact I was just ditching stuff rather than logging them. Well, I still had some time before the family arrived back home, so I had a go at practicing. Nope, bad idea, on days like this, it is best to cut your losses and come back when your brain and fingers are deciding to co-operate together.

So, it was just menial cleaning tasks and cooking. The most hilarious part of it was filling up the toilet paper dispensers. I would walk to the attic, stare around having forgotten the reason for going there... and then walk back, see the empty dispensers, walk back up.... forgotten... walk back down...

Finally, Rescue



I was finally rescued by the return of my wife and children. They had originally planned to go to the Kinder Boeken Museum (The children's book museum) which s a favourite of our oldest, but in the end had decided to spend their bonding time by going shopping... Some sunglasses (for my wife) and a new swim constume (a bikini) for the daughter, and I'm sure there is more loot that they never told me about...

Anyway, as I write this, I'm again sitting on the floor of the toddler's room. The poop has been dealt with, I'm completely brain fried, and as a little bonus, I'm testing out the Visual editor on my blog, to see how SteemPress will handle it. It really feels weird to be typing this all up with no markdown!

I'll just end it with a little photo of my daughter trying to look bad arse!

Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

LEAVE THIS PART AS IS

Sort:  

My God, I'm glad I never had kids. (In fact, I say this a lot.)

Ha ha, Yes there are days... But I'm hoping to turn the tables when I'm old!

Sounds like a good day. When you said Dutch classes, it made me think of my wife's family. Where I live, there is a strong Pennsylvania Dutch community, and they teach Pennsylvania Dutch, which is a butchered for low German. But they call it Pennsylvania Dutch. Thanks for sharing your day.

That's really interesting! Is it real Dutch (which does sound like a weird version of German)? Or a dialect that has evolved over time, like Afrikaans?

1783, Johann David Schopf (translation by Schopf 1911)

"The language which our German people make use of is a miserable, broken, fustian salmgundy of English and German, with respect both to the words and their syntaxis. Grown people come over from Germany forget their mother-tongue in part, while seeking in vain to learn the new speech, and those born in the country hardly ever learn their own language in an orderly way. The children of Germans, particularly in the towns, grow accustomed to English in the streets; their parents speak to them in one language and they answer in the other. The near kinship of the English and the German helps to make the confusion worse. If the necessary German word does not occur ot the memory, the next best English one is at once substituted, and many English words are so currently used as to be taken for German. In all legal and public business English is used solely. Thus English becomes indispensable to the Germans, and by contact and imitation grows so habitual that even among themselves they speak at times bad German, at times a worse English, for they have the advantage of people of other nationalities, in being masters of no language. The only opportunity the Germans have of hearing a set discourse in their own language, (reading being out of the question) is at church. But even there, the minister preaching in German they talk among themselves their bastard jargon. There are few isolated spots, for example in the mountains, where the people have less intercourse with English understand nothing but German, but speak none the better."

http://home.ptd.net/~tconrad1/dutch_history.html

Sure didnt go as you planned but I must admit I am chuckling ta 2.74246 million degrees Fahrenheit, I think your conversion was slightly off lOL

No, I'm sure it is pretty close! Multiply by a random big number and add another random small number..

@bengy LOL I am used to bouncing between the two being from NZ and living in the US so I convert them in my head easily ;)

Oh Bengy. The guilt must have been strong to write this post. No worries we wont judge. We all have zombie days.
goes out and eats a violist

❤😂

Ha ha! Zombies need brains! Violists are safe, you need to chomp on a violinist!

Its miserable at 95 f or 350 c to get any sleep. when that brain dead from being tired makes it ten times worse and you know in the back of your mind another night is coming.

Little ones have a hard time with temp they are not used too.

In the end, I was so tired I conked out as soon as my head hit the pillow. And last night on the night shift, I fell completely asleep on the floor for several hours!

LOL yea I have had my fare share of floor sleeping. I am glad those days are over. fond memories though

My version of your day would have my girlfriend or daughter asking why I just sat around and did nothing while they were gone!

Sometimes you just got'ta say, "Fuck it! Grab a drink or your favorite recreational drug and marvel at the absurdity of life, no?"

Enjoyed your post.

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

Ha ha, Yes that used to be the case... But my wife is more forgiving if I have been dealing with the night shifts!

hahaha @jaichai, that's where I would have gone :)

You sound to be even busier then I am, I know the feeling of lacking sleep I really do not function well when I don't get enough sleep - although the ridiculously hot weather has also been making me feel tired as well.

Sorry, but I had to have a little giggle when you mentioned the poop in the bath lol.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Yep, poop in the bath is always good for a laugh! When it happens to someone else...

You kinda like had a rather 'productive' day it seems, though I rather not be in your shoes... ;)

Ha ha, I remember very little of it today! I was so tired!

Lol! Poor thing!

Coffee has happened to me jajajajaaja

Ha, yesterday, not even coffee was helping!

sometimes our days aren't like we waited, but always are productive, because we did make small things and we have just to learn look it, and recognize it ;)

Yes, exactly! I had a nice lunch with my oldest and my wife! Things that I didn't manage to get done weren't critical! Yet....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44