Twisty Puzzles Introduction: Puzzles similar to a Rubik's Cube

Have you ever been interested in learning how to solve a Rubik's cube? How about a puzzle that's similar, maybe even more daunting, but is way easier?

Well, the other day I was going through some of my drawers and found these laying there. I got these a few years ago, but completely forgot about them. Due to this time lapse in playing with any, I forgot how to solve them all, with the exception of the original 3x3x3 Rubik's Cube. So I started playing with a few of them, and most of them I found rather easy. A few of them gave me a nice challenge, but I was able to get all of them back to their original, solved state. There are a few I think I just got lucky on, but once your wrap your head around how all the pieces twist and turn, it gets simple to see where each piece will go. Below is a picture of the twisty puzzles. On the left are the puzzles I have yet to find a solution for, and the ones on the right I (mostly) found the solutions before. I generally try to avoid looking up solutions online, but I make exceptions for myself in parity cases (they're a pain, and when playing with the 4x4x4 or 5x5x5 or any other larger puzzle, these are frequent).

I don't remember the names of all the puzzles I have but some of them are
1x3x3, 2x2x2, 3x3x3, 4x4x4, 5x5x5, 3x3x4, 3x3x5, 3x3x7, 2x2x3, 2x3x3, pyraminx, and professor's pyraminx.

While solving these, I thought to myself why not contribute to the steemit community, if anyone was ever interested in learning how to solve one of these puzzles.

I plan on starting off these posts with a rating from 1 to 10, 1 being easy and 10 being hardest. To be able to gauge what this is with respect to, by default, I'll put the Rubik's Cube as a 5. Therefore, if I believe a puzzle is easier than a Rubik's cube, it'll have a score less than 5 and if I think it is more difficult, it will have a score greater than 5. This score is not a be-all-end-all number, some people may find a puzzle easy that I find difficult and vise versa.

After I give the score and explain why I think it deserves that score, I'll go into a few hints and tips on how to solve the puzzle, for those who want to solve it for themselves but don't know where to start.

Then, finally, I will get into the actual solving of the cubes. I'll be writing them as posts here, adding as many images as I can to help visualize what's happening. I think this works well because it essentially acts as a dictionary where you can scroll through and easily find what you're looking for, compared to a video.

If anyone has any questions or wants a specific puzzle done, leave a comment below. The plan is to make the first tutorial in the next coming days. Most likely, it will be either the pyraminx (upper right hand corner of the picture) because I personally found it to be the easiest puzzle there.

Thanks for reading and have a great day!
-Dan

Sort:  

Congratulations @danielsommer! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60773.82
ETH 2378.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57